We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palafito Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palafito Sur to your Saves list
Palafito Sur
Pedro Montt 465, Castro, Isla Chiloe 5700289, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Castro
Puerto Varas, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Staff are very courteous and committed to keeping guests happy. They asked me how things are going repeatedly to make sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. They helped arrange my rental car and negotiated for the best deal and to have the car delivered to me.

The rooms are pretty standard for hostels, nothing extravagant but warm and comfortable. This is not a party hostel, by 11pm things are pretty quiet. Breakfast is just the basics, bread with jam, yogurt, cereal, coffee/tea. Will stay here again someday

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
19
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Building itself was quaint and cosy and view from dining area across the water is lovely.
However its ludicrously expensive for the quality of service provided: being asked to pay on arrival is poor form,double 35000pesos! V small rooms, our 'ensuite' bathroom- a walk down the corridor had no loo roll or soap. Breakfast was served 8-10am with staff removing all evidence of breakfast by 9.55-dont expect a leisurely breakfast overlooking the lake if you get up later! checked out after 1 night: much better prices and service elsewhere in town eg cordillera hostel

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

For people who only have a coffee here, Patio Palafito may be nice, but unfortunately we used it as an accommodation. Here's what we experienced:
On arrival, we were told that although we were foreign tourists in Chile, we would have to pay VAT in addition to the price, which simply isn't true. After arguing about it, we were finally offered to pay in cash without VAT, but also without the usual receipt we got from other hotels.
The room was quite basic - although it had a small balcony with a beautiful view, unfortunately there were no chairs to sit outside. It was also impossible to darken it, so we woke up early. It was very cold in the morning and we didn't manage to turn on the small electric heater so taking a shower was a really "refreshing" experience.
Then we had to wait almost until 9 o'clock to get breakfast, as they refused to prepare it earlier. The breakfast itself was a huge disappointment, consisting only of a few slices of toast and a coffee.
Considering the hefty price, there is certainly much room for improvement for Patio Palafito as an accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have been living in Chile for the past few months traveling solo or with a friend, but my parents came down to visit so I decided to take a trip down south with them. I was a little hesitant to go to a hostel with them because the last few I had stayed in had been more "party" hostels, which I knew they wouldn't appreciate, but Palafito Sur was laid back, more economical than a hotel and perfect for us. The rooms were cozy and very clean with sturdy beds and comfortable mattresses. We didn't do any cooking in the kitchen but just from looking at it it seemed to have all the necessities. The hostel has an overall cozy yet modern feel and you can tell the owners really care about the place. The hang out area only had a few tables but it does have ample seating and a pellet stove for colder days. On warmer days there is a deck that looks out onto the bay. We paid 60$ for a 3 person room which is more than I would normally pay but it was worth it to have a clean, comfortable bed, kind owners and a good breakfast. The house the hostel is in is really cool with a great location, I wish I could live there!

Robyn
Littleton, Colorado USA

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

On first glance, Palafito Sur is a very pretty hostel located in one of the palafitos dotting the bay.

Look closer and you'll find some flaws. Rooms are unbearably small. We stayed in a private 3-beds room. We didn't have space for our belongings and had to practically stack our suitcase on top of one another and climb over things to move around. Some rooms are fitted with windows looking into the hostel while others have no windows at all so it was always stuffy. Walls are also unbearably thin and we kept getting woken up by other guests moving around.

There is also a lack of bathrooms and one will have to wait a long time to use the showers if the hostel is full.

The kitchen is hardly more than a stove and a wash basin. There is a poor selection of cooking utensils. However, breakfast was good. The bread is made in a bread maker by hostel staff so you can be assured of fresh bread everyday.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in a Palafito, typical house in Chiloe, with nice view and a terrace. Very clean place.
The hostel is quite charming and cosy (there were few people when we were there but yes walls are thins...)
However despite the cost of the room (12 000$), towels are not included and you have to make your bed and take off the sheets at the end of your stay (which is not the case at the Palafito Hostel for cheaper. Besicles you get an amazing breakfast)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay, with good vibes and a comfortable bed. They've remodeled the interior of a house on stilts (keep in mind, these are not luxury homes but rather the homes of real people) turned it into sleeping quarters, bathrooms, common area and kitchen for visitors. They had to be creative in their architectural design to take the building from what its original purpose was to what its current one is, and I found the result charming and effective. It kind if reminded me of sleeping in a boat - small room, water view, etc. One thing to note - if you get the matrimonial room with private bath, the bath is private in the sense that it's just for your use, but it's across the hall. This was no big deal at all and the shower was great, but just FYI. The view out over the water was amazing in the early morning. The guys that work there were very accommodating, helpful and fun to get to know. I enjoyed my experience here, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palafito Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palafito Sur

Address: Pedro Montt 465, Castro, Isla Chiloe 5700289, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Castro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palafito Sur is a hostel in Castro, in a traditional fishermen neighborhood in Chile.The hostel offers a unique experience to live over the sea and understand the Chiloe culture, just a few squares far from the city center. In our hostel, you can enjoy our charming view the sea and a spacious terrace where you can share your free time. We have shared rooms with 2, 3 and 4 beds and two double bedrooms, with a generous common area over the sea, shared kitchen and terrace in a cozy space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Palafito Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafito Sur Castro, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palafito Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.