We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We came back 3 days ago, stayed there 2 weeks (4 people from Estonia). We had a fantastic vacation. Especially we loved Maria Gonzales from the pool bar (can not remember the correct name).
We did not like the Mexican restaurant. All 4 people did not get something good to eat.
We loved Caribean and Italian restaurant. We went there meny times.

You should remove the broken sunbeds from the beach, because it creates the illusion that there are free chairs, but actually there are none. There are A LOT of broken chairs.

The birds are soo beautiful and staff is GREAT. Drinks are also very good and noone got sick from the food. Pizza was also super.

I would go there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. This is awesome feedback which I will certainly share with the team. Very grateful for taking the time to let us know about your stay at IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa. We welcome the feedback which we use as training purposes.

We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to The Dominican Republic.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    1,443
    665
    318
    239
See reviews for
981
1,622
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have been to Punta Cana twice; the first time, the Hubby and I stayed at Bahia Principe Adults only resort and it was great!!! This time around, the family joined including our 10 month old daughter. I love Punta Cana; it is a beautiful place to vacation; however, IFA is by far the worse of the worse...
The front desk staff were very RUDE; there were no urgency when I requested help. My sister waited 6 hours before she was given a room - they stated her travel agent never confirmed the reservation BUT she had a voucher and showed them the voucher; still they said they had no room for her. They stated they could not get in contact with anyone about the room confirmation until the next day but after 6 hrs stated they are giving her a complimentary room for 5 days even though she booked and paid for a 6 day trip! They stated "maybe you can stay with a family member on the 5th night?!?!?!" Just plain stupid! One person in particular, Alexandria Mejas was extremely rude; she was very dismissive; gave us an attitude when he asked questions.

The food was horrible!!!!!! The only place worth eating was the Beach Buffet and The pizza place!

The rooms was dirty, dingy and just worn down. The bed frames were nailed together with the nails sticking out. Sheets were dirty. The AC unit in my sister's room was leaking and they "fixed" it by using toilet paper?!?!!?

There were mosquitos everywhere! There were no entertainment available. There was a "Mini Disco" night for the children but when he went, it was closed!

Despite the horrible food, less than average rooms and rude customer service from the front desk staff, my family and I made the best of it. We had a great time nonetheless because who wouldn't love laying on the beach and poolside with a drink in their hand!

I would definetly return to Punta Cana but will NOT be staying at IFA!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Booked last minute trip from Halifax. The hotel was great - good food, lots of variety and plenty of options. We ate mostly at the buffet except for 2 nights - Caribbean and Japanese restaurants - they were good but we didn't want the hassle of having to be somewhere at a certain time. Preferred the flexibility of the buffet. Beach was lovely and lots of chairs available. I don't like to sit in the direct sun and was always able to find shade when needed. Certainly would recommend for couples and grown children - not sure if it would be suitable for family with small children. We were there the week leading up to Easter and found out that there were no excursions happening on Thursday and Good Friday so that caused a bit of crowding at the restaurant, pool and beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4219 and it was facing the lagoon and close to the beach. Although we were very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Nos sentimos alagados de recibir su comentario, es un gran placer saber que superamos sus expectativas, es grato saber que la habitación ocupada.

Asimismo, es un placer conocer que el servicio brindado por nuestros empleados excedió sus expectativas con las atenciones brindadas

Saludos Cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

1st night no water in sink, Air condition did not work. Had to argue to get a new room. 1st room by ocean view where all noise is, very bad. 2nd room, came home at 11pm to a leaking vent in the ceiling and almost fell. 3rd day room not clean, no fresh towels. Hair everywhere in shower, bugs on dresser. Service is not consistent. Food horrible. Only good place is the pizza and snack bar. Do not stay here!!!!!! I wish I could go home early :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Went during April 11-18, 2014. Getting to the hotel from the airport is relatively quick and efficient.

Upon arrival checking in took a little while as rooms usually are not ready until at least 1pm (I had to wait until almost 4pm) but once we were assigned a room everything was fine.

ROOMS

From people I spoke to while I was at the resort, Rooms in the 1000-2000's are very quiet, however are dated and could use a retrofitting. One couple mentioned finding cockroaches and were moved promptly the next day to a room in the 3000's. Rooms in the 3000-4000 are modern and clean. However, if you are looking for quiet suites, this might not be the best area for you as the 3000's are near the pool area and the 4000's are near the theatre which runs shows until 11:00pm. If you can tolerate a little noise then you should be more than happy. The only other thing I would warn you about is that the beds are extremely firm and can take a little getting used too.

