We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Ocean Blue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bavaro
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“stay at Ocean Blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited Ocean Blue from Jan 22, -29, 2015.
this is the third time we have been there. Always enjoyed it, but this time had 2 concierges from Apple named Erick and Noel that went above and beyond to take care of us. They were excellent, from the dinner on the beach to tour of kitchen and private dinner with tour of the kitchens. Building 5 was good, close to pool and beach. The whole area is very clean, and all the restaurants are excellent. Every one we met was so friendly. Always a smile on their face.
We took our whole family there last March, and they are going back in March as they also enjoyed it very much.
Already missing Erick and Noel's smiling faces and the warm sun.
Jim and L inda R

Room Tip: If handicapped, ask for first floor as there are no elevators. Rooms 2 and 3 are closer to restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,465
    2,283
    853
    396
    301
See reviews for
2,714
2,457
73
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went with my parents and wasn't sure how much fun that would be but I had the time of my life! The entertainers made the trip. They were always engaging the people and I had tons of fun dancing with the guys, especially Minime along with hanging out with him throughout the days. I definitely plan on going back as soon as I can. I loved it. Many food variations and tons of things to do and a wonderful beach. No complaints here!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel Staff did everything they could to make sure all our needs were taken care of, including a night time call just to check on room status. The pool and beach were very clean and offer just the right place to relax. When dining at the buffet the crew of Hanoy, Ruben, and Carb will take care of all your every need, while treating you like family.
On two nights vendors came in to sell there wears. They were polite and would leave you alone when you said no thank you. However I felt their was just to many of them.

Room Tip: Make sure that you read the water usage card in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband I and traveled along with 90 other people to this resort to attend a beautiful beach front wedding. Before our trip we reviewed the resort, with decent reviews we were feeling confident in our journey. However, from previous experiences we decided to upgrade our room to the "Honeymoon Suite" to have a little more room and gain the "Privileged" status that the resort offers (which is a real joke).

The honeymoon suite was less than satisfying, and I do not mean that in a high maintenance sort of way. Yes, it was larger than the other standard rooms, it had an outdoor shower that was somewhat pointless, a sitting area that was located in the loft area so it never gets used. It did have a beautiful ocean view, which we lucked out getting as the others didn't have. The room was really dark and gloomy, and very damp and musty smelling. This was a common trend among all the rooms in the resort according to the rest of the travelers. The rooms never cooled below 25 degrees C, the cleaning staff never left an appropriate amount of waters or beverages unless they had been tipped and then you would receive copious amounts.

The beaches have beautiful white sand, with unlimited amounts of cigarette buts mixed in. That was really fun for the families traveling with young children. There isn't much of a beach as it has been washed away, but there is a sandy area with lots of chairs and the ocean is a tranquil blue.

The food was less than average. The buffet and the Italian restaurant were by far the best on the property. We had a horrible experience at the "romantic" restaurant. WOW, was that an eye opener.... I ordered fish and a ceaser salad. I still to this day am unsure what I received. We purchased a $15 CAD bottle of wine for $42 USD just to have some real wine. Unless you have privileged status the wine that is included tastes like poison, you could honestly make better wine in your basement at home. The privileged wine is drinkable, but nothing special. Side note: You can not make reservations at the restaurants unless you pay for this privileged status which is unfortunate. We would have to book large parties, so all our friends could join u for dinner. Or you would line up and wait outside until a table opened up.

There are two large pools in the middle of the resort, both with pools bars. They were clean and drinks were decent. Again, the liquor was different for us then our friends. If "premium" booze doesn't matter to you then it wouldn't be worth the extra money. (Premium here is not grey goose, its absolute vodka just to give you an idea)

The hotel staff was um... not very helpful in general. I wont disregard some of the great servers we did come across like Julio. He was pleasant and helpful and always outgoing and friendly. I found that most of the staff could not speak English, or very little English. So it became very frustrating to try and get anything you may need. For example we leave at 4 pm for the airport and checkout is at 12pm. We were told we could call day of to schedule a late checkout, after trying to pre book this days before. So we call day of first thing in the morning, and they tell us we can not have a late check out because they are unsure if someone has booked our room? Um, how are you unsure if someone has booked our room? We knew we were booked for 6 months and all of a sudden now you don't know when people book? This was a common excuse among the staff as the rest of our group called for late checkouts. With the language barrier and no one wanting to help, everyone is very frustrated.

Do not book a wedding here if you are considering. The wedding planner should be fired. I was not the bride, just in the wedding party. However, no bride should have to deal with that amount of stress and confusion the their big day. Especially considering the cost, and being the most detailed oriented bride I've ever came across there should have been no mishaps. This wedding planner was asking the bride questions minutes before ceremony, things that she had confirmed months ago via email. Anyways, painful.

