We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute Vacation w/ my Beau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bavaro
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great last minute Vacation w/ my Beau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights. Overall it was a good experience. This is my 3rd time in D.R. We stayed in the" regular room" not privilege. I recommend buildings 4/5 they are in the Middle of the property and centrally located to town center and pool/ beach areas

*******Pros:**********
- Everyone understood English, I have been to hotels in Punta Cana that cater to Spanish only speakers and it is very hard to communicate what you want. I speak and understand Spanish a little but did not have to.
- The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained.
- There are 2 pools, both with swim up bars. The pool closer to the beach had activities and louder music. The bartenders at the pool were good. We spent most of our time at the 2nd pool and always gave 5$ for the day just because. Julio, 1 of the bartenders was SO SWEET AND NICE, Always refilling my drink without asking him.
- Pools were so large and never looked crowded.
- The beach was BEAUTIFUL, as the water is awesome in Punta Cana. it was a "smaller" beach but plenty of chairs and never had to reserve one. We would move from the beach to the pool everyday. The sand in the ocean was soft and the water was clear.
- The food was constant, you could always find something to eat. The pool always served some sort of lunch everyday and the beach has a restaurant you can eat lunch at even though it says privilege on it. The main buffet serves breakfast 7-10:30- Lunch 12:00-4 and then a dinner, that is usually themed every night until 10:30 pm ( Italian, American, Asian, Mexican etc.)
The Specialty restaurants were good, open,6:30- 10:30. We ate at the Italian, Steakhouse, and Mexican places. No reservations, which is awesome. and pretty good selection of food. After 11 pm the Sports bar has snacks you can eat as well ( chicken wings and sandwiches ) Which happened a lot for us because we were drinking all day :)
The buffet was pretty decent food as well. They had a large selection.
- There are constant shuttles running up and down for people who don't like to walk.. which it is not at ALL a large resort to complain about walking far. Completely manageable.
- There was a " town center" with all the restaurants and bowling alley and lobby bar along with the entertainment show hall. I liked that because everything was all together and action every night. You could walk to the center and spend your whole night.
- The disco was good... not huge but they are open late and it is definitely worth checking out. It is very dark and club like.
- Overall, happy and helpful staff. Crystal in the lobby bar was always a doll to us.
- Check in and Check out were easy.
- Free wifi in the Lobby.
- Free Safe in the room ( use it whenever you leave)
- Large shower/ tub with double sinks in bathroom
- 1 Free game of bowling per stay. 10$ A GAME AFTER, AND YOU must bring socks with you to play.
- 30 min ride from the airport

*******Cons:**********
-They offer "free kayaks and sailing boats" but whenever we asked, the beach guys did not seem to want to make the effort to pull them out. and said it was too rough..( not true). They offer para sailing and other activities that you have to pay for... and I heard the 1 employee say that " No one wants to buy anything, they only want free" Which was rude since the Hotel claims its included. and he obviously didn't know I understood Spanish.
- Walking down the beach was annoying with all the hagglers trying to sell you gifts in their shops. My boyfriend and I just wanted to stroll and enjoy the walk, which was hard at times with constant nagging to buy things. But just wave and say No thanks and keep walking.
- Sometimes on the actual hotel grounds this constant nagging to buy things occurred with actual Ocean Blue "managers" or whoever they were, again, We found it annoying but just said no and went about our day.
- Room was large but outdated, some ceiling tile peeling off, some furniture damaged and beds were semi hard. Air condition worked fine and we didn't see any bugs. We weren't there to hang out in rooms though. HUGE BALCONY which was nice.

In my opinion its not worth to upgrade to Privilege. You get " better" chairs on the beach and upgraded alcohol, aka just give a few bucks here & there and you can pretty much have whatever you want.
and it says a better room, but spoke with people and they agreed the room was not better.

