We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great food, Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount Nevis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mount Nevis Hotel to your Saves list
The Mount Nevis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view, Great food, Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

The Mt Nevis Hotel has a spectatular view looking towards St. Kitts. We stayed for a week at the hotel with our three children and had a wonderful and relaxing experience. We would return to the Mt. Nevis Hotel in a heart-beat! The owners were helpful during our stay - helping advise us on activities and places to visit. They also helped arrange for a rental car - which is recommended. The restaurant at the hotel is wonderful - one of the best on the island. Their "Pizza Beach" is also nice - especially with three children - it is a friendly environment. Overall, it is a really nice hotel run by very nice folks. Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — view, weather, food
  • Disliked — bumpy island roads
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
56
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We had our magical, fairy-tale destination wedding at Mt. Nevis Hotel for about 40 people during the last weekend of April. The entire wedding weekend was like a dream come true! Incredibly everything came together so smoothly despite planning a caribbean wedding from NYC. Pat Jeffers (on site manager) and Noreen Meguid (my contact in NYC and director of sales) took care of every single little detail and pulled off the best destination wedding ever! My guests haven't stopped gushing about how much fun they had :)

We started the weekend with a rehearsal dinner at the wonderfully charming, laid back, Pizza Beach, where the chef, Vicente, whipped up an amazing buffet dinner which included tania fritters, tilapia with lime butter, and bailey's cheesecake. We had a rockin' steel drum band. When you added in the festive decorations and the ridiculously yummy tropical drinks dreamed up by the bar tender, my guests were totally enjoying themselves. It was a great party!

The wedding ceremony was at held at Cottle church and with the help of the hotel staff, the church was transformed into a beautiful, romantic place for us to be married. I could not have hoped for better weather. Not a drop of rain all weekend.

We then had cocktails by the pool surrounded by a gorgeous sunset. The location of the hotel atop a hill gave us a wonderful cool breeze and definitely helped to deter bugs. The reception dinner was held at the hotel. Again Vicente totally exceeded our expectations. The lamb chops with tamarind glaze was the best I have ever had! Our dark chocolate wedding cake as well, was beautiful and totally delicious! Our guests continue to rave about the food and the cake. The hotel even found our band for us, and they were fantastic! Kept our guests dancing all night.

The next morning we also hosted a brunch by the pool which featured items like banana pancakes, steak and eggs, omelets. Delicious!

The hotel is on a gorgeous property with amazing views of the ocean and St. Kitts. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and again... the kiiller views from our balcony! It was such a pleasure to wake up in the mornings to have my coffee sitting on the patio watching the goats and cows graze in the distance and listening to bird calls.

The hotel staff were courteous and infinitely helpful. The front desk was very flexible with the check out time and accomodated to the needs of every guest. The pool was beautiful and refreshing, but if we wanted to head for the beach, a shuttle was always ready to take us to Nisbet or Oualie Beach. The Meguid family who own the resort are super warm and friendly. We asked them to our reception party and they joined in on the fun!

So, if you're looking for a magical caribbean vacation where you will be thoroughly taken care of, where you can recharge your batteries in a stunning location, eating world class meals, you should stay at Mt. Nevis Hotel. But if you're planning a caribbean wedding, you MUST have it at Mt. Nevis Hotel. You will not regret it. It was the easiest wedding to plan...since they did all the planning for me!

If you stay at Mt. Nevis Hotel, you will feel that you have not only found paradise on earth, but that you will have met new friends who you will want to visit again year after year.

  • Liked — the fantastic views, the friendly service
  • Disliked — the too short stay!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We were absolutely pleased with the overall experience my family had at the hotel. The breathtaking views of the sea and mountains from ever place on the grounds are something we have not seen anywhere else in the past 20 years of travel to the Carribean. The hotel staff were attentive to our every need and went well beyond the call of duty. On one occassion, they opened their restaurant kitchen just to prepare my family a late lunch. The hotel arranged for a car rental which allowed us to explore the island's many beaches and quaint town.

The food was prepared perfectly and kept two young children happy for all six days. We also enjoyed their famous Pizza Beach restaurant on evenings when the children wanted to watch television. We already miss their coconut cake and homemade ice cream.