All in all, with the money we spent to come here ($5000 ish CAD Dollars), I am highly disappointed in this resort. I truly hope if you have booked you have a better experience then us and the rest of our group. If you have yet to book, I suggest exploring other options.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The beach here was excellent! Clean, sandy and you could walk a long way on it. Everyone who worked at the resort was friendly and helpful. You have many food type options (some better than others) but for the most part it was great. They have free Wifi in your room and around the resort. Mike's Cafe was a wonderful, relaxing spot for an expresso. The pool areas were clean and there was a lot of space to choose from. Try a Dirty Monkey from one of the many bars around the beach or pool! Overall, we had a great relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lori F,

On behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 we would like to thank you for selecting our hotel and giving us the opportunity to serve you. As well we will like to let you know that we are glad that you enjoyed the service given by our employees and the rest of the facilities. We will continue improving our level of service day by day thanks to comments received from people like you. Thank you for sharing tips your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were part of a wedding group of 44 people. What a lovely hotel. It is a smaller hotel but so well laid out.. There is like a town square with the lobby at one side, all the a la carte restaurants across from a water feature and on the sides the theatre, casino,bowling alley and gift shop. There were also so many little tables and chairs to sit at to relax or have a drink. The a la cartes seemed like a street of restaurants. We ate at the diner and the Italian one. Italian was excellent, the diner was fine. The buffet was also great,plenty of variety from seafood,freshly prepared to the grill station, the pork was exceptionally good.they also had gluten free ,plenty of fresh salads, and plenty of desserts. Service was excellent and the wait staff very friendly and eager to please.
The villas were behind all the restaurants and situated on both sides of the pools. I am an ocean girl so can not comment on the pools, but there were two,quiet and activity as well as a kiddies pool. There was always something going on around the pool.
The beachfront was not large, they had a lot of chairs and even though they asked people not to save chairs, it was still done. People were just moving towels aside to sit anyway. We did not have a problem as we are early risers. It was a great beach if you liked to walk,you could walk about 45 minutes each way.
The small buffet at the beach was great but we enjoyed the BBQ that they did every day at the beach.from tacos, to BBQ chicken,to the paella, all was excellent !!!!! Also the buccaneer shack where they served hamburgers, hot dogs and tacos was great,there was also a covered area overlooking the beach with picnic tables to enjoy your lunch.
My only suggestion was to have a few more garbage cans at the beach area.
Our room was large with two beds, with a pull out couch,table and chairs and a balcony. The room was spotless!!!!!! We tip the maid and beer fridge person each day. No complaints about the room at all. Bathroom floor tends to be slippery if wet.
This is one of the cleanest resorts I have been too. The people who worked here were very friendly.

Room Tip: We overlooked the back of the hotel so our room was very quiet. We also like to not be on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 we would like to thank you for your most wonderful review and for sharing with others you amazing experience here with us. We are also glad that you found the property beautiful, food delicious and the staff friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time visit to DR and chose this hotel from other reviews. The hotel is a good 4 star and reasonable. The food is good, the speciality restaurants are very good and the service when we were there was great. The hotel rooms are spacious and fine, maybe a little dated but still clean. What you will find is that you need to walk to get to the main attraction areas, or take the trolley bus. Both are fun and you can walk between all the other apartments if it's raining. Drinks are all inclusive with known brands, ie Jack D, Gordon's, baileys etc included. You will be invited most days to look at the privilege club, we declined......everyday. The gist of it is to pay about £5000 and then you get upgraded rooms and about 50% off the rate for the next 20 years at any of their hotels. Not bad but I wanted a holiday ...not a 2 hr sales pitch. UK travellers go into block 8 and 9 and these are nice. But beware the noisy late night returners at 3,4 am who think nothing to shouting or singing at each other, mainly our colonial friends from across the pond. The beach is lovely and the staff work hard to clear the seaweed daily. Beware the free boat trip......unless you want to be taken to a new complex and shown around for 3 hours.....these guys love to sell. The beach bar is great and you can sit there as the sun goes down across the hotel. Note... The sea is the Atlantic and east facing, not the carribean, still warm but about 3 degrees less than the west side. Lovely set of shops to the left of the beach but well overpriced, pictures sold in there are at the airport when you leave at about 80% discount. Anyway back to beach....go right, past the water sport area and you can walk for miles without any hassle. Lots of sports and games on the beach by the entertainment team, lunch at the beach restaurant is brilliant, the pools are huge and have the swim up bars, plenty of chlorine I suspect. In the main complex are the casino, shops, restaurants and bars. The shops sell everything....antibiotics, pain killers, eye drops, gifts, crisps etc etc....all quite expensive. The casino is fun, professional and not dodgy. Piano lounge is a relaxing spot. So all in all I can say this is a great hotel with Great staff, Good food, Flowing drinks, Entertainment and comfortable rooms. Will I go again? Yes

Room Tip: Pool view a must, ground floor is fine....if you don't like stairs. UK travellers are Block 8 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Chris N,

On behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 we would like to thank you for your most wonderful review and for sharing with others you amazing experience here with us. We are also glad that you found the property beautiful, food delicious and the staff of ocean blue friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the Resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.