We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nisbet Plantation Beach Club to your Saves list
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sultry Summer-FREE nights
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Some good and some poor,, lunch on Sunday not good!
The venue is by the beach and a bit windy!! The band was good and zither beach is fine,
On a good day it seems to be ok.but some days the food is stodgy and pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Dunbar R
Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased to hear you appreciated the live entertainment and beach setting. With our location on the Atlantic coast we are provided with a year round sea breeze, some days stronger than others. Our menu selections encompass the many styles of food our guest have requested and with the daily specials usually featuring local cuisine. I’m sorry that your experience was inconsistent. Thank you again for your comments. I am sorry that Nisbet Plantation dining did not consistently meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    55
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
70
463
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I don't know how long before the secret gets out that there is a secluded (non-touristy) place to get away from it all. I do believe we have found it on our recent trip to the Nisbet on Nevis. The trip was seamless thanks to everyone of the staff from Careen meeting us at the airport in St. Kitts to Steve the manager and our hosts, Andrew and Lori, and everyone else from the water taxi to Juel on the beach. Everyone was so accommodating and just really warm and friendly. The Plantation is cozy enough so everyone of the employees knows who you are from day 1. It was delightful to be alone yet pampered at the same time (there is a spa but I didn't go). The property is impeccably maintained and intimate but not crowded. Any question or concern is addressed quickly and thoughtfully. There are activities available (just ask) but we chose to sit and absorb the peacefulness of it all and never left the premise until it was inevitably time to return to reality. We have stayed at many hotel/resorts in the Carribean but I'd have to put the Nisbet at the top of our list. We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
MishyWishy1967
We are delighted that your experience at Nisbet Plantation will have you returning. Our dedicated staff from the airport greeter to the management team thank you for recognizing our efforts to make your stay the best. We will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having wanted to stay at Nisbets for many years I did have a concern that after reading some of the reviews that the reality of the place would not live up to expectation. I need not have worried - excellent and lived up to more than I had wanted.
There have been some comments about the food but my wife and I found them to be just what we needed although on full board it became quite a task to face 3 meals a day plus afternoon tea! By day 3 we had scaled down. They were of excellent quality although lunches tended to have little variation over the time we were there.
Our room Jessups was spacious although the bathroom could have been bigger and probably in need of an update. Having said that I am been picky! The air con was really effective.Staff service was excellent and very attentive. Top marks. The grounds were well managed and are a credit to the staff as was the beach.
Now about that breeze! Well OK it could be a tad brisk but all you needed was to go to the west coast and realise just how much you missed that breeze. A blessing really.
Without hesitation I can say that we will return - it is a long time since we have had such excellent service and attention to ensure that we had a restfully holiday. Once again well done Nisbets.

Room Tip: Book a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about your restful holiday at Nisbet. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded and appreciate your feedback on areas that allow us to make improvements. You'll be pleased to know that we expanded our luncheon menu to offer more variety and a lighter fare. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Set on a historic property Nisbet takes you back in time. The food is good but there it is only availible at certain times, at one location and expensive. There is no room service, no snack or just a drink availible after 6pm. Breakfast isn't until 8am and all the meals have set windows, places and menus. Dinner is 6:30-8 and is a full course meal so if you normally have your large meal midday like us, you are just out of choices with burgers etc at the beach and no snack or small meal in the evening availible. The beach...terrible, if you don't trip over the rocks getting in or out of the ocean you will find your hair and body covered with seaweed or seagrass debris. Wind howls constantly, air conditioning in room is poor. The service and friendliness of the people though is top notch and the property is clean. Just limited and expensive

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Bichonbuzz,

Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased to hear you appreciated the service and friendliness of our staff. While we are rated as a four-star property, we pride ourselves on delivering five-star service.

But as such, we do not offer room service. However, we do offer snacks and drinks throughout the day at Sea Breeze and of course, are happy to accommodate special requests.

