We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Catfish Around for Miles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Fish House

Fred's Fish House
44 Highway 101 Cutoff, Mountain Home, AR 72653
(870) 492-5958
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Catfish Around for Miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This places catfish is absolutely mouth watering. It is always cooked to perfection and great tasting. They have THE BEST hushpuppies I have ever eaten. They are always hot, tender, and have a hint of sweetness to them. The staff is always great, making sure you have everything you need. You will NOT leave hungry. Highly Recommend!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A must visit when coming to Mountain Home ! I bring ALL our visiting friends and family here, Great Catfish and Hush puppies

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“good country food/seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is always packed! I don't eat seafood but my family does and they say it's good here. There are non-seafood offerings on the menu and they're delicious. I love the pickles that come with the food! The service is good, particularly Wyatt who seated us and got our drinks. He was super friendly and awesome!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been going to Freds as long as i can remember. The food is good, the service is average and the view of lake Norfork is awesome. Overall i would recommend Freds to anybody looking for good catfish and anything else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel clerk recommended it and it was an excellent choice. We were hungry for catfish and Fred's filled the bill. Great service at Fred's also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Fish House also viewed

 
Mountain Home, AR
Mountain Home, AR
 

Been to Fred's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.