We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Arms to your Saves list
The Queens Arms
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   on the Somerset/Dorset border | Sherborne, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
manchester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a three day stay at this pub and found it very relaxing and enjoyable. The countryside is wonderful, the pub is lovely and the service and food very good. Very cosy and welcoming bar, and a very nice separate restaurant. We were in the bedroom with the antique roll top bath, which was lovely to have deep soak in, but if you must have a shower then avoid bedroom 2. This room was at the back and over the courtyard which was nice and quiet in March, but may be a problem in summer when people are staying out chatting and/or smoking under your windows. Would recommend Yeovilton RNAS, Haynes Motor Museum and Sherborne Abbey as places to visit. In fact Sherborne itself is a very pleasant little town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would just like to point out that we do not allow anyone to stay outside in the Court Yard smoking and chatting after 11.00pm. We always ask everyone to move inside after this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
114
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November.Lovely room (we had been upgraded) Attentive service and delicious menu.Breakfast was excellent and some lovely walks locally. Will return as our visit was full of lovely memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are please that you enjoyed you stay so much. We have also sent you details of our New Year package and hope to hear from you very soon and we do hope to see you return to the Queens Arms.
Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wanted a country pub where we could take our old golden retreiver with us and found via search engines the queens arms. On arrival we were greeted by a young man who welcomed us and showed us to our room helping us with our bags. The room was spacious with a large sleigh bed and walk in shower room, all looked very new and clean. A dog bowl and blanked and cage had been provided and a towel for wiping our dogs feet, very thoughful.
We choose to eat in the bar so we could take our dog up with us and had a delicious meal of hake and pork belly then we both had the prune and armanac souffle - Wow, all well cooked and nicely presented. Wen had a lovely bottle of wine which was recommended by an older gentlemen behind the bar. We had a relaxing evening sitting next to the roaring fire and all slept well including tess our dog. We went out early the following day to walk along the ridge and enjoy the beautiful english countryside returning for a hearty breakfast, homemade jams, homemade granola and winter compote and lovely yogurt. We will return to this place and told all our friends what a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy. Thank you to the staff for helping make our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 6 takes dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are please that you enjoyed you stay so much and, as you mentioned when leaving, we have also added you to our Queens Arms News Letter, which always has some special deals and events listed.
I hope you enjoy reading our news letter and hope to see you return to the Queens Arms very soon.
Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on busines in Yeovil, the inn was only 10 minutes from the office I was visiting, but sat in a nice english countryside setting. The room was great, Free WIFI to work and a luxury shower and large plasma screen tv.
The staff were really helpful and asked if I wanted to try any of the beers ( I have never had this before) and got to choose a Meantime Stout and Exmoor Dark, I also tried the local Queens Revival! The food selection suited my needs they had a classic bar menu and I enjoyed Fish and Chips - the best chips ever! and their own Gammon on the second night from their own pigs.
I had to leave early both mornings and the staff accomodated me with an earlier breakfast, thank you. I thank the manager personally for making a solo traveller feel so welcome, I would have liked to met the owners to congratulate them on their establishment but they were away on holiday.

Room Tip: Room 6 - great for solo travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, on behalf of the whole team we were pleased that we could help make your stay so memorable.

Before we purchased our Inn I also use to travel alone on Business so, I know what it feels like to be in a place on your own. We try to make our Inn as homely as possible and encourage all our staff to make you feel as i you were at home or in your local.

We do appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to write about our Inn.

