We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In this beautiful hotel, the staff is amazing with so much activities to do.
The resaurants a la carte, are a five stars
The night shows such a good entertainments
The mini bar close to the beach and its buffet, don't give you the opportunity
to miss a good taste of food, and his famous beer and rum.
and also go to dance at its discoteque few steps from the hotel
you will enjoy a beautiful vacations

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    2,095
    1,216
    752
    691
See reviews for
1,634
2,401
189
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since the cost of this hotel cost pennies compared to other places, I can't complain too much. However, next time I prefer to pay the extra cash and stay at a nicer resort.

Hotel: This is my 2nd time coming here, the 1st was in 2006. Well it looks like they havent updated one thing since. In fact, its much more rundown than I remember. Pro: The room is spacious, the shower has hot water and good pressure, air conditioning worked and theres a mini bar with soda and beer. Con: The toilet was constantly running. We had to leave the lid off and stick our hands in the top to fix the issue after every flush. The shower flooded into the bathroom everytime. The counter tops to the sink was old painted wood. Every dresser was broken. There was no ironing board. And a lock for the safe cost $25.

Pool: There were 4 pools, all very nice, however, there was never enough seats for people. Plenty of huts but not enough seats. We woke up at 7am everyday to lay towels at pool chairs just so we can get chairs- You HAD to do this, otherwise, you were putting your towel on the grass. This was very FRUSTRATING because it is an easy fix.

Food: The breakfast and dinner buffets were under average. I thought the lunch buffet was aweful at both places. The best restaurant was the mexican, it had a great appetizer bar and dinner entrees. The oriental and steakhouse were average. The italian restaurant was aweful, it was the same food they had at the lunch buffet that day. I recommend the seafood dinner. THEY DONT TELL YOU ABOUT THE SEAFOOD DINNER WHEN YOU ARRIVE. They had a promotion- if you stay over 5 nights, you get it for free. So I seeked it out and was able to make a reservation for it.

Service: Not many servers understood english. When I traveled in 2006, I felt like all the servers knew english. 75% of the servers were rude, and took their time getting your drink. When we checked in the room we noticed the minifridge wasnt stocked on beer. I asked the service maid for a few, she told me I could only have 1. That was strange to me. The front desk is friendly and helpful. I do have to say that the maintenance guys kept the grounds clean.

In my opinion, spend the extra money and go somewhere else. So many things were not pleasant that it isn't worth the aggrivation. It seems like they care about quantity over quality...

Room Tip: Building 24 is across from a private pool. The location was good but the rooms are old. Ask for a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dani2414,

Thank you for taking the time and for choosing Occidental Grand Punta Cana for a second time. We’re sorry that your overall experience did not meet your standards, nor ours.

I would like to take this opportunity to announce you that we have started an in-depth renovation that includes updating the guestrooms providing them with new décor, style and comfort, also the restaurants and the lobby Bar.

As for the restaurants, I’ve discussed your feedback with our executive chef, as we’re always looking to improve the experience for our guests. Our food and beverage team strives to provide a variety of options, and all items are made fresh daily.
Regarding the beach chairs issue, please know that we have implemented a new policy that consists on release all the unoccupied chairs for more than 20 minutes so that all our guest enjoy our sunny weather and relax by the beach and pool.
We are sorry for the inconvenience we caused you by not refilling your mini bar which is refilled every other day. I have informed the head of department involved in order to avoid this from happening again.
I am surprised by your comments regarding our staff as we are known for the incredible customer service that we provide. This is important to us and I discussed your review with the team, so we can take measures to improve.
We do hope that you’ll give us a second chance to experience the improvements to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Air Transat Jan. 3 - 10. We enjoyed our week here. The beach is beautiful and the waves are fun to play in. The rooms are a little tired but very clean, spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The maids were friendly and helpful. I asked if I could have diet Pepsi, as well as, regular Pepsi in the mini bar and was promptly brought 4 bottles. She returned a couple days later with 6 bottles as she was having days off and was afraid her replacement might not get me any diet pop. Alexander at the Beach Bar Buffet and the steak house was an excellent waiter. Franklin at the Air Transat beach bar was the best bartender and used bottled pop in the drinks which made a huge difference. He would look up recipes when he hadn't heard of a drink before and made me very good paralyzers. He also walked around the beach when he wasn't busy passing out bottles of water and sweeping sand off the empty lounges. I noticed that the lobby bartenders would also use bottled Pepsi when asked specifically. We tried all the a la cartes and the food was very good, although the beef was tough one night. We had no trouble making reservations as some people indicated. You just need to ask the concierge to book for you. If they try to talk to you about a time-share you just have to say you are not interested. We were only asked once. The disco was being renovated when we were there and so it wasn't open. We found the food at the buffets fine and really enjoyed the omelets, crepes, and pasta bar. Your vacation is what you make it. Relax and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows and a larger balcony. Building 24 was close to the quiet pool, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As always, there are differences in expectations amongst travellers. Our stay was quite comfortable,w ith only one toilet backup, blamed on son. Food was bland but plentiful. The access to the private beach section was great as we always managed to get a lounger. the liquor used for majority of drinks is cheaper, read 37.5 %, but First Club drinks were high quality. Would probably not go back as there are other resorts to explore. The letting of vendors on the property was a pain in the butt, but did buy stuff after talking down prices to less than half.

