We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Blue & Sand to your Saves list
Ocean Blue & Sand
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Santiago, República Dominicana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for the price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed there in August 2011. The room was average, actually below my expectations for a 5 star hotel, the food was ok and the place was pretty clean. So i give it 4/5. the property is huge and check in was fast and vip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10 for your vacation and for sharing your comments in regards to your stay with us. We are happy you found our resort clean and comfortable.

It was a pleasure to have you in our property. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our relaxing hotel so you can have another excellence time with us.

Best regards


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,873
    2,476
    921
    410
    312
See reviews for
2,931
2,656
82
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,881)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This resort was beautiful. My sister and I are 18 and 22 and we had a great time. The resort has several restaurants that all had excellent food and the buffet was good as well. I highly recommend the steakhouse and Italian restraunts. Make sure you reserve at the steak house early, it fills up fast! The entertainment staff was excellent, especially mini me! Make sure you say hi to him he's the best! The disco and lobby bar are the place to be at night and were always a good time! I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank You so much on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10, for your most wonderful review and for sharing with others you Amazing experience here with us. We are also glad that you found the property cozy, the food delightful and really enjoyable along with our facility and beautiful environment. We will give your regards to mine me on your behalf and encourage him to continue such a wonderful job.

We most gladly will like to welcome you and your friends again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had amazing time! The food is fantastic! So many options. The shows were great! Very entertaining! The staff was so friendly and welcoming always can put a smile and laugh on your face! The beach was absolutely beautiful big, clean, pretty! Excellent service in everything! Had an excellent time especially with mini me! Would definitely recommend this resort great for families with kids and couples!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Please receive from ocean blue and sand by h10 our warmest regards and gratitude for the positive comments made by you on this web site.

Knowing the level of satisfaction that we have achieve in our clients encourage us to keep up the good work and exceed your expectation with effort every day.

We hope to receive you a once more here at ocean blue and Sand.

Best regards.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was one of my best experiences. I couldn't thank more the staff of entertainment and overall attention from the staff. Entertainment made the excitement if staying at this resort. Thanks to miniman,willy wonky, candy man, Joan, and everyone else in the staff that made this vacation and everyone else's worth it. The enthusiasm of these workers are amazing they seem to love what they do and make us love them ! I can't wait to go back to this resort I felt so welcomed from everyone and so did my friends! Keep it up entertainment you guys do a very good job couldn't ask for anything better!
-Colombia, Ecuador,ny :) Jocelyn !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
First of all, we will like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 as your destination for your Holidays, we will love to have you and the rest of your family once more so you can experience another marvellous and unforgettable time here with us again, thank you for sharing your experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.

Best regards,


Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved it here the beach is to die for!
We had garden view which is not to nice please go with pool view or ocean owe you will be happier.
The food is great and the service is great too!
They have activities all day long.
Drinks are delicious please try the dory monkey it's like drinking a desert!
They have a bowling alley that lights up at night and a casino for those gamblers.
All is good here!

