We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Punta Cana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Punta Cana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful resort, wonderful employees that went out of their way to serve you. The room and beds were very comfortable. Food was just ok but standard for all inclusives. Beach area was very nice, often crowded.

Room Tip: Our room was in a perfect location. Building 12 was half way between the beach and the lobby of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,945
    1,829
    1,007
    651
    597
See reviews for
1,323
2,042
163
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, ON Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This resort is outdated, not well maintained. they don't repair till broken. Ceilings leak, several power outages occurred while we were there. This resort is also a spring break resort, we were not informed of this fact when we booked this vacation. 2000 students arrived to do nothing but drink and play loud music. Sleeping at night was difficult due to noise. The service was okay. Due to a computer cliche the hotel was over booked. The food was alright but it never changed it was always the same. The al a cartes also were not very good. Now having said that the weather was awesome. The white sand beach absolutely beautiful. Would go back to Punta Cana, but never to this resort or any other designated spring break resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Kfraser56,
I’m sincerely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and I will contact you directly via TripAdvisor to further discuss your experience.
I’ve addressed your review with our maintenance and housekeeping teams, as all guestrooms are to be inspected and cleaned daily, and repairs are to always be completed efficiently. Please know that we’re currently renovating all guestrooms, including updates to the furniture and amenities, in addition to the common areas, lobby and restaurants. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the loss of power. That was an external issue, and our team did their best to fix the problem as soon as possible.
In regards to your comments about the atmosphere at our resort, we aim to provide a relaxed and comfortable environment. During peak seasons this can be a challenge; however our security is always available to handle situations where guests are disturbed or uncomfortable. I’ve discussed your feedback with the security manager to reinforce our current security standards.
I’m sorry to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. We do our best to provide a wide variety and I’ve also shared your feedback with our food and beverage manager to determine how we can continue to enhance the dining experience for our guests.
We do hope you will give us the chance to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I did a 2 week Transat Vacation to the Occidental Punta Cana from January 2-16th in perfect weather. The grounds at the resort are outstanding, the beach amazing and the food was well presented and plentiful. The staff was friendly, courteous and worked tirelessly trying to keep an old property functioning.

We got a room in the 25 building, experienced mold/mildew problems which were reported to Transat and Occidental on the first day. We were finally moved to another "fresh" room on day 6 after we experienced water from the room above leaking into our shower near the electrical outlet.