The room was very clean and we found the kitchen in the room very helpful with two children. It also provided us parents with the first cup of coffee in the morning which was enjoyed as we looked out over the sea and mountains. I was impressed by the fact that the owners went out of their way to welcome us and to make sure that our family had our best vacation ever.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We wanted to vacation somewhere that wasn't overly crowded or overly touristy----and having been to Nevis before, decided that it would be the place. We looked for some packages on Expedia, and used Tripadvisor to research the locations.
The reviews on Mount Nevis were consistently positive, and the airfare and resort package price looked good, so we booked it.
Shortly after that we decided that we would change our pending wedding plans from a big wedding at home, to eloping on this trip and having a subsequent big party later at home. The Mount Nevis people had a Wedding Package so we added this to our plans.
Both my new wife and I can say that we made an excellent choice on all fronts!!
We arrived around 9:30 PM on a Saturday evening and Pat---the Manager had waited there to check us in---they also kept the resaurant open until we could change and come back for what was the first of several outstanding dinners.
This kind of courteous, personalized service was continued by the staff for our entire visit!
Pat Jeffers----the manager---ensured we had all details of our week and pending wedding planned to our satisfaction. And talk about going above and beyond the call of duty, we even changed the day for the wedding while there, and she cheerfully re-arranged all details with the same zeal as if it was her own family that was getting married.
The wedding surpassed our expectations and was really a special day for us. We were married at a historic church on the grounds of the hotel-----the small stone church has no remaining roof, and was very quaint. The hotel staff had again gone above and beyond by beautifully decorating it with palm fronds and flowers, music was provided by steel drum, and we were joined by some wonderful guests that we had met at the hotel, as well as having Pat, the manager, Sally the owner and Peter from the staff attend as our guests as well. They had also provided a photographer, and a minister from the island who was a wonderful man and provided an inspiring service!
Everyone joined us for a reception dinner-----which was also excellent with more special touches by the staff for decorations, deserts, music, etc. All in all, it was a special day for us, made even more memorable by our new found friends from the Mount Nevis hotel------who are also invited to our wedding party in June in Wisconsin.
The balance of our stay was also great----the Mount Nevis staff helped us in setting up snorkeling trips, tours of both Nevis and St. Kitts, and would drive us to the beach at a moments notice. While we were originally a little unsure of not being right on the beach, this was not an issue at all as we had great ocean views from our lovely room and balcony, and as I said, the staff would get you to the beach an any time, and the drive was less than 5 minutes. Having the total peace and quiet of this facility, as well as the very personalized service definitely made this the right choice for us!
There are a number of excellent restaurants around, and while we enjoyed our nights out, we were always pleased with the meals at the Mount Nevis resaurant as well as room service.
For anyone looking for an outstanding value, and great people with a very comfortable hotel------do check out the Mount Nevis Hotel and Beach Club!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

The Good: Overall the hotel was set in a beautiful location overlooking the island, the staff was very pleasant and accomodating and the restaurant was terrific.

The Bad: However, we did not feel it was worth the price. First of all the 'beach' that was linked to the hotel was nonexistent, and the restaurant apparently associated with this beach was boarded up. Secondly, our first room was relatively unclean and attracted an inoordinate amount of insects (even for island standards) to the point where we had to change rooms. Although handled expeditously, the manner in which this was accomplished was akin to a sitdown from the Sopranos. We felt accused of exaggerating the problem, and their only concern was the liability and reputation of the hotel.

In general we felt that it was not worth the price, put off by the owner and management and will not return.

  • Liked — view, restaurant
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshinesally, Manager/Owner at The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2007
We do not claim to have a beach. We shuttle our guests to and from nearby beaches. It is clearly posted in the office and the rooms that the beach restaurant is open every evening from 6 to 10 and closed Wednesdays. With all due respect, when the guests were moved out of their first room, management and houskeeping inspected it and found no insects. It should be noted that the guests were in tthe first room for three days before they advised us that there was any problem. We take every concern very seriously. Sitting down with them to be assured that all was well should not be perceived in a negative way. To the contrary, our meeting with them was intended to address their comfort in the new room. There was no intention to accuse them of anything. In fact that same room was occupied , both before and since they were there, with no complaints. Finally, we would welcome them back, as we do all our guests, many of whom have been here multiple times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

My wife and I have just returned to the U.K. after spending 14 days at this hotel in the beautiful island of Nevis. It was a wonderfully relaxing time and made so enjoyable by the friendliness and efficiency of the local staff and the family management.
The hotel, whilst relatively small, is very well appointed with excellent rooms having outstanding views from the elevated position overlooking the sound to St. Kitts.
The swimming pool is excellent and links to the restaurant which features both local and international cuisine with local produce and fish being our favourites.
The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to two nearby beach hotels where the facilities are fully available to guests.
Having visited many islands in the Caribbean we found this one of the most relaxingand friendly of venues.
The opportunity to visit should not be missed!

  • Liked — The memorable views and the excellent staff
  • Disliked — Nothing was a problem!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

We picked Mount Nevis somewhat by chance, from photos on the internet, but we Found a beautiful, peaceful home on this lovely island. Mount Nevis is not far from the airport, and is close to some of the best beaches. The view from the spacious rooms is breath-taking, looking out over the bay to St. Kitts, and the far ocean. Service is friendly and prompt. The meals were delicious, and served on a beautiful covered porch. We immensely enjoyed the wide lawns and gardens and overall beauty of living for a while on a hilltop. If you're someone looking for a delightful get-away that feels like home, and treats you with care and kindness, this is the place for you.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Nevis Hotel

Address: Shaws Road, New Castle, Nevis
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Nevis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Mount Nevis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nevis Hotel And Beach
The Mount Nevis Hotel St. Kitts And Nevis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount Nevis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.