Room Tip: Get a pool or ocean view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are pleased to know that you, along with most of our employees, had an enjoyable stay here with us and that you found the resort most suitable for you. Thanks again for your contribution and for coming to our hotel, Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this resort from May 26-June 1. It was me, my husband and our 15mth old son. It was our 1st time traveling out of country with the baby(5th out of country resort for us) so we were nervous how it would go. We honeymooned in Punta Cana 5 years ago and LOVED it, so we knew we wanted to go back and wanted the baby to experience this awesome place and the beautiful beach with us.
The resort is awesome. Very clean. The layout was nice- almost all the resteraunts in one place, pools right outside most of the villas,beach very close to villas and pool,etc. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
Our 1st night there we had been assigned a 2nd floor room, and they do not have elevators. This wasn't a huge problem, but with the baby and all his bags and the stoller, we got sick of lugging it all up and down the steps. So the 2nd day they switched us to a ground level floor and it was perfect. If traveling with a baby I would request a ground level floor when you reserve your room just to make things easier. We had a crib delivered to us very quickly once we checked in which we appreciated. We did have to call the front desk a few times to get more towels, or towels at all.....But we usually shower 2 or 3 times a day on vacation just because of the sand and sweating from being so hot- so it was alot to keep up with.
The Wifi internet in the lobby is VERY slow- at night, impossible to connect to and definetly cant upload pictures or anything like that. We went right after breakfast and sat in the lobby to check facebook and emails to talk to family back home and that was a good time to do it cause the lobby wasnt busy and the internet was decent.
I will say( as is the case in alot of these resorts), the walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything and everyone walking about outside your room at night. The 2am partiers dont seem to care you are sleeping or have a baby in the room with you:-) We took 2 sound machines with us, one for the crib, one for us, and that helped with the noise outside alot.
The food in the resteraunts was great. Lots of choices. They were great about special requests too. I am a picky eater, and enjoyed my meals every night. The Itailian place was our favorite- SO TASTY!!! But we waited a LONG time for our meals. If we wouldnt have had the baby with us, that wouldnt have been a big deal. After that night we went to dinner at 6:30 every night and never waited in a line and were waited on and got our meals right away. That worked great with the babies scedule!! The pools were awesome. My son loved the baby pool as well as both big pools. There was plenty of lounge chairs and we always were able to find some with an umbrella. The beach was the prettiest beach we've ever seen and this was the 8th Carribean beach we've been to. The sand was so soft, and water was awesome. I even got in the ocean and I NEVER do that!!! It was clear and hardly any junk floating around.
We had photos taken on the resort. Carlos was our photographer and he did a AMAZING job. My son was totally not into taking pictures that day- wouldnt sit still, wouldnt smile, wouldnt look at the camera- yet Carlos was able to get some awesome photos that we LOVE and so do all our family members!!
We did the Marinarium snorkeling tour- It worked out well with my son. There was no charge for him and we just took his own lifevest from home.He enjoyed the glass bottom boat ride and the baby and I stayed on the boat while my husband snorkeled and we watched him. We were a little dissapointed you couldnt even see the sharks and stingrays- you had to actually snorkel into that area to see them. We did a snorkeling trip in Punta Cana 5 years ago and you could walk on a "boardwalk" type area all around the sharks and stingrays and see them and take pictures. It was a nice boat ride and Me and my son were able to get off and swim in the waist deep natural pool in the ocean which was beautiful.
We did some shopping on the beach at the local shops- Great if you know how to wheel and deal. They start very high- you can talk them down easily and if you say you're gonna walk away they start throwing in extra stuff and give you what you wanted at the price you said!! We got some great stuff!! We had 4 different shops give my son stuff for free!! Very nice people! We had a overall great experience and definetly hope to go back again someday and I would deifnetly stay at this resort again!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if traveling with babies as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
On behalf of Ocean Blue and sand by H10 we are delighted to know that out of all the other amazing resort you found our property and country very enjoyable and that we have met your expectations is for us more than a pleasure to know that you and your family had a wonderful time. We want to thank you so much for choosing us and for sharing your experience with the rest of the world.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We purchased the H10 package 3 years ago and have been 4 times since...excellent choice! Our family loves the property, staff, & everything it has to offer. We just returned from celebrating our son's 18th birthday (June 2 - June 9, 2013). I've seen excellent reviews, as well as picky reviews. This place is not your home.... when you travel, please keep that in mind. The food is excellent with many choices, however, it may not be prepared as you would for your family at home...this does not merit for a bad review for the resort. There are so many choices on the buffet, surely one can find something to satisfy them-self. We love the Mexican restaurant there--always a treat and the Privilege breakfast is so peaceful and relaxing in the mornings.

The grounds are always immaculate and the rooms are always cleaned very well each day. The pools are very clean and we really enjoy them. There has been some erosion at the beach area. The resort cannot control nature and they are dealing with this with the best resources they probably have.

THANKS to the guys with entertainment for another year of laughs and great shows! These young men obviously practice for hours in order to bring such professional entertainment to the guests. Willy Wonka is just amazing! He can dance like no other. When he's going fast, it can appear his legs are made of rubber! Always a smile on his face. Thanks for the smiles on our faces Willy! And Mini Me....he's great also, as well as Jack Michael. LOVE THESE GUYS! They work tirelessly to give the guests true entertainment.....love them during the day at the pool area. MAKES the trip worthwhile folks! Great bartenders and waitstaff at dining. Spa is fantastic! THANKS to the wonderful folks in the Privilege Lounge-they are so willing to assist you with any need you may have. THANK YOU Veronica Lobo for taking time to answer our concerns. And Elvin, you are WONDERFUL.

Our ONLY downside to this trip was when we learned, upon arrival, that Henry Pineda was not going to be there. Seems he was on vacation. Oh how our hearts sank. He is one of the butlers in the Privilege area and while the other guys are very nice, it IS NOT THE SAME WITHOUT HENRY! He is INVALUABLE to the resort! He is so extremely attentive to the guests. Always there to meet any need or request a guest could have. He is a wonderful young man and we are just so sad we did not get to see him.

If you are reading reviews and not sure, feel free to message me. We love this place and I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Pool View (inside resort) more lively...Rooms at service roads or away from pool/activities at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceOBS, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
On behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 We would like to really thank you for selecting our hotel and giving us the opportunity to serve you for a 4 year in a row. As well we will like to let you know that we are glad that you have enjoyed the service given by our employees and the rest of the facilities. We will give your regards to wily wonka , henrry , Elvin and the rest of the entertainment teen and encourage them to continue their incredible work. We will continue improving our level of service day by day thanks to comments received from people like you. Thank you for sharing tips your valuable experience with others through Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you to your home away from home.


Best regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the Resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Blue & Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.