We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort for the budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice resort for the budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort is a nice resort for a budget trip. If you are looking for a personal butler to follow you around this is not the resort. However if you are wanting a resort that has pretty landscaping and a very large and well maintained beach area this is the place.

The rooms are a little dated but I was there for the beach and the pool areas. I would recommend upgrading to the village or the ocean section from the Villas area. The only problem with the Villas area is the distance from the beach and main pool and buffett.

The beach area is great at the time I was there had plenty of loungers available. I was there from Oct 19, 2012 to Oct. 26, 2012.

The only real downfall of the resort is the food. The food in the buffett is not very good but you can find things to eat. We did eat at the Italian restraunt and the mexican restraunt and they are both very good.

Overall I would go back to this resort for the size of the resort.

Room Tip: upgrade to the village or the ocean sections, also we stayed in the 3300 building by the pizza bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    1,467
    679
    330
    245
See reviews for
1,006
1,659
92
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just perfect. Originally we were accommodated in bungalows far away from the centre of the resort. After my complaint the receptionist has moved us to hotel room by the pool and it was just perfect. (I am still confused what have we paid for, it can be that the hotel room was a free upgrade...) Very nice and spacious room, restaurant full of very tasty food all kinds, several swimming pools, gym, etc. On the beginning I did not believe that we won´t get bored during our 10 days there but in the end we actually have not even used all options. Staff members always around and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First time to the caribbean ( 10h flight from Brussels ).and we will certainly go back. The dominican republic is really haven on earth ( if you like sun, sea, palm trees, ... ) . the IFA hotels fits perfectly in this picture. A nice clean hotel ( although eating, drinking and smoking in the swimming pool is something we are not used to in Belgium ) , big clean room ( we payed a little extra for the "superior room" ), very nice beach, palm trees as far as you can see :-). For the room, the service, the accomodation i would say the hotel almost deserves a 5* ranking. Only thing that is not worty of 5* is the food. The buffets are more than ok, but "casual". The
"à la carte" restaurants are worth visiting. certainly the "caribbean restaurant". It is the only place where you can eat in a airconditionned atmosphere. We went in the worst period of the year ( hurricanes, storms, rain .... ) but we had fantasctic weather. 3 minutes rain during our 12 day stay. The risc of bad weather made it a very cheap holiday. Price-quality it was the best holiday i ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The atmosphere was sensual and romantic. The only thing i would recommend is to make reservations for the exclusive restaurants early because the buffet and Italian was terrible. I recommend you visit the little restaurant right outside the resort by the beach area. food was delicious

