We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great crispy catfish filets and all the "fixins"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Net Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fish Net Family Restaurant
3543 Hwy 71 N., Mena, AR
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 29 Restaurants in Mena
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great crispy catfish filets and all the "fixins"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The fish was well cooked, which I like, and the hushpuppies were awesome! You get all you can eat green tomato relish, slaw, and hushpuppies with your meal. Great views of the fall foliage in October from the wraparound windows.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pass the Fish Net and dine at a place further in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to visit my mother in law in Vanderfoort and she took us to the Fish Net for dinner. It's very run down and blah in appearance. They have a lonely fish tank and a couple sad looking plants when you walk in the door. It's a strange lay out - tables start and go down the side of the walk way that leads to the open dining area. So, if you're seated at one of those tables, you'll have people constantly walking by as you're having your dinner.
The service was pretty bad. Our waitress was less than friendly. We were seated and she walked over and said,"What would you like to drink?" No hello, welcome, etc. Needless to say, she never warmed up throughout the meal. The menu is limited. The fried shrimp was right out of a frozen bag. My husband asked for his steak medium well, it was well done and rubbery. My father in law got the chicken fried steak and it was almost too tough to eat. In all honesty, the only thing good was the set up before the meal. The beans were fairly good, as were the pickled green tomatoes.
After dinner, we drove through town and saw quite a few other restaurants that I've since seen good reviews for. We will definitely make it a point to try one of those next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickes, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great American Catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have been going to the Fish Net since I was a very little girl. It has changed owners twice since the original owners. The current owners have tried to keep it as close to the original as possible. The hushpuppies are hands down the best I have ever had. I've only tried the catfish, chicken and hamburgers. All three have been extremely satisfactory. The set-up is all you can eat and their salads are very fresh. They only serve American raised catfish. In Mena, if you want fish, this is the place to go. They can be pretty crowded on the weekend evenings so if you have a group, you will definitely want to call ahead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena. AR
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Place for Fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

In a town where fish is NOT king this place is the best, with things like fried catfish, which is the only kind of seafood a lot of the local folks will eat. They serve family style with big platters of food and offer a friendly family atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Net Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fish Net Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Net Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.