We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Ida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Harbor Resort
Save
You added Mountain Harbor Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mesa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Arkansas has a bunch of hill billies and bad drivers. BUT, Mountain Harbor Resort is a small nice area in the middle of nowhere:) Lake was beautiful, lots of boats nearby. The actual room, the bathroom didn't have ventilation, door was very jammed a lot, just a lot of older equipment in the room. Room service did a great job. Shower was small. Thought room would be larger. Subway nearby, lake accessibility, check out the crystal mining! Restaurant on site..was busy one day, waited 45 minutes for food. Next breakfast was great. They need a workout gym there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    39
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
34
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edmond, oklahoma
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo here for the Ouachita Adventure Race. Great space with kitchen and living area. Beautiful dogwood trees in bloom and we even saw a fox! Enjoyed a piece of pie late night at the lodge restaurant. Only complaint was the television lacked cables to the VCR. Yes, VCR. They had a few movies there, but we discovered no hookups when we tried to watch one of them. We didn't win the race but enjoyed the meeting facilities at the spa and the condo very much!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed here in a 2 bed 2 bath condo that was awesome! We came to Mt Ida to dig for crystals, relax and have some fun. That's exactly what we did! Our condo was very spacious, had a full kitchen, living room dining room and a huge back deck. The restaurant had great food (especially the sweet potato fries!). We got our makeup done with Franche cosmetics at the Turtle Spa (on property) one morning, then went out digging in the dirt all day for crystals. After hours of crystal-hunting in the HOT Arkansas sun, our makeup still looked great! We had a blast, will go back to Mountain Harbor.

Room Tip: Condos are private, quiet and worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavaca, AR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

If you're coming to Lake Ouachita, Mountain Harbor Resort is the place to be. We stayed in a two bedroom condo, which was very clean, very comfortable, very quiet, very relaxing...I could go on but you get the picture. The customer service from Pati and her crew is the best in the business. Rarely will there ever be a problem but if you do encounter a problem, rest assured it will be handled to your satisfaction. I highly recommend the condos at Mountain Harbor!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The lake is beautiful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with a lake view which was huge and well stocked. They have horseback riding and a marina. It was very peaceful and the staff is very friendly. My only irk was we went in April and the pools weren't open so I had a disgruntled 5 year old for a little while. I would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I've been coming to Moutain Harbor for years, since I was a child. The "resort" is probably not a resort in the minds of most people. It is more like a motel, and in that respect it is over priced. They have modernized things from time to time, but its still a motel with many motel like features. For example, there is an average restaurant with no room service. There is also only a small shower in those rooms.

The condos are privately owned and I think they are a better deal for the price. There is no house keeping service during the stay, but I think that is fairly common with condo rentals. We did have some issues with internet service when we arrived and it was taken care of quickly. One of the bedrooms had a faint scent of a cat. Otherwise, it was a nice accomodation.

Also, there are no leash rules for pets and our dogs were accosted by dogs on more than one occassion. The resort said that the condos are under their own management rules and nothing could be done.

We are into geocaching and there are alot on the property, which was an added bonus. Although kids were driving around atvs like crazy people late at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Mountain Harbor Resort is a very nice area. The grounds are nice and Lake Ouachita is beautiful! The only negative we had was that our cottage was not nearly as nice as we were expecting. The small thumbnail photos on the online reservations site are impossible to judge by and it seems to me that the larger pictures that represent the cabins/cottages in general must be representative of the nicer, newer or more recently updated units.

We usually take a two week vacation to a nice destination and have stayed in some very nice and expensive places. This year we didn't have the time to spend two weeks away, so after much internet research, opted to come here for a few days just to get away. I say this only to emphasize that I don't mind spending money for a place when the accomodations are worth it, but our forestview lodge cottage lacked much to be desired considering the $355/nt price. The beds were very hard, the kitchen extremely outdated, the floors a cheap laminate/vynal wood that was peeling up from moisture in many places, tiny bathrooms that felt much like a mobile home and slanted much like the floor in a fun house at the fair. The TV's were nice, the deck was great and the hot tub was surprisingly clean and well-maintained daily - probably the best part of the cottage! I must say the unit was very clean all the way around, although several roaches did make their way in to visit with us at night. YUCK!

It was extremely hot while we were there and the A/C worked great!

We rented a new 25' pontoon at the marina for a day which was easy and lots of fun - well worth the price! Loved being out on the lake!!

We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at the lodge and it was very good each time.

All staff was friendly and service good, however when I (very nicely) asked about the variable level of amenities within cottages, I was told that I might want to stay in Harbor North next time. I guess that's all she could say at that point, but I did let her know that when I called to ask these kinds of questions before booking, the girl who answered had no idea what the individual units were like. A little frustrating.

All in all, this was a decent getaway, but we were just expecting a little more for our money. We won't be going back, but I wouldn't say that it was at all a bad experience...just a little disappointing. Had the unit been nicer (or at least the price lower), it would have been much easier to justify.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Harbor Resort

Address: P.O. Box 1268, 994 Mountain Harbor Road, Mount Ida, AR 71957
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mount Ida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Ida
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, and daughter, Stephanie, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues. You can access miles of hiking, biking, and wandering at Mountain Harbor Resort on the popular LOViT (Lake Ouachita Vista Trail). Nearby, Mount Ida, just 12 miles down the road boasts a friendly, small-town personality and is famed as the quartz crystal capitol of the world!Camp Ozark is also a short 21 miles away. Golf courses, museums, canoeing, Arkansas' only theme park, Magic Springs, the entire Tri-Lake's area, and a host of yearly events and activities are within an hour's drive. From our family to yours, we welcome you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Harbor Hotel Mount Ida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.