We hope we will see you again very soon.
Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had been really looking forward to staying at the Queens Arms which we'd booked for a blow out treat in the best room, with dinner bed breakfast for £175. The hotel is set in a very quiet and pretty village. We arrived and went to bar where the couple ahead of us were complaining about their room. Wasn't the best feeling. Once we met the friendly staff they said we sadly couldn't have the executive room we'd booked as it had been taken by a couple on their wedding anniversary who were upset with their room 4 having no hot water. They were full and we had no option but to stay in the Annex room down the road in a separate building. We were shown there and it seemed to be a separate small outhouse opposite a family home in a private drive. It had its own entrance with a double room, single room and bathtub. There were no treats such as slippers, gowns or roll top bath, fancy toiletries. There was a tv and some coffee facilities. There was no information on the area/pub or phone/wifi signal. It was recently decorated in a very old 'granny style' way, even down to the doily covered tissue box and pink velvet back board on the bed. It was very clean and looked fine. We found ourselves feeling a bit cheesed off that we'd been bumped to what felt like a private extension of someones very nice house. It was fine but just not what we'd expected. I really dislike complaining but said we were disappointed. The bar girl said she was sorry and that there were much nicer modern rooms in the main building but that were all now full and there was nothing she could do. Resigned to this we went to the bar where she gave us a pint of scrumpy on the house very kindly and waited for the manager who arrived approximately an hour later. He was very kind and said it had been an awful day with lots of complaints from guests. He said he'd give us a discount and sort out a bottle of fizz for dinner. We shook on that and then went to the room to freshen up before dinner. Dinner was good and fresh, despite a table of loud people with ill behaved screaming kids that kept bumping our table that didn't add a great deal to the atmosphere. Having said that a hotel cannot choose its guests and we had a good meal and we retired for the night. The next day breakfast was a bit of a disappointment in that there was no fruit of yoghurt and we were served soldiers and hard boiled eggs which had to go back to the kitchen; I mean come on who gets a boiled egg wrong? There was only one person serving and she was stretched and struggled to keep up with demand. As we were leaving the bill said we'd had a £10 discount to £165 (a six percent 'discount'). I said that a wasn't really fair so the they slashed the cost to £115 which I think was generous. It isn't about the money though, it misses the point. The whole object of the weekend was an all out treat that didn't really meet our initial expectations. The staff were lovely and I think we were just unlucky. Overall we felt it just is not worth taking the risk again. Thank you for listening and making amends but we probably wont be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are sorry that we disappointed you on this occasion. Due to unfortunate circumstances we did have a failure of the water pump to the room on that day and could not get a plumber until Monday. Being fully booked our staff did try and contact you and explained the situation. When you arrived they had no alternative but to move you across to the Old Bakery where we sometimes let out our family apartment. Our manager tried hard by giving you a free 3 course meal each and a free bottle of bubbly and done what he and the team could do to help alleviate your disappointment.
These unfortunate circumstances are beyond our control and are not foreseen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I travel with my husband to this lovely English Country Pub and was delighted from start to finish. We were welcome by a young lady, who asked us how our journey had been, if we had travelled far and explained about breakfast and dining before being taken us to our luxurious bedroom. Our room had fab views over the valley, we had a range of teas and coffees including filter coffee and my favourite - hot chocolate. We had Loccitane Bathroom products which we hadnt seen since staying at Gidleigh Park in Devon a five star hotel with 3 rosettes.
We booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and had excellent choice of well presented quality food, I had the Salmon and Scallop Pithvier and My husband had the Trio of Duck, followed by the Best End of Lamb and my Husband had the Pork Belly, We finished with a cheeseboard we couldnt manage some of the wonderful desserts. It was great to see wines and bottles of specially slected beers with each course, not seen this before. We returned to the bar and sat in two cosy chairs by the fire with a fine malt whisky and a brandy. We had a fantastic quite night sleep and just made it to breakfast. The homemade granola was to die for and so was the homemade jam. My husband had the porridge with honey and I went for the smoked salmon and scambled egg. The food, service and location is truly wonderful and we look forward to our return, we were sorry that we only managed to stay one night but was visiting our children at school in sherborne but we will be back.

Room Tip: Roomj 2 with its big bath is a must for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, on behalf of the whole team we were pleased that we could help make your stay so memorable.

Next time you visit I promise that I will spend some time with your husband and let him try our vast range of Whiskies which is also my passion.

We do appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to write about our Inn.

We hope we will see you again very soon.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Sub Hamdon, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We dined on a Sunday evening enjoying the 7 course taster menu. Each course was fantastically cooked and presented and the taste was stunning. A very relaxed atmosphere with friends with a low key service which suited the evening. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordonrossreid, Owner at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, on behalf of the whole team we were pleased that you enjoyed our taster menu so much.

We do hope we will see you again as we will be doing some fantastic events this year, which is all based around our food. Check at our Web page for up and comming events.

Regards

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: on the Somerset/Dorset border | Sherborne, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.