We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“My sister and I” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My sister and I”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just spent one week at this resort and had a great week. Lots of good things about the resort and some things were just not up to standards. Hotel staff are all very good and pleasant. There are a few people who I feel went above and beyond to make my stay even more pleasant. Johanna at Guest services was very helpful and got the job done. We requested 3 times to have small repairs done in our room and people came but never got the job done properly.eg remote for TV would not work, our phone would not work and then the air conditioner stopped working. Rooms definitely need a facelift. Edwin Misael who was with the fun club was out every day on the beach getting us involved in activities like volleyball and latin dancing. He was so polite and so full of life every time we saw him. Edwin also played in the hotel band and is an excellent musician.
Went to all 4 restaurants and they were all pretty good, buffets are all pretty good too. Swim up bar was a lot of fun and the bartenders there were fun as well.
Love the lobby as it was a great place to hang out for a bit when ever you wanted sit back. Great bar in the lobby and seems to be the happening place in the evening. Excellent wings at the Sportsbar/snack bar-they generally serve them at 3pm till 6pm. The grounds are kept very very clean and always beening worked on.
Overall was good. Would go back if they upgraded the rooms. Will
try another hotel in Punta Cana next time. We had excellent weather all week so that also made for a good time.

Room Tip: We had ground level near the Ocean, very convenient for us in the morning to walk to beach. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,230
    1,998
    1,115
    704
    639
See reviews for
1,495
2,249
179
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 21st anniversary, we had great weather, great entertainment, food was good

The bedroom is a different story the beds are 100 years old could not sleep, the bathtub was cracked it was disgusting, it needs an overhaul I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless the rooms get upgraded


staff was nice a big thanks to Jose Antonio in the lobby bar made the best drinks ever!!!

The night time shows where great they do a great job only thing we found it, it started a bit late

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The resort is very nice, food is great, lots of fancy drinks, staff is very friendly and helpful, lots of fun. The resort is very clean, big pools and spacious rooms. Very nice view from our balcony. The beach is amazing and the waves are huge!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and l were somewhat disappointed with the accommodations which we saw when we arrived at the hotel...The room we were given was like night and day, compared to what we saw on the hotel's website. We requested a queen sized bed and we found two twin beds pushed together. that was very disappointing. The next thing we found to be very disgusting was that there is no designated smoking area in the Theater which is an open area. so people could sit anywhere and smoke to the discomfort of non smokers who constantly had to move from place to place in order not to inhale second hand smoke. The air condition in the room was freezing cold; We traveled thousands of miles to get away from cold and we immediately informed the front desk that the room was too cold and needed the air to be adjusted.. It took them three days and after a barrage of complaints for them to adjust the air in the room... The bath tub in the bathroom had rusted spots under the faucet and needed caulking...The TV in the room was an analog TV and not the Flat screen advertized on the website; and it showed only black.and white. This was changed for another similar one which showed a little color after we complained about it.. However, the reception in the room was so poor, It took me back to the days when l lived in Jamaica when there was only one television station and no cable. Now to the positives....The staff they are all incredible, the front desk staff, Wilkin was so accommodating and helpful. the staff in the buffet
and the stake house were really nice and efficient.the food was great the beach excellent the concierge staff; Alexander was our go-to person and he was really informed about the services within the hotel and he was extremely helpful to us.. the entertainment staff Orestes and all the others were very good. On a whole the entire staff made up for the short falls which we encountered. We were very happy after settling in. We immensely enjoyed the shows at showtime...the grounds were extremely well kept all the services was great we would definitely go back for another vacation.

