We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Silverstream Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverstream Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silverstream Lodge to your Saves list
Silverstream Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   214 Englishs Road | Christchurch, Lincoln 7674, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lincoln B&B and Inns
gore
1 review
“Recent stay at Silverstream Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Silverstream Lodge Lincoln, Christchurch is a fantastic place to stay, luxury accommodation, wonderful peaceful setting, tarrif very reasonable.
Grant and Kathy are brilliant hosts, they make you feel very welcome.
I would highly recommend Silverstream Lodge to anyone visiting Christchurch.
P.S even the animals are friendly

Lyn and Barry Greer (Gore)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent two days at Silverstream before moving on to our Rugby World Cup locations. The lodge blends modern facilities and comfort. The rooms were beautifully designed and equipped. Kathy and Grant were welcoming and fantastically friendly hosts and the breakfasts were great. A lovely setting and a great spot for visting the Akaroa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay outside Christchurch since we heard the city was quite damaged after the earthquakes. Although it was tricky to get to (note that the street names are not readily visible if you're going by Google Maps), it was well worth the wait. You arrive to the site of a rather extravagant gate, sign, and road, complete with a pond with swans to the right. The owners have quite a sizeable plot of land, where the actual house, large grounds, a handful of ducks, two peacocks, and three dogs are.

We were greeted first by the SUPER friendly dogs. No barking or anything -- they were just very friendly and wanted to play. I'm not particularly a dog lover, but by the end of our stay, I wanted to smuggle one home f(^ ^;)

The room is very spacious, comfortable, and the bathroom is gorgeous. The heaters worked fine, the bed was easy to sleep on, and there was a fancy iPod/iPhone player that supposedly played music into the living room (we didn't attempt it, but the music definitely plays into the bedroom). Being a corner room, we didn't hear any of the hubbub from the living room or kitchen. Actually, it was very quiet since the house is set apart from the road. The breakfasts were AMAZING; I'm salivating just thinking about it.

In total, we greatly enjoyed our stay and are very thankful for our hosts' hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Kathy, Grant and the dogs provided a truly perfect place to stay. We are looking forward to returning to Silverstream the next time we fly into Christchurch. We would highly recommend staying at Silverstream to anyone staying in the Christchurch area. We'll see you again Bradley.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

When we landed in Christchurch all tired and bummed out from the 12hour flight, we were instantly refreshed by the swans that greeted us at the door. Not to mention the farm has an assortment of all animals - definitely for the animal lover. Thomas the Cat, definitely a favorite, alongside with the 3 lovely dogs (my partner's favorite) and their loving owners, Kathy and Grant, made this a very nice and warm family. Kathy went out of her way to make us comfortable, picking us up when we lost our bearings to her place - she has a good wit with her, and we definitely enjoyed her and Grant's company. To top it off, we had a delicious dinner to fill our tummies, with a duck dish (which was stuffed with goodies and felt like a chinese delicacy) and my favorite potato dish. Our room was really nice, facing the gardens and there were little touches inside that shows the owners take great pride in designing the house. By far, the overall experience at silversteam lodging made this one of our top favorite accomodation, it makes Christchurch a must-go!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Silverstream Lodge is a luxurious place that makes you feel at home. The lawns, garden and stream are beautiful; it was very peaceful and relaxing just to stroll around the property admiring the lovely trees and blooms. The rooms are very comfortable with several thoughtful touches that made our stay a very pleasant one. We were delighted to be greeted by the three Staffies Lottie, Bradley and Rosa, plus large cat Thomas, and were charmed by the pet lambs and ducks. We really appreciated the wonderful company of Kathy and Grant, who are very warm and easy-going. With very delicious food added to the mix, Silverstream Lodge is a real gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

As soon as you enter this property you feel you have been transported into a a Beatrix Potter Book - the animals and lawns and streams are surreal. Kathy and Grant are the nicest most accomodating hosts i have ever met. My son goes to school in Lincoln and he was made the best lunch he has had since arriving. Our family are made to feel so comfortable as if we are a part of their family because we all travel to NZ frequently there is no where else my husband and children want to stay. Thankyou Kathy and Grant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverstream Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstream Lodge

Address: 214 Englishs Road | Christchurch, Lincoln 7674, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silverstream Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwi owned and operated purpose -built luxury 5 Star lodge offering the best of country living only a short 30 minutes from Chch International Airport and CBD. Enjoy our beautiful oaks trees,English style garden, trout fishing and kayaking or just sitting on the river bank relaxing. Family friendly with bbq and duck feeding. Relax, relax and enjoy.Free Wifi and parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silverstream Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverstream Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.