We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week is long enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a week is long enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

arrived at night, and wasn't sure what to expect. when they say take your own towels, and toiletries, they mean it. the package we purchased was to have: robes, slippers and beach towels, upon arrival. we had the robes, who cares about the slippers, but no towels. arrived on friday night, on monday went to the guest services to request beach towels. i watched the man write it on a piece of paper. we left friday late afternoon, still had no beach towels. you are very limited to what towels you are given in your room, and toilet paper seems to be a hot commodity, as well. the resort was great, not awesome. the food was very good, stayed with the basics, being careful. There was never a time, when there was not food available, somewhere in the resort. service was good, if you tipped. take lots of $1 bills. a la carte restaurants, were good, but time consuming.we were only able to do the mexican, italian, & oriental. steakhouse was out of comish. take the early sitting if you can. staff were friendly. 'HEY BUDDY' to Ony, Emilo, Channel, Santos, Ruth, Alis, Alexander & Fabriola at guest services. SUPERB service. beach was great, drinks were always a plenty. every 2 or 3 nights, the locals come in and set up shop, selling their souvenirs, they're almost a pushy as the sellers out in the local public 'market' if you can handle the hassling, by all means go, put barter. that's the only way you'll get a good price. be willing to walk away. for the pool area, lots of little activities going on every day. the only complaint really would be the time share people. i understand the logic behind it, but every time they saw you, they want to set you up. When we go on vacation, we're interested (especially the first visit) of seeing what is there, etc. not going for a 3 hour seminar, and have pressure put on you to sign up. we got to the point, where we would leave our room out the back, that's bad. entertainment at night, always. Rooms were what you would expect. little fridge, coffee maker, air conditioner, even when we left on all night, it was sleepable noise wise. you're in the tropics, you don't need much. go, enjoy, have fun. that's what it is all about. if we went again, we would probably stay at this resort, but it's the area that might keep us away. not much walkin' to do, but on the beach. down the beach each way, there are little shacks set up, where selling nik and naks. to the west, there are actually a couple restaurants, never took money with us, so we didn't go in. but they advertised lobster. on resort premises, there also the excursion people. there is a booth set up in the lobby, but they also roam around showing you what is out there, for you. they're a little pushy, but not as bad as the 'time-share' ones.

Room Tip: all buildings are only 3 levels high, and they are set so you either have a pool view, or back walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,945
    1,830
    1,007
    651
    597
See reviews for
1,323
2,042
163
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This review only applies to the Royal Club. It is a small hotel within a very large hotel.
The experience could not have been better. From check in in your own small area with cold champagne to the private Royal Club dining room.
We booked thru Skyauction at an incredibly low price. Everyone knocked themselves out to be friendly and accommodating. Wanted something for dinner that they didn't have..the next night they did. I recommend it to a friend. They went and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room in Royal Club is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Three of us stayed at this resort November 16 to 23. I usually stay at the Iberostar chain but thought I'd try Occidental as we had a good experience at the Occidental Grand Xcaret in Mexico last year.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with this resort and found myself longing to go home and grateful I was only staying a week. Although it wasn't the resorts fault, my holiday started with my luggage being left on the bus and going to another hotel. Thanks to the hard work of my travel rep, not the Occidental staff, my bag was retrieved several hours later. Our first view of the grounds revealed all of the pools surrounded by yellow caution tape (mother natures fault....torrential rainfall earlier in the week). Thankfully two of the smaller pools were opened the next day.

We were in building 26, right at the beach. I found the room to be adequate but was concerned about the moldy smell which I believe could be traced to the heavy curtains that looked quite black in places. My paranoid mind then wondered about the air conditioning unit and Legionaries disease....LOL, so far still healthy! Also, the promised bathrobe and slippers and beach towels were not in our room when we arrived. When the bathrobes did get there, they were quite ratty looking and didn't have sashes. One night we went without bath towels and had to chase down another roll of toilet paper.

My biggest complaint was the poor service in the buffet. As other travelers have stated, we had to line up, wait for table settings and wait for drinks. I've never experienced this at other resorts. They had a lovely buffet down by the beach that is only open at lunch. I think they are missing a great opportunity to serve guests by not having it open in the morning for breakfast and open as a seafood restaurant at night.

Everyone is drawn to the lobby area in the evening and they don't have nearly enough seating.
Again, another missed opportunity to engage guests. The shows in the evening were really quite good and they usually had something back in the lobby after the show. Although I didn't seek out any activities provided by the entertainment staff, I did observe them in the evening and found they didn't interact with the guests. I have been to other resorts where they get people up dancing (just like in Dirty Dancing!), but this staff seemed very uninterested.

