We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in paridise!! (may 2012)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
windsor
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great week in paridise!! (may 2012)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first all inclusive and we had a blast! Room was nice, grounds very well kept and the staff was super friendly. Food at the buffets was plentiful, a la cartes were ok. We recomend this place all the time now!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

Once more, is been a pleasure to have you in our property. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time with us.

Best regards

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,306
    2,203
    826
    389
    292
See reviews for
2,629
2,388
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,658)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from an outstanding week with a big family group in this outstanding resort. We were helped by it being off-season which meant at times we felt like we had the enormous pool almost to ourselves but this place is really excellent. The facilities are superb and the staff are even better. Special mention to Alejandro who coordinates all the "Crazy Games" and in fact most entertainment who was outstanding. Many all inclusives offer poor food but I had no complaints and didn't expect haut-cuisine either but there was good variation, decent evening options and certainly plenty of fresh salads and fruit for the hot weather. The rooms are perhaps a little "average" and plain and the beds were certainly hard but I would recommend this resort and hope we might return one day! Thanks to all at Ocean Blue & Sand from the Gordon/Villagran/Cabezas family!

Room Tip: Villas 5 or 8 are probably most centrally located and be sure to try some Mama Juana digestif!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.
Once more, is been a pleasure to have you in our property. And that employees mention by you, will receive your regards and will be recognized for their good work .We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing property so you can have another excellence time here with us

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the lousiest stay ever.I had bugs in my bed and cockroaches in the room.The guys at the respective Bars were so good but the rooms could certainly use a little more maintenance and better cleaning.The beach was beautiful the entertainment was limited.The food was great and very well presented so meal times were my favorite.When I notified the desk about the bugs they had someone fumigate the room but i still had bugs and roaches that night.I was not even offered a room change so there goes the customer service.The communication was lousy as call never came through to the room and anytime I verbalized concerns the operator addressed me like I was crazy and did not know what I was talking about.However I knew well in advance that communication was an issue and therefore expected it.

Room Tip: I would not stay at this hotel If I had to do it all over again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clean rooms, GREAT service, and lovely atmosphere. Best entertainment I've ever experienced...staff was exceptional. Very engaging and accommodating, but not annoying. You have to meet Willy Wonka, Daniel in the bowling alley, and Mini Me...very fun staff!

Room Tip: Villa 8 was great, but I recommend spending a little extra for Privilege rooms in Villas 6 and 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

hey i like every thing and especial the animations ... and willi wanka is excellent staff ... the restaurant is so good ... everyfood is good all time .and mandila is a good person .... i am going to come back soon because this hotel is really h10 and i think is the number one in punta cana ...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I loved everything about this place, except the food. The food was weird. They have the happiest employees who will go above and beyond for you. Just beware of the time share scam though, they try to suck you in and then get pissed off at you when you say no sorry I don't have $12,000 to give you for a timeshare. Other then that it was a wonderful experience. Beautiful pools and villas, incredible staff and wonderful bartenders! I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we spent a week at the resort and the first day was amazing!!!!! the customer service was amazing for the first night they had much to offer but as the time went on they became less tentative. we brought American express travelers checks and cash but once we ran out of cash and tried to use the travelers checks no one in the resort would take them and they really didn't even try to help us to resolve our problem, also our telephone was broken in the room and every day I did report it and it never was fixed, so that was the bad part of our trip, we dealt with it and got past it but left us a little annoyed. the pools were great and a few of the bartenders and staff where great. would I go back again? I think I would but I would be more aware next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the Resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.