We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but poor quality lodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Wilhelmina Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Wilhelmina Lodge
Save
You added Queen Wilhelmina Lodge to your Saves list
Queen Wilhelmina State Park, 3877 Highway 88 West, Mena, AR 71953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mena
Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice view but poor quality lodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This lodge is in extreme need of refurbishing. The linens, pillows, carpets, baths, and mattresses are well worn and need to be replaced. The bathroom was in extremely poor condition. The state of Arkansas should close this lodge and do a complete remodel. The accommodations are not worth the price.

I would encourage a day trip here, as the view is great and the history of the lodge is interesting. However, I would recommend lodging somewhere else. I gave this lodge a "2", one for the friendly staff and one for the wonderful view.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Queen Wilhelmina was the 2nd of three state lodges my wife and I visited in Early October. The drive up to the lodge was pretty quick, but when we got there things where just a little lacking. Overall I still think it was a good stop, but not necessarily one that stands out or is something you would plan a trip around...

Driving up, we first noticed the little working railroad train and the fullsize train engine on display near the entrance. Heading up to the lodge revealed a spectacular view. This place is on top of a mountain and has a very nice view of the surrounding valley and hills.

We got unpacked and checked out the room. One tip is that the loading zone is on opposite side of the revolving door. I found that out after negotiating 3 large suitcases through the revolving door. Our room was on the ground floor with a King bed. The room was nicely appointed, but did show it's age. It reminded me of my grandmothers. Expect all lighting from lamps, and a few attempts to figure out which switches activate which outlets. Everything is well maintained and clean, but clearly not new. Overall we didn't have any complaints, just don't go in with super high expectations.

The ice cream shop also will sell you rounds of minigolf or a ticket for the mini railroad. Definitely for the kids, but we did have fun on the railroard. It's a great start to get your bearings on the park, but not much else. I'm sure kids would have a blast, but just a novelty for adults.

The ice cream shop / diner was currently up for sale. They didn't seem to have alot of variety to offer (only two flavors of ice cream available when we went), but it is a good place to grab a coffee, coke or candy bar.

With a few hours to spare, my wife and I took the Lover's leap trail. This was a pretty neat and short hike, but it does have a few sections that are quite difficult for the less experienced. A hiking pole made it easier. The lover's leap lookout is a decked overlook that branches off (briefly) from the trail. Some walked right by, missing the whole purpose for the trail! Continue taking the trail as it loops around to the front of the lodge. You can join the Ouachita trail (225 miles) from here.

Two items we didn't have time for were the wonder house tour and the old lodge resevoir trail. The wonder house is an old vacation home/cabin with a very unique layout. Check in advance for tour times as it was closed when we visited this lodge!

The lodge restarant was a tad underwhelming. There was an offered buffet but we opted for the chicken fried steak and the peppercorn sirloin steak. The food was pretty good, but nothing exemplary. Remember this is a state park lodge, not a 4 star restarant with an executive chef. Just good ole comfort food, and lots of it! We skipped breakfast so that we could make an early appointment, but the buffet looked and smelled good.

All wait staff and lodge personnal were great! Absolutely no complaints there.


So overall, I probably won't stay here again unless it is a logical stopping point towards my ultimate desination. Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our stay, and the value was quite good. But families with little ones would probably get bored with more than a 1 day and night stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

NIce and friendly staff. Very helpful staff. Loved the room. Not bad accomodations for a state park and the riding in the area was awesome. We definitely will do this again. Restaurant on the premises was very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Loved it!!!
the view is spectacular, the people are very friendly....
great family atmosphere
saw my first bear, very exciting!!
we certainly didn't have any "bed bugs"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWR1234
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

great staff, including the BED BUGS! woke up with welts all over us. have stayed all over the country and other countries and have never had a problem. will never stay here again....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Very beautiful and peaceful rest. Food was excellent! Probably too good! The room was very comfortable and the view from our window was breathtaking. Took the train ride and sat on the rockers reading and watching the hundreds of hummingbirds come to the feeders to feed. The only thing we felt was missing and could improve the lodge would be a swimming pool. Oh, it is a "dry" area so you will need to bring your own alcohol with you when you go.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We cannot say enough about our recent stay at Queen Wilhelmina Lodge. My husband wanted to surprise me for my birthday and he couldn't have selected a better place. The lodge is truly a " Castle in the Clouds " and all the employees are fantastic. They all go that " extra mile (s) " to provide special treatment to their guests. His special requests were carried out beautifully. Our room was tastefully furnished and the small bathroom proved to be quaint. Guests have to remember the lodge is reminiscent to the late 1800's. If one wants to see the beautiful view, all they need to do is go to the main sitting room where there are large windows or go outdoors. The sun rises and sunsets are beautiful. Len & Kathy Maliszewski

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Wilhelmina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Wilhelmina Lodge

Address: Queen Wilhelmina State Park, 3877 Highway 88 West, Mena, AR 71953
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mena
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mena
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Wilhelmina State Park Lodge closed on March 5, 2012, to undergo a major renovation. It will reopen in summer 2013. This temporary closure applies to the entire lodge including all 38 guest rooms, the restaurant, lobby, meeting room, and restrooms. All other facilities at Queen Wilhelmina State Park, including the campground and trails, remain open. Park offices are temporarily located near the entrance to the park campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Queen Wilhelmina Hotel Mena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Wilhelmina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.