I got very sick on the last day and couldn't make it dinner. The next morning I spoke to several people who were also sick. We suspected something from the lunch buffet.

Beautiful grounds and a beautiful beach can be found at any resort in Punta Cana, so my advice is until the Occidental gets its act together, try another resort. We all work long and hard to enjoy our holidays and we should expect better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were supposed to be here Nov 9th to 23rd, left on the 17th and finished our vacation at the Grand Palladium next door.
First off, it was our 30th wedding anniversary, we told them when we booked it was plus I emailed them twice and got no response, didn't do anything special for us.
This was our 9th All inclusive, we are not picky travellers, but we got lucky this time. If your travelling in the Transat "Preferred' club, make sure when you check in ask for a renovated room, we were initially put in Block 24 (Preferred Club) the rooms were very run down and dated, we asked to move which they did and put us in Block 11, much nicer renovated room,very lucky we did that because a tropical storm came through, flooded the original room we were in Block 24 with 6 inches of water plus flooded and close all pools for 5 days. Block 11 stayed dry thank god. Our friends were at the Palladium and told us all of the pools were fine so we paid an extra 350 bucks and moved over there, worth every penny.
The Service at the Occidental wasn't that great, we went to the Japanese ala-carte, wait 30 minutes just to get water, it wasn't the staff's fault, the whole resort were understaffed most of the time.
The food was OK
The Beach is awesome
The entertainment staff do the best they can as do the waiters and waitresses
Each Block has their own Concierge, they aren't Concierges at all, their only goal is to get you into a time share..NO EYE CONTACT LOL
Also, a person we met there paid an extra 200 dollars for the "Concierge package"..got nothing more than what we got, just a big rip off

My advice to you..Spend the extra money like we ended up doing and go to the Grand Palladium, that resort was AWESOME in every way. But spend your whole holiday at the Palladium, you'll be glad you did

Room Tip: Stay away from Block 24 (Transat preference club) ask for a renovated room right away, Blocks 10-11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoy the resort all the fun club employes are great i dont remember all the names but they are all great they made my stay great. The shows are fantastic all and all its my 2ndstay. U will continue to come back i love it there

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled to Occidental Grand Punta Cana in the first week of November. I had a great time at this hotel. Everyone is very friendly. First off Marcos at the front desk is super friendly and will go out of his way to accomodate your needs..He is the front desk manager.
Then there is Francisco at guest services who is a sweetheart. He will help you out with whatever questions you have and will get the job done.
One of the supervisors for the waitors and bar tenders is named Delvi. He helps out his staff when it gets very busy and makes sure that the guests are getting fast and efficient service.
Last but not least there is Antonio Jose who works at the bar at the buffet at the beach. He is great and is very creative with making someone a drink of the top of his head.
The hotel is clean, the food is good and the beach is beautiful and thats all you need if you are not to picky.

Room Tip: I was in building 23 and it was the perfect location. It was at the center of everything. I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back a week ago and I'm ready to return. This is a wonderful resort in many ways. Not perfect, but very nice. There is a lot to enjoy about this place, if you have an open mind and don't have 5 star expectations. First of all, the staff are very friendly and willing to assist you in any way. Be polite and expect to treat them as you would like to be treated. A few dollars here and there go a long way, but don't feel obligated ( but would you go anywhere where you are from and not tip? ). The resort is beautifully landscaped and the beach is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are fine, but not breathtaking, but who spends a lot of time in the room when you are in paradise? They are clean and the staff will get you what you need. We are First Club members as part of the Occidental Vacation Club, so we get some extra perks, but even without that, I would enjoy this resort. Restaurants are good, but not great. Keep in mind this is not a luxory resort where you pay out the nose. Buffet is good, but could have more variety. Theme restaurants are much nicer, but get your reservations in early, or you might miss out. There is an open air pizza and Mexican take out upstairs that is a very nice change of pace. We never missed a meal and never went hungary. They are going to pitch their vacation club membership, but be firm and say no if you are not interested. They will move on. They are not overbearing like some places. In summary, go here if you want a very nice relaxing vacation with wonderful weather, a great beach and a lot of relaxation. Entertainment is limited and activities are ok, but not great. If you expect more maybe you should search other places, but I really like this place and look forward to our third trip there next year.

Room Tip: If you want really good perks upgrade to the Royal Club for your stay. Private beach and bartender w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.