We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

second time at this resort and not disappointed! Great stay in the preferred club. Love having our own preferred breakfast and lunch spot on the beach and our own preferred beach area! The beach here is large and there plenty of cabanas and chairs. Rosa, our waitress, was the best on the beach! So smiley and really cared about her guests! We will miss her! Modesto, Luedy and David in the buffet were awesome too! The guys in the entertainment team were fab! Lionel Ritchie and Charlie Brown our favs. The food was good, all staff helpful and responsive. Wish there was more outdoor trails for walking and running but we had a great time and will return!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,138
    1,768
    707
    387
    233
See reviews for
2,334
2,764
100
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Big thank you to the Now team and special thank you to all the staff on the resort for such a wonderful time and entertainment. Special thank you La Gata, Cinthia ,Scooby-Doo, Lional Richie,Bruno Mars, Dindo,Jack,Akon and Miami Way for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited the hotel for one week from 5th to 12th December 2014. First of all the location is great, right on the beach. The layout I liked as you walked through the large reception building and outside to the extensive plaza where a lot of the evening entertainment went on, if not there then in the Theatre, just off the plaza. Behind this again, making your way to the beach were the extensive gardens with fountains. After that the swimming pools, here about five in number including the kid's pool then you were on the beach.

After location for me is the food. It was plentiful in the Carnival buffet and great in the six different restaurants on site. All in the food was well cooked and very tasty and as much as you could eat or drink, mostly you did not have to ask, more usually arrived as if by magic. I especially enjoyed eating in the Castaways Bar to have breakfast so close to the sea was spectacular.

The rooms were well cleaned every day and with the AC it was always a pleasure to come back to the room to get ready to go out at night.

A special mention to the girls and boys of the entertainment team. The entertainment provided by them was first class at all times, from pulling you up to dance, the competitions, the shows the singing and the dancing classes it was all just great. We only left the hotel to go on the Sonora island tour, otherwise there was no need to go elsewhere.

Everything was so good but one thing stood out, it was the combination of good the service and informality of all the staff, some of it was due to training but a lot of it was just the people, so free and easy to talk to.

It is very difficult to pick some out and if I do they are a reflection of all their companions, they are all what turned a great resort into an excellent holiday.

Antonio Banderas from the Sand bar introduced me the pina colada con gasolina. Winnie from the entertainment team danced with me without falling over laughing and Angel, I cannot remember how to spell her name but she was maitre di in the Castaways at lunch time and in the Bluewater/Tamarindo at night, to them my special thanks for directly helping to make it a wonderful holiday.

Charlie Scott

Room Tip: Rooms between the reception area and the sea are more central and from them it is easier to get abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent there 9 nights around Thanksgiving. We travel often, usually at least twice a year for the last 10+ years to various Caribbean 4 and 5-star all-inclusive resorts, so can compare.

Ocean: constant waves make water opaque, no snorkeling with fishes off the beach like in some other places. Plus plenty of seaweed not being cleaned from the water. Depth increases pretty rapidly beyond safe for children. But on the positive side, ocean floor in the swimming area is sandy, no water shoes are necessary. Verdict: average to slightly below average.

Water sports: the hotel claims availability of selection of free non-powered choices, but in practice nobody was there to provide and assist with any. Powered entertainment (banana boat etc) is available for extra money.

Beach: good white sand, but a lot of seaweed. Unlike some hotels nearby, they make effort to clean the seaweed from the beach, but far from enough. Pretty long beach for the hotel, but large areas on both sides are reserved only for Preferred Club members, leaving only about half for the rest. No lifeguard on duty, only security guards at the ends of the beach, who do decent (not perfect) job of protecting people from beach vendors who are very aggressive outside of the hotel zone. Not enough shade outside of Preferred Club zone, it is a problem to find a place in the shade, even despite strict no-reserving policy (which is good) and it was not even a peak season. Verdict: above average for Preferred Club members, below average for the rest.

Pools: shallow, plentiful, some smaller pools reserved for Preferred Club members. Almost no shade around pools. Slightly below average.

Rooms: only Preferred Club guests get buildings more or less close to the beach. Tropical and Pool View rooms without preferred Club are available at decent distance to the beach and main pool and close to main restaurants, in the last row of buildings at the beach side of the restaurant complex. Garden View rooms in the buildings on the other side are VERY far from the beach, on the other side of some canal, you will spend 20 minutes walking or about the same time if you decide to wait for a cart - AVOID LIKE A PLAGUE! Some people were spending time there around their dedicated pool like in some motel in the middle of Oklahoma. Regular (non-preferred) rooms lack even a sofa despite claiming suitability for 4 adults, but even with roll-in bed (which is a must for families with kids) a room with either 1 King or 2 doubles is only suitable for 3 - do not be deceived. No liqueur in the rooms, no snacks, only beer and small selection of soft drinks in the small fridges. Verdict: average for Preferred Club, below average for the rest, terrible for those in Garden View.

WiFi: paid, something like ridiculously overpriced $25/day, and only works with one device (not "one at a time", but ONE, as soon as you logged in from one device, other devices with the same login are bounced). No free WiFi even in the lobby. WAY below average. This kind of policy is unacceptable in 2014.