Room Tip: if you want the exclusive romantic vibe choose the bungalos but if you want the hip club vibe choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amazing hotel with awesome service and staff! The hotel area ( pool , garden and beach ) are kept very clean and nice. It was our first time at this resort and Will stay there again if traveling to Punta Cana !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at the IFA on Sunday, Sept 30, 2012. There were three of us couples traveling together and we had all booked our vacations at the same time through the same travel agent and Apple Vacations. When we got to the resort, my sister and her husband received the honeymoon suite behind the pizzeria and close to the pool. The other couple and us were told our rooms would not be ready until Monday, because the people had not checked out. We were told our new rooms (4323 and 4324) were better than what we paid for, because they were on the beach. None of the rooms are "on" the beach. We couldn't even see the beach from our room. That night, they had dancing at the theater and the thumping of the music kept us up until 11:30pm. even with earplugs. Normally, that would not be late for us, but we had a long flight and had gotten up very early to catch it.
On Monday, we told them we wanted to switch rooms to the same building my sister was in. That was the only building with king size beds. All the other rooms had 2 double beds. The front desk told us to come back at 3 in the afternoon. We went back and they told us there was an electrical problem with both rooms to come back in an hour. An hour later we went back and they told us to come back in half an hour. By that time we had spent the better part of the day just trying to get in the rooms we had paid for in the first place. One of the husbands in our group said he was going to stand right there at the desk until our rooms were ready. Miraculously, our rooms opened right up.
You have to leave one of your room keys in a slot on the wall to keep the air conditioner and power on. At first, our air conditioner didn't work very well. Once we reported it, it almost worked too well :) The mattresses were hard, but my back didn't start bothering me until the six night of our stay. There are several sizes of pillows on the bed, including a body pillow, and they were all quite comfortable. At times, the water in the shower was luke warm at best. When it was hot, the shower was great. The rooms were kept very clean. They don't supply wash cloths, only bath towels and hand towels, so take your own if you use one. There is a soap dispenser in the shower, but it is not properly labeled. We think it contained shampoo, conditioner and body wash, but we were not too sure, so we used what we had brought with us. The mini fridge at first only contained bottled water, until we complained to the Apple rep. Then they put Bohemian beer, Coke and Sprite in it.
IFA had 4 ala carte restaurants that were very good. You have to make reservations at 8 each morning for that evening, which wasn't a problem for us. Each of us couples took turns getting up and standing in line. You can eat at those every night if you want. Although they request that the men wear long pants, our guys got in with nice shorts and shirts on. We ended each evening with crepes from the creperie, but it closes at 8 pm, so we had to go there right after dinner.
The pools were beautiful and the booze was plentiful. They have a list of drinks at each bar and they pretty well stick to making only the drinks on the list. They don't scrimp on the alcohol.
The hotel staff is very friendly, always smiling and trying to please. Not many of them speak English, so at times it is hard to communicate your wishes. Just remember banos and cerveza! Two nights when we headed toward the lobby to go to dinner, they had vendors set up on either side of the entrance. You can't get by them without being asked to look at their wares, mostly jewelry. We really thought this was kind of tacky for the resort to allow their guests to be harassed this way.
The Dominican sun is very hot! Even with 85spf suntan lotion, we all burned. The pools were refreshing, just the right temperature. The beach was beautiful, with plenty of lounges. In the evening, after the sun went down, there was always a nice breeze and it was lovely outside. We noticed there was a lot of security around the resort, especially by the beach (think pirates.) We always felt safe.
We were surprised the airport at Punta Cana is not air conditioned. You don't notice it so much when you arrive, but when you have to sit there for a couple of hours waiting to depart, it can be miserable. There are huge ceiling fans to keep the air moving.
The only excursion we took was to the Marinarium. It was okay. Once we were out in the ocean, you had your choice of beginner or advanced which translated to 30 or 45 minutes of swimming. Four of us went beginner and the other two went advanced. Even if you don't swim well, take the advanced. We all had swim belts, but the advanced group got fins with their snorkel gear. Us beginners had to pull ourselves out by rope to where the stingrays were. The Marinarium is a half day excursion and at $99 seemed a little over priced, but we all had a good time. The young staff was very friendly and know how to party. They showed us how to make coco locos, a popular drink in the area.
If we were to go back to Punta Cana, we all agreed we would look into another resort. After we got past the room ordeal, we all had a good time.

Room Tip: We were told only the building with rooms 3300-3339 had king size beds. The others had two double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I Spent a week at the IFA Bavaro Resort and had an amazing time!
The resort was pretty and clean. The staff were GREAT! The service was outstanding!
Our room was basic but comfortable. Some days the food was fantastic, other days average but never bad! The beach was beautiful and the excursions were FUN FUN FUN!
I read some reviews shortly before I departed for my holiday and became terribly anxious about going but I was pleasantly surprised!
I had a fabulous time and have no regrets at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
3.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
2.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vista Sol Punta Cana
Vista Sol Punta Cana
#14 of 17 in Bavaro
3.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
4.3 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Dominican Beach
Barcelo Dominican Beach
#60 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 4,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA is situated on the fine, white sands of Playa Bavaro. Bordered by a fabulous coral reef and surrounded by turquoise-colored waters this extraordinary vacation complex offers its guests a friendly, luxurious environment for sports & cuisine with its 6 charming restaurants and 7 spectacular bars, colorful tropical shows, a wide range of facilities and services especially designed to ensure an unforgettable stay right in heart of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Punta Cana
Ifa Hotel Bavaro
Ifa Bavaro Villas
Ifa Villas Bavaro Beach Resort & Spa
Villas Bavaro
Ifa Villas Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.