We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i was hesitant to book because of some of the reviews i read...we have timeshare we traded to this property,It may be why our experience was not bad.Our room was a 1 bedroom beautiful clean 2 bathrooms.Hotel is on a warm ,sandy,clean open area.Food was not bad in the buffet.you need reservations for restaurants dont waste your time in the italian one,Great experience in the steak one,We kept going back.We had friendly service and made lots of friends..Manny was helpful with our internet and a bartender Fekix made us delicious domenican flag drinks!!Not a 5 star resort but your not paying for one either.

Room Tip: get a 1 or 2 bedroom ..I hear the hotel rooms are outdated and depending were you are it can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    1,827
    1,007
    651
    597
See reviews for
1,322
2,041
163
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Occidental last year for 2 weeks. Although we loved the resort and all of the staff was amazing, we will not be going back this year. Last year we could only book our holidays at the time that they coinicided with the begining of March Break. Figuring that this was a well respected resort for the price that we paid, we expected to see families there during March break and we were ok with that knowing that it was not an Adults Only resort. Boy were we shocked. There was a group called Breakaway Tours fom Cananda that caters to High School students and apparently this is one of the many resorts that they book every year. Now a bunch of teens don't bother us, but these are teens that are there without proper chaperones, at an allincusive, drinking (many were only 15 and 16 and this was there first trip) and being obnoxious. They played lewd games on the beach...loud music and had no concern for anybody...if you left your lounger (even with your towel there) they would throw your towel on the ground, or event take them and your lounger. There were so many adults that had their vacation ruined by this group many of the people that we talked to were disgusted and said they wouldnot return..I feel sorry for anybody that is booked there this March break....just checked online and they are going to be there again.... Also the hotel was overbooked so we did not get to stay in the location we had paid for.
If they did not cater to this tour group (who by the way from what I have heard, paid less than we did) I would consider going again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Anyone eager to travel must visit this resort. Here, I was treated with great service, an awesome atmosphere, and an endless array of fun activities. Whether we were drinking by the pool side bar, or meeting fellow travelers, the end result was always fun.

Room Tip: Go with the Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, including entertainment crew and bartenders, waiters/waitresses. Food and drink excellent. Rooms cleaned in a very timely manner. The nighttime shows were great (really great). And fun themed music and dance parties in the lobby afterward, a great place to meet other guests from around the world. Heavy Russian population. The resort is a reasonable size and nothing is too far. However, the beach can get crowded and it is hard to find beach lounges past 11 AM; it's isn't impossible though. Also, there are a lot of people trying to sell tourist trips everywhere you look (tours, snorkeling, parasailing, etc...) but where won't you find that? Overall it was the best resort I have been to.

There is child care available as well, but I don't have kids so I don't know much about activities for children.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Occidental Grand Jan 8-15, 2013 and had a fabulous experience. Like many others, we were slighly apprehensive of some of the reviews, but we have travelled extensively in Latin America, and were definitely going to keep an open mind. We tried to upgrade to Royal Club on the day we arrived, but it was not available until the next day. So we were put in building 12 and ate at the Mexican restaurant. While our room, was ok, it was certainly not very impressive and the service was mediocre at the restaurant. We were moved the next morning to a building in Royal Club ( beach view) and it was literally like we landed in a different world. The rooms were immaculate, the private restaurant is superb and the service was absolutely outstanding. Seriously, we could not believe the difference and the value is amazing! The private beach is beautiful and chairs always available, and the beach bar was awesome and so convenient. My husband and I felt like we were let in on a well kept secret. It is not that expensive at all to upgrade to Royal Club and it is absolutely worth every penny! We would return to this hotel because of the outstanding treatment we received in Royal Club. Definitely consider looking into Royal Club when booking your vacation here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 21 face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Vacation club employees are the best... the only bad part of this vacation are the sales people trying to upgrade the owners to another level of ownership. We are Platium Plus owners the sales group bug you to attend a meeting so they can try to sell you a higher level of ownership, I know its there job but when you tell them no they should leave you alone... OTHER THAN THAT ITS A GREAT PLACE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In this beautiful hotel, the staff is amazing with so much activities to do.
The resaurants a la carte, are a five stars
The night shows such a good entertainments
The mini bar close to the beach and its buffet, don't give you the opportunity
to miss a good taste of food, and his famous beer and rum.
and also go to dance at its discoteque few steps from the hotel
you will enjoy a beautiful vacations

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.