We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Come Here and relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Come Here and relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff in this Hotel is Always very friendly.
We wanted to extend our vacation and the very Nice Lady from the reception Yohanna, made everything ready so fast so that we could extend our vacation Here and Feel comfortable for 5 more days!
All in all a Nice Place to Stay Where you can relax at This beautiful beach and enjoy your vacation.
We have Been Here 4 Times Now and we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,229
    1,992
    1,112
    703
    638
See reviews for
1,491
2,248
178
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, we really weren't sure what to expect here. We have only done one other all-inclusive before. We had a great time at Occidental!
Room:
Our room was in Edificio 11, and it was a nice room on the 3rd floor. We were on the back side of the building, so it was quiet and conveniently located. We had all the promised amenities and fresh towels each day. If we had any issues, housekeeping was quick to respond.
Service:
Marcos at the front desk was extremely helpful, and the guys at guest services were also very accommodating. Whenever we needed a restaurant reservation, information about excursions, they were ready to assist us. The servers were very nice. The sales people in the shops are a bit pushy, but they were worse in the shops outside the resort. Since this was our first time in Dominican Republic, we don't know if this is typical or not.
Drinks:
We recommend making sure you get your bottle of Ron Barcelo Anejo rum. It's delicious on the rocks. Once we ran out of that, we kept ordering Ron Barcelo Dorado on the rocks, Presidente, and the pina coladas. Very tasty and readily available. The wine in the restaurants are better than at the bar. The beach bars and the bar near the stage were our favorites.
Food:
Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant and the taco & pizza take out counters. Tinga tacos! Yum. The crepes at breakfast were delicious, and the lunch buffet down by the beach had a variety of foods to choose from. Things were occasionally salty for my taste in the restaurants, but they had lots of options. We never had dinner in the buffet, so I don't have any comments on that.
What did we like best?
THE BEACH. It's sooo beautiful. We went parasailing and horseback riding. Great fun :)
What did we like least?
We received a lot of sales pitches, but nothing we can't handle. If you politely refuse when you aren't interested you will get along just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building will be quieter if you are closer to the lobby, but I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were at the Occidental Grand Punta Cana for 2 weeks. One week would have been enough. The grounds are beautiful & well maintained. However, the food wasn't very good. I ate lots of rice & beens, for lack of anything else that was good. There was a nice variety of salads & vegetables and sushi at the buffet once a week which was not bad. The Pizza place is very good, provided Santiago makes the pizza. He is the best. It rained quite a bit the second week, and water was leaking in the room from the ceiling. We awoke 2 nights with a wet bed from the rain. They did move us twice. We stayed in building 10, close to the lobby. Good location, if you don't mind the loud music to about 12:30 a.m. Mixed drinks are all very sweet. All juices are full of sugar- no natural juices. The bartenders are all very friendly & most of the waiters & waitresses are very nice. You have to get up early to reserve your chair athe the beach if you want to have a straw parasol providing shade.The entertainment team proved good shows, but are not very friendly to the tourists during the day. Will try another resort next time I go to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel starts at the reception! The hotel welcomes you with the most friendly staff at the reception! Will always help! Jhoanna and other people are always smiling!
The atmosphere in the restaurant is very good! Waiters surround you with care! You will not be able to resist the abundance of dishes!
On the beach never get bored! Animation team arranges a variety of competitions!
In the evening on the stage in the theater great show! Live music! saxophone great!
If you want an unforgettable holiday in the Dominican Republic, visit this hotel!
All the people there are your family! For this reason I am going back again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

