We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Ocean Perks
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bavaro
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my family have just been to this hotel for 2 weeks from the 9th of July and had a really good time.

Rooms:
The room was nice, we had two double beds and loads of room! Also the fridge was stocked daily with bottled water and fizzy drinks (however it made a loud buzzing noise so we unplugged it)
The bathroom had lots of towels but our maid did leave hair everywhere, but the shower was strong and the bath had lots of power jets. Also the balcony was really good and we had a lovely view of the pool and gardens. The air con was brilliant, the room was always a nice temperature even when we turned it off.

Pool and beach:
There were two really big pools one was really noisy so we stayed at the quieter one, it was always very very clean and the swim up pool bars and jacuzzis were great! The beach was pure white sand and full of palm trees, the sea was a little wavy though, also you can walk all the way down the beach which was nice for long walks. Also there was never a fight for sun beds on the beach or by the pool but there weren't many umbrellas.

Food and drink:
The buffet was great, there was food for everyone but the pudding was only good on some days, they cooked fresh meat and fish and plus there was lots of chips and pizza but salads as well. What we all miss now we are home is the amazing fruit, there was loads of it and nice fresh juices everyday! DO NOT bother with the a la cartes the service was so bad, they lost our orders and bought the wrong food tour table! The Mexican was the worst they even put packet crackers with the starters! Also the steak house wAs raved about but it was not good what so ever! The Italian was ok but they didn't do pizza, we also made the mistake of going to route66 (a American type fast food place) it was yuck .
Mikes coffee was the best thing, there was coffees frozen drinks and hot chocolates all day round and seating inside and out! Unfortunately there was only one bar to go to at night in the lobby but it was fine And we didn't need to tip to get our drinks fast, the cocktails were really good!
Tip: the a las cartes say they don't need to be booked, what a lie, they had a special secret list of people booking and they turned you away most nights even if there was loads of free tables, we even payed for a birthday cake for my sister so we could get into the steak house and they forgot about the cake!!! So overall don't go to them because they are a waste of time

General:
The staff were really nice in mikes, the lobby and the buffet, but there English wasn't very good! The entertainment staff did shows and activities all day which was also very good! The maids were ok, some were a little rude. The weather was good, not to humid and a nice breeze. There was not many English people, but a lot of Americans and Puerto Ricans. Also there was really noisy people shouting in the middle of the night. The hotel was in 10 different villas which was nice, and the gardens and layout was pretty!!

Overall we had a good holiday and will definitely be returning to the Dominican, but maybe to a different hotel:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,202
    2,182
    812
    387
    288
See reviews for
2,597
2,346
64
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,639)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just a quick review, we are having a great time at Ocean Blue in Punta Cana with our new friendsWillie Wonka and Mini Me from the entertainment crew. The hotel is great in terms of food and having a good time. People and all staff are friendly. The staff work very hard to make sure you are having a good time.
We went to the boogie night yesterday and started with the mini disco with my little daughter who loved it. Followed by an ice breaker and a show. Lots of drink and great atmosphere. If you come to this hotel you will not be bored in the day or the evenings.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are convenient if you are a young family. The rooms in villa 1,2 and 7 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything was amazing. All of the hotel staff were so friendly and just made the trip even better. I don't know what it would have been like without them. The shows were very exciting and cultured. Especially 'willy wonky' and 'mini me'. The disco music was great as it was not terrible music. The pool is very clean and there is a lot of entertainment beside the pool. I enjoyed that and they made me play a game which was interesting. The people who stay here are also really great, they are so friendly and make you feel like you're part of a big Dominican family. The beach is in a great position to the villas as it is easily accessible. The restaurants all look very pretty beside the lake. There is also this weird looking bird that just cheers everyone up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We added on to a group the last week of June 2013. A Family of 7 my Husband, sister teenage kids and adult nieces. Everyone enjoyed the resort. There is plenty to do for all ages. We departed LAX to Panama then to the DR on Copa Airlines. I will never do that again. The flight was brutal and Copa Air was not the friendliest.

We have traveled to many all inclusive resorts in the Riviera Maya/Cancun, Jamaica. This is our second time back to the DR 1st time at this resort.

The front desk service was pleasant at arrival and we were checked in quickly. As the week went on we had several questions and some of the front desk staff was not so friendly. Take plenty of singles for tipping because they will not give it up at the front desk. We tipped all the bar tenders and waiters throughout the week as they work very hard to serve you and are very friendly.

The rooms were very clean everyday but our maid was very irritated when we asked for extra towels is as though we asked for the impossible. We still tipped her at the end of the week.

We had no problem getting beach towels or chairs by the beach or pool. The grounds are very well kept the pools are clean. The beach is very nice and the shopping on the beach is very convenient. We enjoyed the lobby bar in the evening, the sports bar and casino. We also bowled and played pool one night it was fun. The spa staff is very nice and the massaged were great and reasonably priced.

The food is good I but by the end of the week you get tired of it. The lunch by the beach had a variety. The dinner restaurants were good. I did not like that there were no reservations. Some were easy to get into. The Italian one was very good but our waiter was rude so half his tip went to the guy that brought our dinner who was doing all the work and was very friendly. The steak house was a ridiculous challenge. We tried getting in everyday and finally got in the last day we were there. The poor girl trying to seat people it was not her fault but she got yelled at every night by someone trying to get a table. Our waiter that night was horrible, so half his tip that I didn't want to leave him in the first place went to the girl seating everyone she deserved it.

