We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had High Expectations. The Oberoi Surpassed Them.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Lombok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Lombok to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Lombok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83001, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starting at $275 pernight
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tanjung
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We had High Expectations. The Oberoi Surpassed Them.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Oberoi Lombok over a weekend on 7-9 June 2014, in the property's 250sqm garden villa. We planned this trip to be a relaxing getaway, and we were treated to a defining experience. Every of the Oberoi's dedicated staff made us feel welcome, were polite, had an strong command of English, and pampered us with their attention to the most minute of details. The Oberoi excelled on every service touchpoint and saw through our entire itinerary in Lombok, without us having to worry one bit.

Reservations - we booked our stay through Classic Travel - a Virtuoso luxury travel agency. Heather and Lance took care of our every needs and communicated with the Oberoi on our behalf. A truly superstar start-to-end service.

Airport Transfer - we arrived at the airport in the evening, and were greeted by the hotel's driver. We were ushered to a comfortable Toyota Kijang Innova (compact MPV) and were served bottled water and cold wet towel by the driver. The driver gave us a brief introduction of the city and was also knowledgable in answering our questions about Lombok. The drive, via the Monkey Forest route, took approximately 1h 45min, which we were well prepared for. The journey was smooth, road conditions were good and there was little traffic. Tip: book the hotel's airport transfers for a fuss-free vacation; when we exited the airport, there were many touts and we would not have known what to do without the pre-arranged airport transfers.

Arrival - upon our arrival at the Oberoi, we were warmly welcome by the staff by name. We were ushered to sit by the reflection pool, which was a gorgeous sight to behold. The staff served us a welcome drink and a traditional cake. The check-in process was discreet and not rushed. We were then taken to our villa via a buggy, were introduced to the hotel's facilities and villa's amenities. When offered a tip, the staff declined and said that gratuity was included as part of the service charge in the bill. This was a good practice on hindsight, as otherwise with the excellent service throughout the property we would have felt obliged to tip everyone!

Villa - the villa was spacious and well appointed. The garden was beautifully landscaped with a small water feature. There was an outdoor raised terrace where we had breakfast at. There were also two deck-chairs, that were accompanied by bottled water, towels and sun block. A luxurious four-poster bed greeted us when we entered the living quarters, which was well lit and designed in traditional style - with thatched roofs and local art. The bathroom was huge - double vanity top, him/her walk-in wardrobes, separate shower and toilet, and a sunken tub overlooking a mini-garden accessible from the toilet. The room and bathroom were well cooled by air-conditioning and well ventilated. The fruit basket had a variety of local fruits and was replenished daily. Turndown service was also provided daily. We appreciated that there were complimentary bottled water in every corner as water in Lombok is not portable.

Meals - the quality of food was good and the service very attentive, especially at the Lumbung Restaurant, which offered a stunning view of the ocean. We tried both Indonesian and continental cuisine and were satisfied. I have a dietary preference and the staff remembered it every time I dined at the restaurant. We also had a private breakfast at the outdoor terrace inside our villa, which was refreshing. We appreciated that the assistant F&B manager introduced herself and interacted with us.

Snorkelling trip to the Gili Islands - the Oberoi has a private jetty operated by some very credible folks. The hotel arranged a half-day snorkelling trip to the Gili Islands at a very reasonable 35 USD per pax, which took us out on a speed boat to snorkel around Gili Meno. We saw schools of fishes and corals up close, and even two giant turtles! We also had time to laze on the beach of Gili Air. Excellent instructor and excellent trip out.

Private Cart and Pony Ride to Tanjung Market and Village - the Oberoi also arranged for us a complimentary trip out to the local market and village by pony-cart. We witnessed first hand how the locals lived. This local experience is not to be missed. Again, the Oberoi was very thoughtful to have loaded onto the cart an icebox with bottled water and cold towels.

Spa Treatment - we booked a 60-min massage each and it was pure bliss. Although small in size, the therapists were strong and gave a very good massage that undid knots that we didn't know existed.

