We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“me gustaria volver a el” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Bavaro
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“me gustaria volver a el”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

me encanto la villa que nos dieron,un poco lejos de la playa, pero el paseo hasta ella fue maravilloso, el personal fantastico ,se comia muy bien.
I loved the town that gave us a bit away from the beach, but the walk until she was wonderful, the staff fantastic, they ate very well

Room Tip: visitarlo---I visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blancaluna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the first time we traveled w/ our son who was 6 months at the time. The hotel was nice and clean and provided a sturdy crib for my son. The beach was a little bit of a far walk from everything but overall the hotel was good...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at IFA in February 2014.....enjoyed the facilities...good hotel....good service....food was ok....everything was fine....no complaints.....best drinks are at Cafe Dominicano......beach was beautiful.....only complaint....there never seems to be enough lounge chairs to go around....that's both at the pool and at the beach

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I expected more, especially after the price I paid. The food was less than average, I had spent a good part of the trip on the toilet sick. Pool was closed early every night which really sucked. The customer service was very poor. Had many issues with my room, they had a poor attitude and had no interest in speaking English or being helpful. I was soo sick of being harrased by people trying to sell you excursions on our resort next to the pool area. Many hookers at the resort at night and at the disco. The entertainment at the show area was lame. The pro's.. the pizza at the pizza joint was ok. If you dont mind eating pizza all the time. The beach was nice if you avoid the people at the market trying to hassel you to buy knock off sunglasses and silver coated jewlery.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gman g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Dominican Republic is my favorite vacation spot, and IFA made my stay in this beautiful, exciting country better than I could imagine! For starters, the service there was extremely good. In particular, Victor Sosa, an employee at IFA, was excellent! He was very welcoming and professional, and nonetheless hardworking. This hotel's friendly staff, cleanliness, and fun-filled nightlife made this trip a very memorable one. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElainaG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa for 9 days week of January 24th to February 2nd. The rooms all in all are average, and however, are in need of a facelift; but who stays in the room on vacation anyway but to shower and sleep (beds were comfortable). Maids did an awesome job keeping the room clean and surprising me with flower designs everyday. The food was just OK; not what I am use to and could use improvement. The entertainment team was fun keeping us all entertained everyday! The best part of my stay were the employees who went above and beyond my expectations; I'd like to give a shout out to Erica at the front desk; she greated me every morning with a smile and was always willing to help or answer any questions that I had during my stay... Muchas Gracias, Erica!!! The guy who handleled the wi-fi (I don't recall his name) was also helpful in every way to ensure I was always connected to my loved ones back home; and last but not least all the gals in the Spa; these ladies are amazing and one in particular who did my hair every other day (I don't recall her name)... Thank you!!! I have been to many other islands but the beaches in the Dominican Republic are the best; beautiful white sand, plam trees and the clear blue water and the sweetest people you ever want to meet. All in all, I had an amazing vacation and was sad to leave... I can't wait for my next trip back to the beautiful island of the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior room close to the lobby, restaurants, pool and entertainment; quieter rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoJo725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I and a group of 3 other women booked this trip through Apple Vacations, for the week ending 2/2/14. We were reassured over and and over, yes you have a beach front room. Upon check-in that of course wasn't the case. There actually is NO direct beach front room. We got a unit closest to the beach and it took over three hours to get that. The reception desk was rude with limited American speaking personnel. Lobby was chaotic and crowded. When we finally got the rooms, one of our rooms faced the ocean, the other faced the often loud theater and the roof of the "Spa". When 1st shown the room, I balked I ask the bellhop to ring the desk, he did and when I stated that room wasn't correct they said to me "YOU WANT TO SEE DIFFERENT ROOM-YOU COME TO DESK!" Then slammed the phone in my ear! Believe me- that sets the mood for the entire resort. The bell man assured us that was the nicest room. Ugh. I opted to not go through the nightmare of arguing for a different room. In hindsight I think should have contacted Apple.
We had much noise, no ocean view or breeze, washcloths only on day one, a leaky refrigerator which posed a risked with a then slippery floor, the worst pillows ever, not unlike a bag of old socks, 2nd floor unit -no elevators. No map of the resort, no directions or information in English.
The resort is huge. We fortunately had other guest tell us what was where.
The resort is crowded, with not enough chairs at the pool or the beach. You must get up at the crack of dawn to save a chair. One day all 4 of our towels were stolen along with saved chairs. NOTE: There is a $20.00 replacement fee per towel! Somehow we got the fee waved.
The restaurants were mixed. we each had something we liked about different ones- so there is no stand out. Also there is so much we did not like.. The Italian is open air and closest to the water and the one most likely to have an opening. You must call 1st thing in the AM to get a reservation. Plan on waiting on the phone 15-20 minutes to do this.
The buffet is the breakfast option. There are many food choices. It is also an open air situation. This includes flies... The last morning the flies were actually thick. After a week of the food, the flies were difficult to handle with an already very upset stomach. I don't need to elaborate.
on a more positive note; The beach is beautiful and we were blessed with good weather, thank God.
There is a fun group of venders next to the resort. Pushy but nice.
We had a quite pleasant excursion to the Saona island booked through Apple.
There were nice bartenders at the bar by the spa and gym. Our maid was pleasant. But all in all the resort was truly disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BWilsonBellbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
2.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
#64 of 102 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 6,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.7 mi away
Vista Sol Punta Cana
Vista Sol Punta Cana
#15 of 19 in Bavaro
3.5 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
4.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA is situated on the fine, white sands of Playa Bavaro. Bordered by a fabulous coral reef and surrounded by turquoise-colored waters this extraordinary vacation complex offers its guests a friendly, luxurious environment for sports & cuisine with its 6 charming restaurants and 7 spectacular bars, colorful tropical shows, a wide range of facilities and services especially designed to ensure an unforgettable stay right in heart of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Punta Cana
Ifa Hotel Bavaro
Ifa Bavaro Villas
Ifa Villas Bavaro Beach Resort & Spa
Villas Bavaro
Ifa Villas Bavaro Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing