We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavaro Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bavaro Hostel to your Saves list
Bavaro Hostel
Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This a very comfortable and clean hostel, great for low budgets! Bavaro is not a very cheap place, lost of expensive hotels and stuff, so I was very happy to find this place, not too expensive and worth it's while! And, right near the beach :)
I recommend it if you are not complicated and looking to meet people while travelling!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
12
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hostel had great value - a friend of mine and I got a double room which came out to be very cheap split two ways. The staff members were very friendly and between some advice from them and joining up with other travelers in the hostel we explored the "real" Bavaro, where locals go and have a wild time. No bugs, nothing to make the stay uncomfortable, safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A bit of a challenge to get to from the airport without paying a ripoff taxi. Walk to the road and get a bus and transfer to another bus. Anyway, the hostel itself is ideal! Right near the beach. No A/C needed, If you open the windows and use the provided fans.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's just as friendly and perfectly located as the reviews claim. I went down to the DR a day earlier than my friends and stayed here by myself. As soon as I checked in, Martina (who was the BEST!) and a group of other travelers invited me out. We heard some live music at a bar, saw an aerial dance show at a club and ended up down the road at the beach at 2am. Clean room and bathroom, great location, friendly people. One of the best hostel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff, The food, The place, The experience... Simply Amazing!!!
Well priced room, comfy beds, clean bathroom, helpful staff. Awesome!!!
I do have to say this tho, the place has a young vibe, Im 25, I dont see the older crowd mixing well here, but thats just my take on it. Vacation, Spring Break, Fun Under the Sun, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: too many people going to the restrooms at all times of the night, safe to pick a bed away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is a quaint property, that is laid back and peaceful. The owner Gil is polite and treats you like family, she made sure I had everything I needed during my stay. She let me know about a fruit stand in walking distance that has the juicy-iest mangoes, sweet and delicious. They offer breakfast of pretty much what you would have in your home kitchen. My favorite part about this hotel is the hammocks on the verandah, I fell asleep under the stars, while the breeze blew me into dreamland. A short stroll and you are on the beach!! on the best stretch of beach in punta cana, I packed my fold up chair for the beach and carried water and spent several awesome days walking and swimming like I was a castaway. I plan to return to this hotel for many years to come, its my home away from home, thanks Gil and staff.

Room Tip: I chose a top floor single room near the kitchen and the awesome hammocks!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff was friendly, amenities were decent and location was super close to the beach. Would definitely go back to stay; the place was safe regardless of the blackouts due to the storm, but otherwise was great

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bavaro Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaro Hostel

Address: Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple hostel in a perfect location. The beach is a 2 minute walk away; there's over 15 bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We are located in a safe area, where you can come and go during the day or night- no curfews :)Beds in shared rooms are 20 USD per night; private rooms start at 35; air conditioning is available as a supplemental service.At Bavaro Hostel, you can make full use of our refrigeration and kitchen facilities, or order delivery from the many restaurants around. Wifi and coffee included.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bavaro Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavaro Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.