Room Tip: Upgrade to First Club or Royal Club. Private beach area, private restaurant and pool for Royal Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second trip to the Occidental Grand Punta Cana. We stayed in building 13 which is very close to the beach which we like...we had to walk a ways to the restuarants and buffet's, but that's a good thing....wore off the food we ate. We thoroughly enjoyed the Italian and the Oriental the best. Our room was large and clean and no complaints..our maid Zola was awesome. We stayed 2 weeks and for our last 3 we bought into the Royal Club...I must say Marta was absolutely fabulous...she was so helpful and friendly and made us feel like part of the family. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second time there. (1/8-1/14). The grounds were nice and pretty clean for the most part. Contrary to other reviews I thought the rooms were nice and also clean. For where your at I thought the food was good. Once you realize your not at home, you can come to terms with something's that may not be perfect. Here is a list of the things that I believe are an issue at this resort: The concierge in your villa could be very annoying. There going to try to get you to do a breakfast and promise you all kinds of gifts then try and sell you a timeshare. Don't waste your time!!! Once you say no they don't give up. They will try everyday and then get nasty. You might have to put them in there place. It doesn't stop there. Throughout the resort there are people there annoying you to do excursions. The problem with that is they also don't take no for an answer and try to follow you around the resort. Last but not least is when they let the locals on the resort and let them set up shop. Needless to say how inconvenient that is. Also they tell you that the restaurants are full and are not taking reservations meanwhile there at half capacity. Makes you wonder why that is. (Some say they want money at the door). Housekeeping was ok but sometimes they would only give you one towel. Listen all in all This was a good vacation and if you can get it at the right price then it's worth the stay. Here's my one TIP: due to the lack of beach chairs around the pool and beach area, by 7:30am you will NOT find a chair. People wake up real early and claim chairs by placing bags, towels, or other stuff on them. Once I learned this I was up everyday at 6am claiming my chairs. That seemed like a good time. Is it an inconvenience to have to do this. YES it is.. But worth it when your laying there relaxing and everyone else is laying on the floor.. Hope this helped!!! Enjoy your trip...

Room Tip: Villa 11 is in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The accommodations were fine, but things kept breaking and they kept having sewage problems...toilets not flushing, the smell of crap in the dining room.
The food was super fresh and good.
The drinks....there was nothing other than well liquor anywhere, and the drinks were so weak I swear they didn't have liquor in them. The concoctions were delicious- but there was no liquor in them ! THey should have options for better booze, and they didn't.
The security staff were really doing their job. The beach was nice.
But the resort didn't have enough options for things to do. There was only the show in the evening, and eating, and drinking. They should have other places to go on the resort and things to do in the evening, it felt so claustrophobic after a few nights.
Surely they can come up with more options- more bars, with different qualities of liquors, and a nightclub that opens earlier, so you are not forced to go to the show. Or a few different lounges with different vibes - a Sinatra lounge, a latin lounge, something more Euro.
And don't play latin music all day and all night! Too much!
It felt like they had a particular agenda for everyone and that it wasn't about what guests want, but about the OG agenda: dinner, show, nightclub- in that order. With no other options.
I don't think I'd go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the third floor. They are more open feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
5.8 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
3.5 mi away
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
#62 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 5,383 reviews
6.8 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Dominican Beach
Barcelo Dominican Beach
#61 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 4,721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.