We paid 400 per person for 5 nights ( not including airfare ) For the money, it is very well worth it. We ate and drank all day long. Overall, I recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: Champagne is included :) Room block 4 and 5 are in middle of property and central to town center an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,289
    2,199
    825
    389
    291
See reviews for
2,626
2,382
67
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just got back from 2 weeks vacation at this resort and overall it was a decent experience but we probably won't return to this hotel unless we can confirm it was refurbished/rehab. We heard so many nice stories about how good the resorts are in RD and we were a bit disappointed with what we found at Ocean Blue & Sand - we booked based on internet reviews instead of friends recommendations so I'm guessing in the end it was our mistake, next time we'll probably pick one of the Iberostar or Melia Caribe.
Pros:
- Very nice grounds, landscaping is beautiful with a superb layout and very well maintained.
- Nice pools
- Free champagne for members
- Staff is very helpful and friendly, except the servers.
Cons:
- Extremely worn out rooms. First 2 rooms that were offered to us were heavily molded, in the very first one (4121) literally half of the ceiling was black molded... we explained the reception that we can't stay in such a room, especially with an infant and they changed it without problems, but only to give us a moderately molded room - only grey ceiling and only in few areas, mainly on the ceiling. Only way to finally get a livable room was to upgrade to their member privilege program but even that room was smelling like mold for the first day although it was way better cleaned/prepared for new guests. The furniture was beat up, even in the member's rooms (2 buildings out of 10). The only newer pieces of furniture were the 2 balcony chairs. Bathroom fixtures were very old except the toilet which we couldn't use for half day because of a water leak exactly on top of it (sic!)... we called guest service and I tried to explained to them that we can't use the toilet but they didn't seem to care more than ... "sure, we'll send somebody"; one hour later I decided to go "find" somebody and drag him in to the room so they can realize the inconvenience of being in a room with an infant and no toilet.
- Only a handful of servers were nice and know what they are doing, and some were straight nasty (Forbes). On our entire trip we only saw 2 servers that actually went out of their way to make guests happy, even when they were acting as supervisors (one was Algenys and I didn't remember the other name) but that's quite low for how many staff members they have. The bartenders were OK but not great except for the ones at the lobby bar who were always attentive and entertaining.
- The beach is very small, especially in the members area and they crammed so many beds and loungers that was very very difficult to move around except for one path in the middle.
- There are 2 boat rental/parking/whatever places on the left and on the right of this resort's beach so there's always a constant move of fast, close and polluting boats right next to the people who swim in the ocean. At one time I literally stepped into one large oil pocket on the bottom of the sea, about 30 feet from the shore. Some of the boats will even ignore the buoys, and come dangerously close to the people that are in the water, at high speeds. Noise aside, this is not a very pleasant and relaxing background when you want to enjoy the ocean at Ocean Blue.
- Only two restaurants had AC... ?!? The Mexican one and the so called American but here the food was so terrible that it didn't even matter, although they had good service. The members only restaurant was even worse, at breakfast was especially bad and after two attempts we gave up and although we had the members breakfast area extremely close to our room we preferred to go at the other end of the resort and have breakfast at the buffet, because of the service.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this resort to anyone, even if you pay extra for the privilege accommodation. We enjoyed our vacation overall because of the location, weather and nice landscape but we will chose another hotel if we ever return to RD.

Room Tip: Avoid building no. 4 at all cost (personal experience) but from what staff members told us, all buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I are spending a 9 day honeymoon here and have had the most amazing experience of our lives!! We opted to get the privilege package and have not regretted a single moment. The food is amazing from the buffet to the private restaurants! The staff is very hospitable and have made sure our stay here was great. I would like to give a special thanks to Willy Wonka who is probably the best entertainer here! Also Rohalio in guest services and Oscar our daily waiter! We will be definitely returning here next year!

