We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Monticello Tradition since 1964” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ray's
718 Highway 278 W, Monticello, AR 71655
870.367.3292
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Monticello
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Monticello, AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Monticello Tradition since 1964”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Get a taste of the South at a long-time Monticello restaurant. Burgers, fish, chicken, and fried shrimp dinners are quality food. Lunch specials are very good, especially the pulled pork sandwiches. Fridays they sometimes have ribs, they are excellent if on the menu.

Shakes, malts, and sides are good. Onion rings are great, too. Friendly, family atmosphere, good service and quality food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Arkansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food good selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ray's has a wide variety of food to choose from. The food is good and ready quickly. The staff were friendly and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Re-visiting my youth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place was the hang out for me and my friends when I was in college in Monticello in the mid 60's. The food was good than, and it hasn't changed. They have expanded and of course added tvs, but the food and atmosphere has stayed. Great burgers and fries!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slow and disorganized..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

took over 45 minutes to get a very small BBQ sandwich.. only three customers ahead of me.?? The locals suggested it and I must say I was not impressed. Don't bother..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fast and friendly service. A local institution. Large menu, all delicious and reasonably priced. BBQ sandwich and fries or onion rings, BBQ plate lunch, fish or chicken dinners, ribs, burgers and po boys. Need I say more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's also viewed

 

Been to Ray's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.