Room Tip: Join the Vacation Club and call the hotel directly for accommodation instead of booking through an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

food- excellent- buffet had tons to pick from and 2 nights of all u can eat lobster tails-steak at lunch as well. The STEAK house/Italian Rest. were great. If u go Air Transat there is a breakfast rest. that only you can use up to 10:30am then switches to the sports/snack bar over the swim up pool for anyone. There you are served breakfast or u can go to the buffet. Also for Air Transat people- a private BEACH bar with FRANKLIN (GREAT SERVICE AND FRIENDLY) and he comes to you and delivers drinks as well as you going up. GREAT service. Everywhere in the lobby bar-there is waiter service as well.
ROOMS- do need up-dating. But you are only in there to sleep anyway!!! We got our room changed the very next day from ground to 3rd level with balcony thanks to ZOLANDGY at the front desk-she was GREAT!!!! AIR COND. worked fantastic on 3rd floor. Toilet leaked but we put a towel infront of toilet on floor each day and that solved wet places.
POOLS-beautiful and BIG-the hot tub is the same water as pool though. But still good.
LOBBY- needs up-dating of chairs and MORE to accomodate everyone when lobby bar is open at night. OWNERS need to review their investment and get some new items. The staff try very hard.
BUFFET- lovely to sit in-classy with chair covers-blue and clear wine glasses on tables for evening-looks lovely. All keepers are STEADY CLEANING the floors/grounds/pool.
BEACH-beautiful and you can walk forever.
FLEA MARKET PEOPLE-the hotel brings the venders in twice or 3 times a week-they are PUSHY-PUSHY- so be aware. They set up infront of the theater to the buffet/lobby and you have to go past all of them so it can be a real mood breaker sometimes. Just say no thankyou politely and it's not too bad.
BOOKREADING WEEKS- had first 2 days with about 400 teens so Feb. beware if you don't want that. We didn't mind accept we did move from ground level to 3rd upstairs and a quiet area which Zolandgy at front desk got us!!! GREAT SERVICE. Also, you can go directly to your TOUR REP and he will go to the manager for you to request room change.
Not a shopping area. A town is about 1 amd 1/2 hours away. You can barter with the venders but things are expensive so barter. Loved food/pool/beach/staff etc.
PAY SAFE $25 week and INTERNET WIFI $25 for 24 hours you use what ever each day you want. GO AIR TRANSAT and get the extra purks-they LOVE CANADIANS!!!! When they see your GREEN wrist band they bend over backwards to serve you!!! THANKS OCCIDENTIAL STAFF for a great week.
Casino-small-some machines do not work. The staff person in there is not great-unfriendly and not helpful. Only staff we did not appreciate!!!
If u can't find something to eat, enjoy good drinks and hot sun then stay HOME-these people are paid $160. a month-that's it!!!! Be nice and they will be nice to you. They WORK VERY hard and LONG HOURS-12 days on and 3 off.
WATCH OUT TIME SHARE!!!! IN YOUR BUILDING AT THE BASE OF STAIRS they say they are there to get you what ever you need-any problems in room etc. then they offer you a VIP BREAKFAST and a GIFT!!! It comes with a catch-they don't tell you it is a time share they take you to and show you-actully pressure you into it!!! You are gone 2 hours or more then back to the resort for a breakfast you could have done on your own. The gifts are a hat/T-shirt or massage??not sure if you pay extra. So if you don't want the hastle just say NO THANKYOU>

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia,North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks - first week horrible - with hundreds of Canadian college kids, screaming, throwing up, foul language, no dress code - ruined our first week and we were surprised that the hotel seeks this kind of business. We would never go back - Second week better - average food - not enough speciality restaurants and they never change their menus so if you are there for 2 weeks its same old, same old. Our suite was lovely and close to beach and always clean - cant figure out why there are never 2 washcloths at the same time but aside from that it was very good. Staff nice especially at the First Club. Disappointed that wifi and safes not included - get with the program!!!

Room Tip: If you are not a vacation club you cant get a good room - Best rooms are in center of comples and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Pool & grounds are beautiful. Small resort right on the ocean. Staff extremely nice, especially Lenni at the Front Desk (Checkout) and Carmen, our cleaning lady at 23203. Food was average, rooms need to be upgraded, especially the washrooms. Overall, a very pleasant vacation, and the weather was perfect. Punta Cana has the loveliest sand beaches anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.