FOOD

This was the biggest disappointment of the trip. The buffet is alright. Breakfast is the same every day (Western style) however the bacon is extremely greasy and could take some better care at working of blotting out. Aside from that everything is decent at that time. Lunch is not very busy and they do change up the meals daily, fried chicken has actually pretty decent. Dinner at the beginning of the time there was a miss. However by the end of my stay they had some really good food items (ribs, oven roasted chicken, fajitas) The pasta bar is the only place on the resort I would recommend having pasta from.

The a-la-cartes were very disappointing and could use some major reworking. The reservation system also means that you have to wake up and be in line at the Front Lobby for 730am. I wish they would come up with a better system for this. As for the food, the Mexican was disappointing and bland. The Italian is misguided, they offer a chicken parmigiana with a side of fries!?!?!? It would have been better if it came with the option of a side of spaghetti. The risotto was not risotto it was rice mixed with tomato sauce and 3 shrimps inside a piece of tinfoil, very disappointing. Also the pasta tasted like paste which was strange, perhaps they overcooked it. The International Restaurant looked promising but once again disappointing. The gnocchi was tiny and covered in what appeared to be a soup mix. I was served a beef fillet with a side of eggplant which was overcooked. I would have been happier with a side of mash potatoes. A friend of mine had fettuccine noodles with a basil pesto. But the basil pesto looked like a pile of black mouse droppings, and did not taste good either.

The pizza place is consistently good as the pizza, fries and chicken bites are really good.

STAFF

For the most part all areas of the staff are very friendly and are willing to help you out. Some are not very fluent in English, if you know even a little basic Spanish it can go a long way as they do appreciate that you make the effort to communicate with them. If you reasonably tip between $2-5 USD per day/staff member, they go above and beyond for you.

POOLS/BEACH

There are 2 pools located at the resort. The main one which is just beyond the check out area and the buffet restaurant which is very busy and loud, finding a chair there is difficult my mid-morning. The second pool which is located close to the 1000-2000 rooms, which is very quiet and finding a chair is relevantly easy. The beach is located beyond the 3000-4000 rooms and is about another 200m walk. However, the view is beautiful and there is reasonable amount of space.

OTHER GUESTS

People who were at the resort were mostly Canadians, French Canadians, a few Americans, some Dutch, Russian, and German guests too. The locals do come to the resort on Saturdays and Sundays so do keep this in mind when getting anything during that time that traffic in increased. Also there are a lot of couples and families who come to this resort, you may be disappointed if your single.

NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT

Entertainment is ok, the shows get repetitive very quickly after 2 nights, the disco is alright but the DJ's try to cater more to the locals than to get guests, so if you are good with dancing to merengue, bachata, and salsa for 70% of the night then you be ok. If not, I would suggest going to Imagine or Oro off the resort.

VENDORS

On Thursdays, the resort allows certain vendors to come into the resort and set up booths near the buffet restaurant from 2pm-10pm, they will be a little pushy and know a number of languages. But they will not bother you after a while.

There are guys walking around in yellow shirts attempting to sell you excursions, DO NOT book with these guys. Although they might be cheaper, it is a more guaranteed and safer experience if you go with a travel representative which are located in the resort lobby.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I would return to the place if they can make some improvements to the food. Overall, a good place to go if it is on sale (under 950 CAD taxes included, in a package).

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3000-4000's are updated and clean. Rooms in the 1000-2000's take your chanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our second time back to IFA, we travelled April 11th to the 18th 2014. We were not disappointed. The staff remembered us and welcomed us back, it felt like we were home. It was just as good as last year when we were there.
We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment, the shows are amazing and the dancers put all there heart and soul into it.
They made a few changes sinces last year..They covered in a pool buy the theatre and added more seating and made a new bar. We thought this was a great idea as the pool was small and not alot of people used it. They also updated the stage..good job!
The rooms were clean and yet again we did not see any bugs. Our fridge was stocked daily with water, pop and beer (a little tipping goes along way). We stayed in 4103, the air worked great and was very clean.
The food is good, my husband and daughter are very picky eaters and they always found something to eat and none of us ever got sick.

All in all it was another great vacation at IFA. Thank you very much and yes we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our room was close to the beach and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The check in was very fast even though we didn't get the room requested close to our friends. We could have changed the next day but decided to keep the rooms given as the buildings were pretty close together. The buffet always had a good selection and the omlets in the morning were the best.
We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: 400 block rooms were closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA is situated on the fine, white sands of Playa Bavaro. Bordered by a fabulous coral reef and surrounded by turquoise-colored waters this extraordinary vacation complex offers its guests a friendly, luxurious environment for sports & cuisine with its 6 charming restaurants and 7 spectacular bars, colorful tropical shows, a wide range of facilities and services especially designed to ensure an unforgettable stay right in heart of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Punta Cana
Ifa Hotel Bavaro
Ifa Bavaro Villas
Ifa Villas Bavaro Beach Resort & Spa
Villas Bavaro
Ifa Villas Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.