Room Tip: The privilege sweets are multi-level and very roomy. Plenty to do in and out of the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned back to UK from a 10 day stay here. It was awesome. Rooms spotless (ignore the reviews saying cockroaches that is utter crap!) even the grounds outside were spotless, there was always people cleaning! Rooms a bit tired, but who cares you aren't there to admire the paintwork. Also the block next to us was getting painted so I presume all rooms are being redecorated.
Drinks great, especially from Sexy Black! he had our drinks poured and waiting before we even asked :-) also Maria and Crystal were fab! always singing and dancing. Food you could not fault. At the buffet there was a pizza station ,pasta station, burger/hot dog station,fish station, steak/meat grill,salad bar, soups, before you even got to the buffet food! The buffet food was vast in selection, rice,potatoes,all sorts of veg, beef,chicken,lentils you name it! All delicious! Then there was fresh fruits,cakes and ice creams. If that isn't enough for you there are another 6 restaurants! Mexican was my favourite followed by the French, steakhouse, Italian, American Diner and Dominican in that order. You can also pay extra to dine in the seafood restaurant but we didn't go.
Entertainment was great too! They leave you alone if you just want to chill so not harassing. Willy wonka, Jack, Alejandro and Mini me are fab! Games a great laugh my husband won 3 bottles of rum. Night time shows were good too esp the Magic show, loved it!
Beach stunning! Don't go left though, there are people selling and although they leave you alone when you are firm it does ruin a peaceful stroll.
Pool was so warm and vast! The weekends the pool got manic with 'locals' and was wild! But once they go its fine again,back to peace and quiet. There are loungers in the pool at one end to chill. Loads of sunbeds we never needed to wake up early to reserve one.
Lastly don't leave anything lying out in your room. We stupidly returned from a trip,dumped our bags and went to pool. When we returned money was missing from my husbands wallet. There is a safe and we should have used this, but it does leave a bad taste in your mouth knowing someone has stolen from you. Reception didn't help much but hey ho you live and learn!
I would def recommend this hotel to everyone. My husband and I had a great holiday we will always remember it! (and in hoping to talk him into taking me again lol)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thanks, in the name of the 18 family members that accompanied me to celebrate the grandmother 81 birthday, we had a marvelous time.

I have been in this hotel more than 20 times and every time is better.

We will be back again soon.

Excellent customer service, food, drinks, rooms, every things.

Would like to say thanks to the Reservation Manager (Ang...), Public Relation Manager (Ju....) y Sales Manager (Ken....) for doing that our stay unforgettable. You are the people that no one sees behind the scene that makes all possible too. Also, Wilfredo at the buffet restaurant, great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in september, we booked the standard room.

Firstly and briefly the good -
Contrary to other reviewers we didn't get any pressure from vendors, or the guys selling the timeshare, just a polite no thank you, smile, and keep walking and they don't bother you.
The grounds are stunning, and very well maintained.
The pools are huge, clean, and lots of sun loungers to go around.
Great choice of food at the buffets, fresh and hot, we particularly enjoyed the lunch buffet at the beach. We loved the Mexican restaurant - by far the friendliest staff.
Our UK reps were very helpful, and available in resort, for 3 hrs each morning and afternoon.
The accomodation is spread out and only three stories, so although it is a large resort it doesn't feel overpowering. The buildings are thoughtfully laid out, and the communal areas are very clean. The lobby bar is lovely, open and airy - free WiFi in the lobby slow but reliable.

Secondly the no so good.....
Despite what we heard about great service, we did find that getting drinks in the buffet style restaurants was a bit of a chore, and lots of shouting in Spanish between waiter to waiter in the restaurant (not very relaxing).
Itermittant drinks service at poolside, unlike other resorts, where your glass is hardly empty before the offer is made to refill.
The room, was very tired and worn. Not at all as polished as the photos would lead you to believe. Tables, drawers, desk scuffed. The bathroom fittings were old and worn, (rusting chrome mostly). However our air-con was very effective.
Don't bother with roomservice, dry cold food without fail.

All in all for the money we paid we were underwhelmed, probably wouldn't go back to the Dominican, but if they do spend some money on the rooms, and customer service training this could be a very nice hotel, as the setting and layout was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank You so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10, for your wonderful review and for sharing with others your pros and cons about you vacation.

We most gladly will like to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first all inclusive and we had a blast! Room was nice, grounds very well kept and the staff was super friendly. Food at the buffets was plentiful, a la cartes were ok. We recomend this place all the time now!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

Once more, is been a pleasure to have you in our property. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time with us.

Best regards

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the Resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.