arrived at night, and wasn't sure what to expect. when they say take your own towels, and toiletries, they mean it. the package we purchased was to have: robes, slippers and beach towels, upon arrival. we had the robes, who cares about the slippers, but no towels. arrived on friday night, on monday went to the guest services to request beach towels. i watched the man write it on a piece of paper. we left friday late afternoon, still had no beach towels. you are very limited to what towels you are given in your room, and toilet paper seems to be a hot commodity, as well. the resort was great, not awesome. the food was very good, stayed with the basics, being careful. There was never a time, when there was not food available, somewhere in the resort. service was good, if you tipped. take lots of $1 bills. a la carte restaurants, were good, but time consuming.we were only able to do the mexican, italian, & oriental. steakhouse was out of comish. take the early sitting if you can. staff were friendly. 'HEY BUDDY' to Ony, Emilo, Channel, Santos, Ruth, Alis, Alexander & Fabriola at guest services. SUPERB service. beach was great, drinks were always a plenty. every 2 or 3 nights, the locals come in and set up shop, selling their souvenirs, they're almost a pushy as the sellers out in the local public 'market' if you can handle the hassling, by all means go, put barter. that's the only way you'll get a good price. be willing to walk away. for the pool area, lots of little activities going on every day. the only complaint really would be the time share people. i understand the logic behind it, but every time they saw you, they want to set you up. When we go on vacation, we're interested (especially the first visit) of seeing what is there, etc. not going for a 3 hour seminar, and have pressure put on you to sign up. we got to the point, where we would leave our room out the back, that's bad. entertainment at night, always. Rooms were what you would expect. little fridge, coffee maker, air conditioner, even when we left on all night, it was sleepable noise wise. you're in the tropics, you don't need much. go, enjoy, have fun. that's what it is all about. if we went again, we would probably stay at this resort, but it's the area that might keep us away. not much walkin' to do, but on the beach. down the beach each way, there are little shacks set up, where selling nik and naks. to the west, there are actually a couple restaurants, never took money with us, so we didn't go in. but they advertised lobster. on resort premises, there also the excursion people. there is a booth set up in the lobby, but they also roam around showing you what is out there, for you. they're a little pushy, but not as bad as the 'time-share' ones.

Room Tip: all buildings are only 3 levels high, and they are set so you either have a pool view, or back walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This review only applies to the Royal Club. It is a small hotel within a very large hotel.
The experience could not have been better. From check in in your own small area with cold champagne to the private Royal Club dining room.
We booked thru Skyauction at an incredibly low price. Everyone knocked themselves out to be friendly and accommodating. Wanted something for dinner that they didn't have..the next night they did. I recommend it to a friend. They went and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room in Royal Club is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Three of us stayed at this resort November 16 to 23. I usually stay at the Iberostar chain but thought I'd try Occidental as we had a good experience at the Occidental Grand Xcaret in Mexico last year.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with this resort and found myself longing to go home and grateful I was only staying a week. Although it wasn't the resorts fault, my holiday started with my luggage being left on the bus and going to another hotel. Thanks to the hard work of my travel rep, not the Occidental staff, my bag was retrieved several hours later. Our first view of the grounds revealed all of the pools surrounded by yellow caution tape (mother natures fault....torrential rainfall earlier in the week). Thankfully two of the smaller pools were opened the next day.

We were in building 26, right at the beach. I found the room to be adequate but was concerned about the moldy smell which I believe could be traced to the heavy curtains that looked quite black in places. My paranoid mind then wondered about the air conditioning unit and Legionaries disease....LOL, so far still healthy! Also, the promised bathrobe and slippers and beach towels were not in our room when we arrived. When the bathrobes did get there, they were quite ratty looking and didn't have sashes. One night we went without bath towels and had to chase down another roll of toilet paper.

My biggest complaint was the poor service in the buffet. As other travelers have stated, we had to line up, wait for table settings and wait for drinks. I've never experienced this at other resorts. They had a lovely buffet down by the beach that is only open at lunch. I think they are missing a great opportunity to serve guests by not having it open in the morning for breakfast and open as a seafood restaurant at night.

Everyone is drawn to the lobby area in the evening and they don't have nearly enough seating.
Again, another missed opportunity to engage guests. The shows in the evening were really quite good and they usually had something back in the lobby after the show. Although I didn't seek out any activities provided by the entertainment staff, I did observe them in the evening and found they didn't interact with the guests. I have been to other resorts where they get people up dancing (just like in Dirty Dancing!), but this staff seemed very uninterested.

I got very sick on the last day and couldn't make it dinner. The next morning I spoke to several people who were also sick. We suspected something from the lunch buffet.

Beautiful grounds and a beautiful beach can be found at any resort in Punta Cana, so my advice is until the Occidental gets its act together, try another resort. We all work long and hard to enjoy our holidays and we should expect better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.