We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery and a meal with locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of enPatagonia Tours

enPatagonia Tours
Puerto Chacabuco, Chile
(56) 9-82663759
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great scenery and a meal with locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The scenery near Puerto Chacobuco in the Simpson River valley and the National Reserve was beautiful. Our personable guide who is an ex-pat school teacher was very knowledgeable about the area and local life. The highlight though was the meal with a family at a campo or country house -your choice of lamb roasted over an open fire or salmon or empanada. We started with welcome smiles from our hosts, all wearing the national dress and pisco sours. The simple but tasty meal came with a shared bottle of wine. Some dancers showed us traditional dances and offered to teach us if we were brave enough to volunteer. (I did! Blame it on the pisco sour.) Only about 30 guests can be accommodated at one time - two vans with two guides and two drivers. Thoroughly enjoyed our glimpse into Chilean life. Anne and her company was easy to deal with.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great day in outback Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and me, along with 14 from our cruise ship met Anne Hedderman at the dock and spent a splendid day seeing some of Chile's most beautiful country. Everything from waterfalls, farms and villages. Anne is a delightful young lady who is very personable and knowledgeable. She is eager for you to know about Chile and the people that live and work there. The highlight of the tour is a visit to a working sheep and lima ranch. We were able to see sheep sheared and enjoyed a great meal of roasted lamb with all the fixings. Native dancers put on a show of the native dances in colorful costumes. All in all a great tour with a great guide. The tour price was well worth it !!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A tour well worth joining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were in Puerto Chacabuco off a cruise ship for a day and had pre-booked this tour with the owner and guide Anne Hedderman. There were two small buses of about 16 passengers each. The weather was not great but that is pretty normal for this part of the world.

Compared with the ship's options this tour was more extensive and a bargain at about US$90 each. We saw some decent scenery including three modest waterfalls and also had a visit to a farm where we enjoyed a nice lunch of lamb and empanadas with pisco sours and wine. This was followed by a couple doing some folk dancing.

Anne is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and well able to pitch her comments to the group (largely from the US) as she is an expatriate American.

To be fair, Puerto Chacabuco doesn't have a lot of attractions (at least if you spend only one day there which precludes any significant hikes in the parks) but this tour gave a very good overview of the area and was a most pleasant way to spend our time there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Tour is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had Anne Hedderman as our tour guide and she was fantastic. Not only did she take us to the sites but she also gave us knowledge about Chilean house construction, schools, culture, etc. We saw waterfalls that the cruise ship tours do not see as their buses would not be able to travel the roads that lead to them. We also saw the sites that the cruise ship tours go to as well, so that we did not miss a thing. The BBQ that we paid for at a farm, was lots of fun and the lamb (yummy). They started us out with is Pisco Sour, small empananas and then served the main course. You had a choice of empananas or lamb. We were really glad to have chosen the lamb as it was so tender and tasty. They also did a show which showed the local dances. The group was small enough that everyone could see the show. The dancers had members of the audience joined them at the end of the show. The cost of the tour was way more reasonable than what the cruise ship offered.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Company in Patagonia Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

In early February 2012 while on a cruise we stopped at Puerto Chacabuco Chile for a day. We and a group of friends booked an on-shore tour through Anne Hedderman at enPatagonia Tours. This was one of the highlights of our entire cruise. The tour visited local sites such as scenic waterfalls and museums but the most memorable part of the day was our lunch at a remote farm. The location was off the beaten path not visited by the large tours. Our Chilean hosts could not have been more hospitable. Great food, great entertainment and a chance to see how the people lived. Our tour host, Anne, was always available and very informative. I would highly recommend Anne and her company. Her website is http://www.enpatagoniatours.cl/

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed enPatagonia Tours also viewed

Puerto Chacabuco, Aisen Region
Puerto Chacabuco, Aisen Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to enPatagonia Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage enPatagonia Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.