We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub wish we had one like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Arms to your Saves list
The Queens Arms
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   on the Somerset/Dorset border | Sherborne, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
norfolk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great pub wish we had one like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the Queens arms for a wedding nearby, good efficient welcome, lovely room, really comfortable linked beds, nice bathroom, great breakfast which looked and tasted excellent.
This is a managed pub with a great local reputation, couple of small points -- no milk for tea in the super room hamper which was a bit of a disappointment to the husband who likes his morning cuppa, and a slight edge to the manager who went away to see exactly when we'd cancelled our second nights stay , and offered me the card machine with an option for a gratuity, dont normally tip for overnight hotel rooms so thought that he needed a bit of a lesson in 'smooth' but would stay again and so should others a good hosteleries like these are hard to find.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
114
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Our first stay at the Queen's Arms after two previous lunch visits, and we were not disappointed. Corton Denham is a beautiful village in the hills just north of Sherborne with a wonderfully cosy pub to go with it. Greeted by tea and cake on arrival, the service continued to be excellent and the great food with quality ingredients continued to flow in the shape of breakfast, lunch and dinner that followed. As a nice break to the outstanding morning 'fry-up', I was really pleased with kippers and poached eggs to go with all the usual fruit, cereal etc. Dinner in the evening could be seen as fussy by some, often coming on slates and wooden boards, but the simplicity and the freshness of food shone through - the Ploughmans lunches with the homemade pork pies and a slab of west country cheddar are to die for.
Our room was a little bit dated, perhaps in theme with the pub, but the free wifi and fully modernised bathroom more than made up for that - also, we wanted to enjoy the welcome of the bar downstairs rather than the bedroom upstairs so this was no big thing. The inn is very much aimed at country pursuits and dogs and walkers are strongly welcomed - the slate floors and clean lines of the bar and restaurant area encourage this, but perhaps the carpet to the stairs could do with a bit of a scrub - however this is merely nit-picking on an excellent venue. A good range of beers and ciders are on tap and there is an outstanding whiskey range served by a young and enthusiastic staff who were really helpful. A delight to stay in and we shall be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We visited the Queens Arms for an overnight treat. It's situated in a very small quiet village surrounded by beautiful countryside.

On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly. In the bar there is quite an impressive selection of bottled beers, wines and spirits, and there were four good ales on as well. There is a beautiful courtyard, with cover in case of rain.

The primary reason for visting was to eat in the restaurant. The restaurant was quiet, as we stayed on a Sunday night. The food was beautifully cooked and presented, though a little fussy for our tastes, however that's personal preference. The wine selection was very impressive, with a great choice both by the glass and the bottle. We were completely spoiled for choice, with an entire page of malt whiskies. The staff were very well trained, friendly and helpful.

The room was very well equipped to a high standard, although tea and coffee making facilities would have been appreciated.

Breakfast was a very high quality fry up, freshly cooked using local ingredients, though perhaps the portions are a little on the small side.

All in all this is a delightful country pub/hotel which we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived at 4pm to check in and have a cup of tea but there was a display of pimms on the bar 4 pimms later we left and went to our room a lovely way to start the weekend ,the room was fine bed very good and a lovely bathroom with a fab shower .

Staff very friendly and well trained all young we where a 6 for dinner very good value for local produce and freshly cooked,

Thank you chef for coming in early to cook our 7.30 breakfast on sunday .

Yes i would come back very good value for money

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I went to The Queens Arms with my girlfriend when we stayed in Sparkford for a walking weekend. This is easily some of the best food I've ever had in a pub in the UK and it really helped make the short holiday one to remember. The atmosphere was very cosy and welcoming and the staff (and the locals) were very friendly and happy to see us. It's been quite a long time since we were there but I'm still carrying their business card around and looking for an excuse to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our executive room was very well furnished. Nice decor. Recently refurbished I would guess. Good bathroom with monsoon shower (over the bath). Nice toiletries. Under floor heating.

Downstairs wasn't so good. Nice bar and outside seating area. Dinner was average. Staff were lovely but service was slow and a bit erratic. Breakfast was served on a communual table in a poorly decorated narrow corridor of a room. help yourself to a poor selection of cereals and tired looking chopped fruit salad. If you wanted toast you had to make it yourself! Breakfast wasn't served with any style. Overall lovely rooms to stay in but downstairs did not live up to the expectations of upstairs. Could do better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Lovely location, clean, warm, fresh, friendly, fantastic location, but perhaps if they stayed in their executive rooms they would find the few niggles and then this would be a perfect hotel!
i.e. in executive room invest in executive matress not mid quality spring,
- a good bin in the room is an essential not a chav item as is plastic bags in the loo bin or bags to put intimate waste in - tea and coffeein the room is also needed unless you are offering 24 hour room service and the milk issue could be resolved by asking guests if they want fresh of plastic..chiled milk could be left in guest area at night in vacumme flask- an extractor fan for bathroom also would stop the room turning into a sauna with the fabulous shower!

I know this makes me look piccy but why not make the hotel fabulous for the price rather than jjust really good x

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: on the Somerset/Dorset border | Sherborne, Corton Denham DT9 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Corton Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corton Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Queens Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2013, Best National Freehouse of the year 2012, Somerset Cider Pub of the year 2012, Taste of Somerset Best Pub 2013, 2 AA Rosettes and AA 5 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Arms Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.