We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - should have chosen better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone to your Saves list
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 The Esplanade, Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Petone
Sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Disappointed - should have chosen better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

To be fair I probably selected the wrong motel and room type for our needs. We had two ground floor rooms (the cheapest type). These were pretty small with not much space around the bed for two people. No outlook. Small but new bathroom. Clean apart from some stains on the carpet.

The worst part was that we could hear people walking around upstairs.

Location was ok close to Jackson Street, Petone which has lots of restaurants.

Would not stay here again if in Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
25
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed one night in a two bedroom ground floor unit. The motor lodge is on the water and convenient to both shops and Picton Ferry Terminal. Our room was very clean and modern in decor. This is a place we would come back to in Wellington.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The owners, Heather and Gary were outstandingly helpful and friendly - nothing was a problem. Their Sat evening fill in lady was new to the motel but just as helpful. Such nice people set the tone for your holiday and helped plan public transport.
The studio room was modern and extremely clean.

Room Tip: Downstairs folk can hear the people above moving about, so go for an upstairs room if there is a cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingiPetone, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for your great review it was our pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Good clean quite accommodation with lots of free parking. Connected to wellington by bus and train both a 20miniute journey. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities modern. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

A nice comfortable room, clean and tidy. Comfy bed, clean and decent sized ensuite shower room. A fridge, microwave, sink, etc. Seemed safe and staff were helpful.
Only thing is that this Motel is not in Wellington, it is in Low Hutt, lucky we had a car or would be stuck. 20 minute drive from ferry and city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here overnight when returning from a business trip in Auckland, we had to drive down because we picked up our new ute there and was leaving for Christchurch on the ferry the next morning. We found the room really well decorated and value for money. It had all your basic needs, was a quiet place where you could relax and if you choose your room wisely, you can get one with a view over the water. We didn't sleep well on the Queen bed and feel it could be more comfy but then again my husband and I both have back issues so it could just be us. I would definately recommend this lodge for an even longer stay and we'll return there on our next visit to Wellington. Everything was clean and well presented. There could be a bit more coffee, tea, milk and sugar samples though as we ran out due to using 2 sachets of coffee each at a time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A very nice place to stay, the hotel is on a dual carriageway overlooking the sea, if you want a lie in probably shouldn't go for sea view as traffic starts to build up as people go to work in Wellington. The room we had was well appointed with good furnishings and decor. Only stayed overnight after arriving from South Island by ferry and moving on next day. The proprietors were extremely pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone

Address: 83 The Esplanade, Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt > Petone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Petone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE- Motel Accommodation situated 10 minutes outside the city centre on Petone Beach. InterIsland ferry terminal 10 minutes , Lower Hutt city 5 minutes and Petone's great cafes and restaurants just 5 minutes walk. Modern comfortable cosy rooms some with Harbour views. Good of street parking and handy to trains and buses to the city centre, Tepapa and Stadium. Conference facilities,Free Wifi internet and Great Breakfasts. Hosts Gary and Heather Kingston . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.