We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Patagonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coyhaique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge
Save Saved
You added Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge to your Saves list
Camino a Laguna Verde 6, Casilla 25, Coyhaique 6000000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Coyhaique
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“The best in Patagonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The best place in Patagonia. They made us to have a great time!!! Everything is more then what you expect, about the food, the service, the fishing, etc.

Great people an so dedicate to the customers.

The best in Patagonia!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Talk with Luis Antunez, he knows everything there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Incredible place ,good persons and the best teacher for flyfishing Luis Antúnez ...l Think in his last life Was a Trout or a tropical fish ....the prívate waters like his lake are simply wonderful ...talking about the lodge has the best view of Coyhaique and the simpson River ...confortable rooms ...to end just Thanks for all .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Not only the fishing, which is awsome. The staff, the facilities and the guides are the best I know all over the world. Thank you Luis for this amazing dream.

No solo la pesaca, que es maravillosa. El equipo, las instalaciones y los guias son lo mejor que yo conozco en todo el mundo. Gracias Luis por este fantástico sueño.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

in 2010 I took a group of 6 very experienced travellers and anglers to this lodge for a week long fishing trip. Let me add that I lead quite a few trips of this nature before I continue my review... the first thing you should know is that almost all of the accommodations in Coyhaique (the correct spelling) are indeed a bit out of town, most around 2-10 km's from the centre, however, this is one of the biggest attractions to Salmo Patagonia lodge as it overlooks (highest point in the area) the entire city and surrounding area. It is a truly stunning view and by far the best in that area!

The lodge owner and his wife Luiz and Lourdes (Lou) could not be better hosts. They were always preoccupied by making sure that we were happy and had enough of everything, which we did. The service was top rate and the rooms, well - they were simply great and were very much appreciated by all of us. You will find large (king and queen) beds in most rooms along with some rooms with twin beds in others, all very comfortable and new! Along with that, you will find modern and very clean bathrooms (incredibly complex showers ;) and very every convenience you can think of. Contrary to another post here, I visited all of the cabins and found them to be very clean and well kept will all of the comforts of home!

When we were there the grounds were impecable and I simply do not understand the comments posted here, however, it is indeed a very big and sprawling property leaving the possibility for the grass to grow a bit from time to time, I imagine.

As for the food and hospitality you would be hard-pressed to find better in Southern Chile. Each morning we had a broad range of food offered to us. I cannot say much about the lunches other than the fact they were packed for us each day and were delicious. None of us went hungry, that is for sure! Suppers were absolutely delicious and varied from night to night with local flavours to Spanish dishes from our hosts home country.

Would I bring another group of discriminating angler/travellers like I did in 2010? YOU BET! As a matter of fact, we are already planning to head to this incredible location again in 2013 with another group of anglers!

I have travelled the world in search of great fishing spots where my guest would feel at home and this lodge fit the bill perfectly! I highly recommend contacting the owners directly because if you do, your experience will undoubtedly be as great as ours.

David Bishop
Cascapedia, Qc
Former lodge owner, Angling and Travel enthusiast and fishing industry sales rep

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great, all I can say is that I stayed in the main building in one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rehovot
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

In November 7th 2011 we ordered by Booking Com a double room in Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge ( a 4 star hotel) in Coyhaique Chile for Feb 8th 2012.
Our order was confirmed by booking .Com and numbered 970.118.888.
Coyhaique in located in southern Chilean Patagonia and the hotel is located out of town.
When we arrived at the hotel at a very cold and windy evening. Its gate was closed and the lady owner did not want to let us in even though we had a confirmed reservation. After a loudly argument she came out and told us she had no reservation.
We are a very experienced travelers and we know it may happened once in a while. According to Booking Com she has to try and help us by finding an equal hotel .
It was our 6th visit in Chile and we love this country very much especially the friendly people and the way they treat senior citizens It was the first and only time we were treated in such brutal and un polite way
As we were not offered any help in such a remote place, and after a very long argument we got a cabin far from the hotel main building. The cabin was neglected, dirty, mainly toilet and bath room, the grass was not cut from its pass from in pass . We had to pay for it us$200 ( The room should have cost us$ 195).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge

Address: Camino a Laguna Verde 6, Casilla 25, Coyhaique 6000000, Chile
Location: Chile > Aisen Region > Coyhaique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Coyhaique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salmo Patagonia Lodge is located in the heart of Patagonia - Chile, about six miles from Coyhaique. Set atop a high mountain plateau alongside a National Park you can watch the majestic mountains and the river valleys from the Lodge's windows, or dream away at the fire-place. Experience luxury, adventure, and the beauty of unspoiled nature at this 5-star lodge. World renowned fly fishing angler Luis Antunez owns and operates the Salmo Patagonia Lodge and delights in sharing his expertise and love of the Patagonian outdoors. He and his wife Lourdes serve as guides and enthusiastic hosts for guests of all skill levels and interests. At Salmo, not even the sky is the limit - heli-fishing trips offer new and exciting experiences for even the most experienced anglers. Luis and his staff take advantage of their +25 years of experience and the +20,000 acres of land at their disposal to make each visit unique and unforgettable. Each party receives the personalized, undivided attention of Luis and Lourdes, who ensure that guests have everything they need from the moment they arrive. The Lodge itself has all the comforts of home and more - luxurious showers, a sauna, over 600 bottles of wine, and home cooked meals made with fresh ingredients, many of which come straight from the garden. Located on one of the highest plateaus in the area, the Salmo Patagonia Lodge offers a breathtaking view of the Simpson River and the valley below. While Salmo specializes in offering world-class fly fishing excursions, there are plenty of activities available for non-angler guests. Cooking lessons from Lourdes give everyone the chance to learn about wine pairing and her unique combination of Chilean and 'Old World' Spanish cuisine. Horseback riding, hiking, and canoeing trips are just a few of the ways that Salmo encourages exploration and discovery of the beautifully rugged Chilean landscape. From the back of an ATV or through the lens of a camera, delve into the natural wonders of the Patagonian outdoors and experience one of the last frontiers on earth. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Salmo Patagonia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.