They do allow reservation to the people who purchase the privilege package. For some reason this steak house is the most popular not sure why it good but not worth all the hassle. So if you don't get in the other restaurants are just as good.

As for the "privilege package" I would not spend the extra money. The beach are may have had better cabanas but there were sand bags all in front of it. As for the premium liquor at the bar my husband and son got to know all the bar tenders and once they knew they were tipper they always had the premium liquor. We had a great spot on the beach everyday with a clear view.

We did the snorkeling tour and swam with the sharks and sting rays and we also did the Outback Safari. Both were great and we were all glad we experienced it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We travelled as a young couple in June 2013. This was our first trip to the Caribbean, and we had a fantastic holiday.

The room was large and spacious. The bed was very big and also very comfortable. The room also had a sofa, table, desk, mini fridge and television. The bathroom was lovely, also very big, with two sinks, and a bath and shower combination. Our room was on the third floor and had a large balcony with a table and chairs, with a view of the pool and surrounding areas (Sea view rooms are only available for privilege guests). Our room was in villa 9 and was a 5 minute walk from reception and restaurant area, and was very quiet in the evening. Fantastic air con in the room too.

The food was between good and excellent. The breakfast is fantastic with a wide range of food available, with fresh bread and fruit, as well as hot food such as eggs, bacon and omelettes. The lunch time food is a little on the repetitive side, basically pasta, burgers, nachos, pizza and salad, as well as ice cream and fruit. It is nice food but very boring after being there for two weeks. Dinner is good in the main buffet restaurant, but the themed restaurants and much better! we visited 6 out 8 (Missed the French and Caribbean) and all served lovely food. You have to get to the restaurants early or you can wait for between 30-60 minutes for a table (but you can go to the bar and come back again when your table is ready).

The staff are all so helpful and kind, they cannot do enough for you. Everyone from the staff at reception, to the house keeping staff and bar tenders were all so helpful. We tipped all the people who stood out to us at the end of the holiday, just a few dollars to show our appreciation. TIP; If a gardener or roundsmen offers you a coconut take up the offer, he will climb the tree in front of you cut a coconut off then cut it open and you can drink the milk from inside, amazing! (we gave him $5 for his trouble).

The beach and pool are both lovely. We prefer the pool, but went on the beach too.

Overall a lovely resort and very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just returned from staying in The Ocean Blue Hotel and what a lovely holiday I have had with my friends. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Buffett restaurant put on a "Theme Night" every night and plenty of food to choose from. Couple of the restaurants on site had an English barrier with the drinks and the ordering of the food. The swimming pools have a wow factor. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels every day if you remember to put them in the bath the night before. We went on 2 Excursions "Caribbean Cruising Saona" WOW WOW WOW a must do trip, loved the speedboat, snorkelling, holding a starfish and swimming in the Caribbean sea and coming back on a catamaran, the lobster BBQ was nice but down to individual taste, only down side on this trip was the ants on the beach, loads of them. The "Outback Safari" was another WOW trip. Winston was our tour guide and what a funny and lovely and helpful guide he was. On this trip take colouring pads and crayons as you visit a school and see the children and this is a greatly appreciated or give a donation.. A very very bumpy ride into the mountains with a few stops along the way including a lunch. We only did 10 days on this holiday which was enough as there is nowhere to go outside the hotel not even for a stroll after dinner. The shanti huts on the beach selling items and you must barter. The whole holiday has been great from start to finish but have suffered diarrhoea when there and have it worst now back home with stomach pains also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I visited Ocean Blue and Sand last March. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in Villa 5 which was nice because we were by the pool. Our room was cleaned daily and we especially enjoyed the turn down service at night. Our daughters (4 and 10) were always excited to to see what kind of flowers were left as decor. on their beds. The only down fall to a room by the pool is that teenagers made noise at night. However a call to the front desk cleared that up right away.
FOOD- We really liked the buffet. Since we were with kids we didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurants. Many stations cooked food on the spot for you. We loved the seafood station (From tuna steaks to shrimp and calamari) The buffet always had food items for the kids.(If the kids are happy, mom and dad are happy) We always sat in JOSÉ FULGEUCIO'S section for our meals. José and his team were wonderful. They are such hard workers. They were very attentive to our needs and our children's needs. Thanks for making our stay pleasurable.
The resort has a few trolleys constantly going around the property to pick up or drop off guests. We really appreciated this service because our 4 year would fall asleep. (sleeping children are heavy)
One day the resort rented jumbo pool slides for the kids which was a nice surprise. There were always plenty of seats by the pool or the beach. However, if you get up a little earlier, you can sit where you want.
I think our favourite amentity at the resort was the coffee shop. We loved it. We would visit it after every meal. Our daughters loved the iced drinks (the staff would prepare whatever kind of drink for them minus the coffee)
The arcade/bowling alley was fun.
I guess the only downsides are the students on Spring Break and the Time share representatives. The highschool kids are fine. It is the older college groups that could get loud. But then again its their break as well. It doesn't matter where you are at, there will always be kids on Spring Break.
There were also men in white shirts walking around trying to sell time shares for the resort. They were fine. They were not as bothersome as some others have mentionned. We have to understand that selling timeshare is their job. Just let them know that you are not interested and they will leave you alone.
Don't forget to tip. A few dollars go a long way. The service staff work around the clock; be it cleaning, entertainment or in the restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose a Villa closer to the front desk. If you want more entertainment choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the Resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.