I got up EARLY every morning to "reserve" two chairs near the pool with a towel/book. Some guests were using towels/books/shoes etc. to hold down multiple chairs at the pool AND the beach so many chairs sat idle until 300 PM(!?) in the afternoon. I knick named this morning ritual/odessey as the March of the Penguins and truly hope that Occidental develops some kind of meaningful and clear policy that provides each guest with at least a beach chair to enjoy their hard-earned vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After a horrible United Airlines flight delay, it was such a relief to arrive at the Occidental Grand. We grabbed a $35 taxi at the airport, arrived in an open-air lobby and were warmly greeted by bellmen at the ready, Johanna at the reception desk, and a cool welcome drink. The check-in was quick, professional and customer-oriented. Johanna even accompanied us on a golf cart to our room, explained the property's lay-out and its amenities, and introduced us to various staff.
We had a junior suite with a first-floor beach/pool view in the Royal Club section, and this is where my sister and I spent four wonderfully relaxing days. The beach was only a few steps away, and it was so relaxing to make a pot of coffee in the AM and sit on the huge patio. The beach has a reserved area for Club members, and it was certainly welcomed as chairs filled up quickly as many reviewers have commented. Royal Club accommodations also gave one access to a private restaurant with waiter service, free wifi, an area with computers, magazines, and books, and upgraded liquor at a private beach bar. As good as the private restaurant was, we quickly decided that we preferred the more casual restaurants, especially the outdoor restaurant (La Fonda) upstairs where pizzas and mexican food were made to order. We also found the beachfront lunch buffet and buffet restaurant near the lobby area to have a vast selection of prepared and made-to-order selections and much more conducive to our schedule and eating patterns.
Our room 21-104 was spacious....admittedly not new, and one that could perhaps do with some updating (as the ceiling fan blades were warped and some of the furniture scuffed), but the two rooms were well-furnished and immaculate and every single staff person -- from housekeeping, turn-down service, club greeters, wait staff and bartenders -- were universally helpful and pleasant. In fact, resort staff members across the board were perhaps the most pleasant and cheerful that I have encountered at any hotel, anywhere, but particularly in the caribbean in a long time, and tipping brought even warmer smiles but did not seem to be expected. For example, we even received a call from the front desk asking if everything was okay with our room. Huh? This rarely happens these days. Chocolates on the bed? Again, this amenity seems to be long-gone for the big hotel chains. Each and every time we circled through the lobby and saw our reception check-in person Johanna, she remembered us and warmly greeted us with a smile. She seemed to work long hours, but that didn't dim her enthusiasm. Security guards always greeted us with "hola." The breakfast waiter at the private club remembered us by name, despite having eaten there only once.
Having stayed previously at the Riu Palace in Punta Cana, it was difficult not to contrast the two properties. While the Riu was more polished and newer, it also was a huge high rise property, much more like a hotel than a resort, and it seemed very crowded. The Occidental, while it has some 800 rooms, they are spread out over extensive grounds in "clusters" and no building was higher than 3 floors. The Occidental just seemed much more quiet and less hectic despite it being spring break (and there were crowds of spring-breakers).
The beach was magnificent...raked every morning, and on an extremely long, walkable stretch of Punta Cana. The ocean was equally wonderful....smooth sand bottom and no rocks. Vendors were plentiful but not overly persistent.
For the price paid, I would definitely give this place a thumbs up. If I had any complaints at all, they would be minor, such as the swimming pools were not open in the evening.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and were not bothered at all by mosquitos. While the club rooms are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Upon our arrival, Johanna at the front desk informed us that we had been upgraded to the Royal Club section of the Occidental--WHAT A TREAT! Private grounds, restaurant and amenities such as wifi, and even more. The beach itself was fantastic! Also the food was wonderful at the buffet as well as some of the other restaurants on premises. Be sure to try the Palermo Pizza up at the pizzeria--it is absolutely the best (blue cheese & onions with tomato sauce).....I can't wait to go back to this wonderful corner of the world. I stayed at the Riu Palace my last visit to Punta Cana, but all things considered, I prefer the Occidental Grand. The Riu always seemed crowded with people everywhere--the Occidental, even though at full occupancy,never seemed too crowded. The staff was wonderful too...anything we wished for was provided :)

Room Tip: The royal club, nearest to the ocean, is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just got back from our third trip to the Occidental Grand in Punta Cana. We would like to thank the staff in the reception office: Evelyne, Aris, Marta, Ruth, Corena and the others. They would always be effecient, polite, and extremely courteous, and with a smile. In the private dining room, the amazing staff were Victoria, Mariano, Samuel, Clemente, Jesus, Inoa, Alexis, Criseida and Hipolito and lets not forget the kitchen staff. The food was superb each and every time with a menu that changed for breakfast, lunch and supper, daily. Any maintenance issues were looked after as soon as possible. Jesus made sure that the Royal Club grounds were always clean. The private beach area had Jose Manuel and Roccio who looked after our liquid refreshment needs, very well I might add. Jose would also make sure that you had a chair, and at the same time keeping the bar very, very clean. You are probably wondering how could he possibly do all of this and serve you your drink which he already knew after only a few times that you had ordered it, well he did and always with a laugh.
First Club Bar had more wonderful people to serve us liquid refreshments and with a smile: Irene, Naiomi, Ruth, Yenefer, and Carmin. Throughout our stay we attended beach bbques, and martini parties. Thank you to all the planners, the servers, the entertainers, and of course for the fabulous memories we made at these parties.
Talking about entertainment, there are many excusions to take from parasailing to the city tour of Santo Domingo... the people at the office are happy to assist. Or if you love the beach such as we do you can walk and walk on the sand or just sit and read while listening to the ocean waves coming in.... don't forget to watch the sunrise, truly unforgetable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my 11th time at the Occidental due to the location and walking distance to club and off resort locations in addition to the Staff ... I flew in Feb-15 -18 2013 and the service was great ..
I called the Front Entrance Customer Service Rep. Johanna prior to my arrival and she had my room ready !! I got to the hotel at 2 pm and I was on the beach 30 minutes later drink in hand..
If you need any assistance rental cars, etc. Johanna and Lenni at the Front Desk will make it happen. They understand your on vacation.

Steve NYC

Room Tip: The 1st Floor / Lower Level Rooms will have Mosquitoes .. Try to get a room on the second and third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.