Our location on the Atlantic coast provides year-round sea breezes, which keeps the bugs away and the weather comfortable. Sometimes sea weed appears on our shores, but it is always quickly swept away by our staff.

Thank you again for your comments. I am sorry that Nisbet Plantation did not meet your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our third trip here and there is little need to repeat all that has been said about the quality and value Nesbitt represents.
It really does have the best and nicest staff you could wish for.Training is only a part of it as they really do seem to enjoy having you back and letting you enjoy all it has to offer.Yes it is quiet and perhaps not ideal for the younger and more active who want lots to do but for the rest of us..... It simply fits the bill
My only small quibble is with some of the cooking.Breakfasts and lunch are excellent but I feel the kitchen under performs a bit at dinner.The meals were fine but a little heavy handed and lacking finesse but as I say it is a friendly criticism and does not detect from the overall experience which is not easily surpassed.We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We’ve just enjoyed a week at this beautiful resort, which is full of Caribbean character.

It’s a haven of tranquillity on a small island that’s quiet to start with. In general it seems to attract older visitors (50 plus).

The staff members are all excellent and the food is top quality: always beautifully presented at dinner. We also enjoyed the usually hearty lunches at the Coconuts restaurant on the beach.

We had a garden room that was reasonably spacious and well furnished. The rooms are well spread-out on extensive and well manicured grounds. A particularly noteworthy feature was the complete covering of the verandah area by mosquito netting – which made it possible to suit outside and read in the evening (if that’s your kind of thing).

The main building is the Great House – once home to Fanny Nisbet, who became the wife of Horatio Nelson. It’s a fine old building, with remains of a sugar mill at its entrance. The main part of the hotel is therefore quite old, and the garden rooms aren’t particularly modern, but they do have some character and charm. It’s not like a neighbouring ultra-modern hotel – which was beautiful but could be anywhere.

When we were at Nisbet the hotel was about half full, so it was fairly quiet. There was a very friendly crowd of guests and so there was plenty of after dinner chatting in the bar.

There are fairly short walks along the beach and pelicans put on a daily diving show. However, while we were there the sea was choppy with low visibility and so snorkeling was no good.

We hired a car to tour Nevis (didn’t take long!) and actually got stuck in a traffic jam in tiny Charlestown. The SUV was very reasonably priced – unlike the hotel’s bike hire, which is excessive. The hotel also fixed up a guide for the hike up Mount Nevis (it’s quite a climb).

Drinks at the hotel were fairly expensive, as expected, and all prices have three sets of taxes applied – as is common in the Caribbean – so the bill usually bears little relation to what you thought you paid. As there are no nearby bars or restaurants I’d think twice about doing a B&B deal, although it may suit teetotal folk with small appetites. We did half board, which was OK.

If you are looking for a lively time, then this place isn’t for you. Admittedly, there was one bustling barbecue and dancing night with a band and craft stalls, but that was it in a week. This is a chill out place: quiet and quality.

Some charming members of staff who helped make the holiday were Violet, Angela and Roslyn.

So in summary: If it’s a peaceful place with character you are after, this could be just the place for you.

Room Tip: Many of the garden rooms have little or no sea view. On the plus side they seem to have good mosquit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

By now, visiting Nisbet Plantation has become an every-other-year tradition for me and my husband. This year, we marked the 25th (gulp!) anniversary of our first date, and we'll likely return in 2 years to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Yes, this special place is my "happy place," worthy of the special occasions of my life.

Not much I can say that I haven't said before. I like the way the history of the site is woven into every guest's experience, and yet combined with modern comforts and amenities. My room overlooking the grounds and the ocean (Burnaby) was comfortable and well-equipped. Meals were delicious. The addition of drink service on the beach was a plus. Above all, I loved feeling like I was coming home -- and indeed, the staff whom we've known over the course of our past visits welcomed us "home." The staff and service at Nisbet are it's greatest feature.

Nisbet Plantation is a beatiful property, perfectly suited for the lovely island on which it's located.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.