We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Batam's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodies Restaurant

Goodies Restaurant
Palm Hill Bungalows | Batu Ampar A/18, Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29457, Indonesia
+62 778 450 183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Batu Ampar
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Goodies Restaurant is winning a huge following among Batam’s Western expatriate community and Indonesian residents of Batam who enjoy good food in a magic setting at sensible prices.The Goodies chefs and kitchen facilities are capable of catering an 80-seat restaurant and large wedding parties or other functions. The Goodies bar is a popular meeting place for both Smiling Hill residents and visitors. The Goodies team has a very simple goal - to create the Number One restaurant in Batam for Western expatriate residents of the island, visitors from other countries and for local Indonesian residents who appreciate fine food and outstanding service.Goodies offers a choice of Western international dining, home-style favourites, Indonesian and Asian specialties, Italian pasta and pizzas, popular snacks, soups and salads, all-day breakfasts, and (unusually for Batam) a selection of classic desserts.The magic poolside setting and the ambiance created by the Bali-style treatment of the pool surrounds lends itself to further development as a public restaurant for people looking for somewhere special to dine.Goodies is becoming a popular venue for special corporate dinner parties, birthdays and other special occasions, as well as for regular dining. The restaurant is open from 7.30 am until 9.30 pm.
Batam, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of Batam's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

I have been living in Batam for 11 years now. For the past 4-5 years I have been frequenting Goodies. The food there is simply some of the best in Batam. They know how to make food that I, as a Westerner, enjoy. It is that simple! The atmosphere is also very nice! Makes a great date place for those special days for my wife and I.

Perhaps my one critique would be they don't have a place to sit that is AirConditioned. Now, it is very cool, but there are some lunches that I will occasionally decide to go somewhere else simply because I want to sit someplace that is a bit cooler.

However, I will continue to frequent Goodies, and would highly recommend this place to anyone who lives in Batam or is visiting Batam. Enjoy it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have been coming to Batam for years for business. I have always heard of this place but I never did go until yesterday. Wow! It's some of the very best food I have had in Batam. Huge menu. American/Indian/Indonesian, lots to chose from.

Quite a cool spot too with the pool in the middle of the compound. Open air bar. Good staff. Very good pizza, not just for Batam, but for all the pizza I have ever had.

Not the cheapest place you could go but not expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only been here twice, but will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Goodie's is great. Nice staff, cold beer, good food...for once my hamburger actually tasted like a hamburger!! (Hard to find in Batam) I had heard rumors that you need to watch your bill - some of my colleages were overcharged a few times - but this problem seems to have been fixed, as they are now keeping a printout of your tab on the table and updating it as you continue to order.

Thanks for the great experiences - will be back for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken A, Public Relations Manager at Goodies Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Goodies. Glad you enjoyed the burger. We are a bit concerned that someone told you of being overcharged as we have not heard this before. The reason for the new sales slips is more for internal control, as customers were not always being charged for what they received. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For the Hungry traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

good food nice staff and a very good happy hour on Friday, the place to go for good food in a special environment.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimlink, Public Relations Manager at Goodies Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Goodies. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return soon. And maybe next time we can get 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

All food is excellent after new chef, especially pork chop :), what the people like is happy hour every Friday from 5.30 PM to 7.00 PM.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimlink, Public Relations Manager at Goodies Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit Goodies again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodies Restaurant also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Goodies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.