Food: cheap ingredients, no better cuts of meat, no more expensive fish, average selection of fruit etc. But whatever cheap stuff, it was surprisingly well-prepared and tasty in the main buffet. "Castaways" - "beachside" buffet - is only for Preferred Club guests, but ocean is not really visible even from there. All speciality restaurants have dress-code. The only decent speciality restaurant is French "Mercure". Asian (Japanese) "Spice" is the only one which requires reservation, and make sure you will make the reservation the very first day to have a chance to visit it even once (even for our 9-day stay), although it is not worth another visit. :) Italian "Capers" is in the "ghetto area" in the building far from the beach, and offers below decent food. The steakhouse "Bluewater Grill" does not know how to make stakes (as is usual in that sort of all-inclusive resorts in DR) and does not offer decent cuts anyway. VERDICT: below average, but thankfully I am not much of a foodie, so it did not matter much for me.

Drinks: average to slightly above average.

Entertainment: evening - above average, especially the fire show on the beach. Daytime - below average. People from the sister adults-only resort "Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana" next door share in some beach activities.

Offered trips: this is not the right place to go to Saona, Isla Catalina, Caso de Campo or Santo Domingo - avoid, or you will spend a lot of money and whole day traveling instead of enjoying your vacation. Choose southern shore hotels for that. They push Outback Safari (full day cultural exploration trip) really hard - avoid, there is a cheaper and shorter "Dominican Adventure" (or something like that), and the only difference is that you will have much better lunch in the hotel than a poor lunch on Outback Safari, and will spend less time on Playa Macao beach (which is not a problem given that you have as good or better beach at the hotel). Also, do not buy coffee from the farmer at those trips unless you like bad, burnt coffee. Actually, if you go ziplining where the guys at the stand on the beach send you (sorry, I forgot the name of the place), you will get 60% of cultural experience of Outback Safari/Dominican Adventure, PLUS ziplining. The ziplining itself is extremely mild (and safe, with two cables), very much suitable for first-timers and children etc, but boring for more adventurous types.

Summary and value: you will have good experience if you are going to pay for Preferred Club, but then the price is going to be high enough that you can afford higher class of the resort already. If you are not going to pay for Preferred Club, you are carefully made to feel like a second-class citizen. Or third-class if you are are put in the buildings far from the shore (Garden View?). Generally, you can do better in both cases.

Room Tip: Avoid Garden View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at the Now Larimar Punta Cana with a large group of family and friends for my cousins wedding. We have travelled several times to the Dominican Republic and Cuba and this hotel is definitely one of our favourites. We stayed in the preferred section and check-in was a breeze. We were brought to our room (pool view) which had one king size bed and a single roll-in bed for one of our children. We asked if we could get another bed and it arrived and was made within minutes. We received a complimentary bottle of champagne for our inconvenience which we hadn't considered to be an inconvenience.
All of the hotel staff work extremely hard and have excellent customer service. We were well taken care of all week. Our favourites were David, Juan and Modesto at the Carnival buffet. David's special drinks, the mimosas and Mama Juanas, were the best and Maria was fantastic at the preferred lounge. Bruno Mars was very entertaining at the main pool and in the square in the evenings.
The resort's rooms, grounds, pools and restaurants are very well kept. We loved hanging out in the preferred pool by the beach and eating lunch at the Barefoot Grill. Karaoke nights were fun, as was the disco. The kids loved hanging out at Scores Sports Bar. They played pool, bowling, Wii and Xbox many evenings after dinner.
There was a lot of seaweed on the beach but it didn't stop us from having good times in the ocean. The workers are on the beach from morning to night cleaning up the seaweed but it just keeps rolling in.
The wedding was beautiful, location amazing!
The food at this hotel was excellent! We ate at the Mexican, Steakhouse and Japanese a la cartes and they were all great. The Carnival buffet and Castaways was always amazing with enough selection for all of us. The Carnival buffet has different theme nights. We loved the Dominican night; Dominican soup is the best!
We already miss the amazing people at this resort and the excellent service! We would definitely return to this resort!

Room Tip: We loved having a pool view room. We were located on the main floor right next to the preferred lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were a party of 15 people and our time at Now Larimar was awesome and unforgettable, those are the best words that describe our vacation, from the moment we arrived with all the kids we had an amazing experinece and we definitely plan to come back in the future. All the services were first class and the people were the greatest. I can´t mention all the the names of the people that made our stay great but a few of them were Scooby Doo from the entertainment team that made our pool time fun, Anyeli from the room service who was very kind, Rihana from the entertainment team that played archery with my son, the staff from the Discovery Club and Elena that was everywhere and always taking care of everyone. I can honestly say that all the personnel took good care of us and all the kids in our party had a lot of fun.
The resort: grounds, pools,games, ocean were all beautiful, clean and in good conditions. The food was great, specially the restaurants at night like the Italian, French, Mexican, American, Japanese.
This vacation is in our memories forever and I definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.
A special thanks to our friend Ricardo Dominguez, Managing Director, that was really kind and made sure we had an excellent time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We started our trip on 29th november and go back on 13th december. We had a great time at Now Larimar! Our room had a beautiful ocean view, the service was excellent - everywhere, and the pool and the beach were awesome, too! Sometimes we had little surprises like cheese & wine, dominican rum or sweets at our room. Special thanks to Tony Pacheco, our favorite barkeeper (Tortuga swim up bar). We had a very good time and we will definitely go again with Now!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Address: Av. Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#2 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 822
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life's demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bavaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury(R) escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.