We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to Ancud, you should stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 13 Lunas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
13 Lunas Hostel
Save
You added 13 Lunas Hostel to your Saves list
Los Carrera 855, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you're going to Ancud, you should stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the bet hostel I've ever been to, hands down. I stayed for 2 nights, and I wish I had been there for much longer. The location is super convenient to everything in town and the bus station. The house is a beautifully built, very homely building and the staff are really for fly and helpful, going out of their way to make you feel at home. They've got good wi-fi, clean bathrooms, gorgeous kitchen and lovely communal areas including a BBQ area. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say. I'll be back there for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
29
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Planned on staying for 3, stayed for 5. This is one of those hostels that isn't in it for the money, but instead just loves to see you have a good time. The owners are very hospitable, it's clean, the beds are big, they host social gatherings, and the breakfast is tasty. Can't ask for much more. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hostel and it was the best hostel i've ever been. The owners, international volunteers and staff are one of the best people i've known. The attention they give you is like being at home with your friends.
The beds, rooms, breakfast, bathrooms are more than amazing, they have little details very well thought by them.
I didn't know chiloe at all, but after this i will defenetly go back! Hugs for Claudio, Pancho, Harry and Via!!!! Hope to see you again!!

Pola, Coni and Jose

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancud, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

More than just a hostel! 13 Lunas is definitely a melting pot for 'long-lost-brothers-and-sisters' all around the world! I never feel like a stranger there. It's located just 5 minutes walking from the city center. The staff (and even the owner!) mingle with all the guests really well! And they treat all the guests more like family and friends than just as guests. Very handy and helpful! The building is very well-maintained and clean. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, big common area, fully-equipped kitchen, ping pong table, 'asado' almost every night, and also movie night! The breakfast is amazing! And you don't want to miss the Penguin Tour (ask them to take you down to the beach. My fave one is Playa Brava, you'll be spoiled!). I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The showers were great! The beds big and comfy! And the penguin tour a must! Everyone was super friendly and helped us figure out transportation for our next destination :) Breakfast had everything you would include in the typical Chilean banquet plus delicious eggs! And in the basement they do asados and have a ping pong table.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I can't say enough good things about 13 Lunas hostel. My friend and I arrived at the colorfully painted house just in front of the Cruz Del Sur bus station on a rainy night and we were greeted warmly by the staff and a couple of cute fuzzy doggies. The hostel looks brand new, with lots of artesian handicrafts decorating the walls. We were shown to a room with two twin beds, super cozy, and the shared bath was impeccably clean. We had a great night playing cards and drinking wine, chatting with the staff and a couple other guests. In the morning they had a full breakfast prepared, eggs, yogurt, fresh bread, jams, juice, etc. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a warm and friendly place with a delicious breakfast !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hostal is located right across from the bus terminal, which is a great way to just drop off your stuff, and especially helpful when it's raining (which is a lot of the time). The hostel is big and cozy, but I was especially impressed with the service. We were staying in a room in the basement when it began to flood (probably due to the nonstop rain), after alerting the staff they immediately moved us to an incredibly nice room on the first floor, that seemed to be the room of one of the staff! They were very nice and helpful, and I definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 13 Lunas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 13 Lunas Hostel

Address: Los Carrera 855, Ancud, Isla Chiloe, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Ancud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ancud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
13 Lunas Hostel Ancud, Chile - Isla Chiloe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 13 Lunas Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.