Other services and facilities - the Oberoi has a 40m infinity pool that overlooks the ocean. Amazing for watching the sun set. At 1pm, staff will go round the pool handing out complimentary fruit sorbet, which is such a treat. Also, the hotel hosts a complimentary afternoon tea at the tea bale, serving local traditional cakes (freshly made on the spot) and beverages. Sea sports facilities like kayaks are also at the guests' disposal (complimentary too).

Departure - the hotel was very kind to extend late checkout to 4pm. Check-out was fuss free and we took the hotel's transport to the airport via the coastal route, where we saw a beautiful sunset enroute.

This was truly a remarkable vacation, made extra special by the excellent heartware and hardware of the Oberoi. Special thanks to Classic Travel too, for putting up with us when they didn't need to. Usually don't write long reviews, but this deserves one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Benedict_SG,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Lombok for your weekend getaway and taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your true Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted that we have surpassed your expectation and you a memorable experience from the reservation, arrival, during the stay until the end of your weekend with us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guest, the appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. Your kind words and details review for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Lastly on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create another impeccable service experience on your next visit in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    72
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
66
280
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The minute I arrived , was blown away by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The place was quiet and peaceful and so lovely. I was made to feel so pampered, welcomed and spoilt!
The room was fantastic - adored the huge bathroom with the amenities and I loved that they paid attention to even the smaller details which may never have mattered to anyone.
I dined daily at their restaurant during my 3 days stay and I've no complaints whatsoever.
I also tried their spa and while i couldn't fathom why the massage room wasn't air-cond (thoroughly city-bred and it was 3 in the afternoon!) - but the therapist soon had me putty in her able hands. It was a pleasurable experience.
One of my best holiday experience ever! Oberoi Lombok - keep up the fantastic job and standard!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear GEEWONG,

It was a pleasure to have you choose and stay at The Oberoi, Lombok.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and for your great feed backs.

Your great comments particularly on the staffs and service always motivate us to continue to deliver a high level of service and encouraging for my team members to continue exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuine hospitality. The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

In the meanwhile, the team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel you should go too, its so nice and relaxing. Its like to come to a another world. You should make the time to wisit and stay atleast four Nights to look and see.
You can also go to Oberoi in Bali, the same good hotel, and you can stay there, the Oberoi offer you free transport between Lombok and Bali.. 3 Nights there and 4 over there !

Room Tip: Ask fore one With seawiew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Knut50,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Best Wishes

Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranco, Italia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at the Oberoi after spending 7 nights on the Gili Islands.
Arriving at the Oberoi by boat (which the Oberoi had organised), was already the first great experience. They welcomed us and took our bags immediately. We then were taken to reception in a golf cart by a very nice staff member. Check-in was quick and friendly.
The room was beautiful, finally the air-condition was working properly, unlike on the Gili islands... The staff member explained us all the facilities in the room and showed us around the room without missing out on any detail. This was very kind, however it took a little bit long since there was so much information in the room.
We also had received some fresh fruit which was refilled everyday.
The service over all was fantastic and at breakfast all the staff members knew our name already even if we had never met them before. Breakfast was very good.
The overall feeling of the Oberoi Resort was just so peaceful, even if it was almost fully booked, we barely saw people around due to the big garden. The pool was beautiful and had the perfect temperature and almost always empty.
The 5 days at the Oberoi were so relaxing and exactly what we needed after 7 nights on the Gilis.
One negative aspect; The guest relations manager, who had just started working there 2 days before, used every chance to talk to every customer for a minimum of 10 minutes. Being interrupted by her at breakfast and her not leaving after we had clearly told her that we did not need her assistance was rather annoying. That's why we spent the last 2/3 days hiding from her and trying to avoid her.

But in general it was totally worth going there and the peace and relaxation offered at this resort was just amazing! I would love to come back one day!

Room Tip: We took the Garden Pavillon with Ocean view which was perfect. A private pool villa is not necessari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Victoriannm,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable.

Your kind words of appreciation the resort landscape as well as the impeccable service through your 5 (five) nights stay will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

We really regret on the impression of our team member that’s unintentionally may have inconvenienced your stay with the term conversation. However thank you for addressing the point in which we could isolate this to a finer detail for our improvement.

Lastly on behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create impeccable service experience on your next visit in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed in The Oberoi Lombok for 2 nights. This place is the best for getaways from city life. We stayed in a sea facing villa, which gave us the privacy, yet we could enjoy the breathe taking view of the sea and surrounding.
I must personally Thank the ''Oberoi Lombok Team" for making us feel special and my birthday a memorable one! (every team member that I had met wished me, they even placed champagne and cake in the room) They were ever helpful and gracious.
At the time of departure just before leaving (when we sat in the cab) the front office team members were standing to bid farewell.Not only this, what stood out for me was when I noticed them say prayers for our safe journey home...

Room Tip: Choose sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, General Manager at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Urvashi I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and sharing your Oberoi Experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. Thank you for praising our rooms, personalized detail service and food quality that we share it with our team members. Your kind words of appreciation for the team will go a long way in encouraging them to achieve higher standards of service excellence as we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and the appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

On behalf of the entire team, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and create even more positive experience on your next visit.

Thank you
With best regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Easter holidays both spend at the Oberoi Bali & Oberoi Lombok ... There was a new chef in the restaurant ; food was , as always , delicious ! Rooms spacious , gardens well maintained. Every evening they have different events ... My favorite event is the BBQ on the beach .... It would be nice if they would have it several times a week , and maybe a life music band , playing guitar , would be soooo romantic ... Staff as always very friendly ... Thanks Gede , Hadi , and all bar team ... And Hery at front desk , And pak Rudi ...

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manajer Umum at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear PKTVI,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us again during your recent visit to Lombok.
Thank you for sparing your time updating your experience and your favorable review of our resort on Trip Advisor.

Being experienced other 5 Star hotels around the globe including another Oberoi resorts we are delighted for your recognition on our uniqueness, that our product and service has always lived up to your expectation.

Your detail compliments have been shared with the team who were happy to note that their efforts were so well recognized. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of great inspiration and will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

Meanwhile the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lombok and to The Oberoi in the near future.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore57
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Beautiful, classy resort on Lombok Island, which is what Bali was thirty or forty years ago. The grounds of the resort are fabulous with sweeping landscaping above a bay along the Bali Sea. There is excellent snorkeling several hundred meters out from the beach and also off the resort's boat pier - lots of coral and fish. Easy boat ride to the Gilli (islands) for a little better snorkeling, but near the beach and the boat pier was perfectly adequate for us. We began our stay in a standard room, which was very tastefully decorated and nice. We were moved to a walled villa to solve a minor problem and the villa was beautiful. In the future I would book one, if I could afford it. There is not much around the Oberoi, but the point is to just stay put there and enjoy it. Unlike most of the resorts on Bali and Lombok, the Oberoi Lombok has huge grounds and it is not sandwiched between other resorts, so it is quite and peaceful and it is not flooded with light so you can see the stars and the moon at night. As expected from an Oberoi, the service was all first rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Lombok, Manajer Umum at The Oberoi, Lombok, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Lombok during your recent visit in the island.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and for your great feedbacks.

Your great comments particularly on the grounds and nature as well as the staffs and service always motivate us to continue to deliver a high level of service and encouraging for my team members to continue exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuine hospitality.
The appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

In the meanwhile, the team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Lombok.

Thank you.
With kind regards,
Rudy Baihaqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Lombok

Address: Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok 83001, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Tanjung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tanjung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury Resort with traditional influences, situated on the beach in 24 acres of tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi, Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Lombok Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Hotel Lombok
Oberoi Hotel Mataram
Oberoi Mataram
Mataram Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Lombok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.