We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Ok but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It was Ok but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were supposed to be here Nov 9th to 23rd, left on the 17th and finished our vacation at the Grand Palladium next door.
First off, it was our 30th wedding anniversary, we told them when we booked it was plus I emailed them twice and got no response, didn't do anything special for us.
This was our 9th All inclusive, we are not picky travellers, but we got lucky this time. If your travelling in the Transat "Preferred' club, make sure when you check in ask for a renovated room, we were initially put in Block 24 (Preferred Club) the rooms were very run down and dated, we asked to move which they did and put us in Block 11, much nicer renovated room,very lucky we did that because a tropical storm came through, flooded the original room we were in Block 24 with 6 inches of water plus flooded and close all pools for 5 days. Block 11 stayed dry thank god. Our friends were at the Palladium and told us all of the pools were fine so we paid an extra 350 bucks and moved over there, worth every penny.
The Service at the Occidental wasn't that great, we went to the Japanese ala-carte, wait 30 minutes just to get water, it wasn't the staff's fault, the whole resort were understaffed most of the time.
The food was OK
The Beach is awesome
The entertainment staff do the best they can as do the waiters and waitresses
Each Block has their own Concierge, they aren't Concierges at all, their only goal is to get you into a time share..NO EYE CONTACT LOL
Also, a person we met there paid an extra 200 dollars for the "Concierge package"..got nothing more than what we got, just a big rip off

My advice to you..Spend the extra money like we ended up doing and go to the Grand Palladium, that resort was AWESOME in every way. But spend your whole holiday at the Palladium, you'll be glad you did

Room Tip: Stay away from Block 24 (Transat preference club) ask for a renovated room right away, Blocks 10-11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,301
    2,042
    1,163
    724
    658
See reviews for
1,553
2,337
184
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really enjoy the resort all the fun club employes are great i dont remember all the names but they are all great they made my stay great. The shows are fantastic all and all its my 2ndstay. U will continue to come back i love it there

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled to Occidental Grand Punta Cana in the first week of November. I had a great time at this hotel. Everyone is very friendly. First off Marcos at the front desk is super friendly and will go out of his way to accomodate your needs..He is the front desk manager.
Then there is Francisco at guest services who is a sweetheart. He will help you out with whatever questions you have and will get the job done.
One of the supervisors for the waitors and bar tenders is named Delvi. He helps out his staff when it gets very busy and makes sure that the guests are getting fast and efficient service.
Last but not least there is Antonio Jose who works at the bar at the buffet at the beach. He is great and is very creative with making someone a drink of the top of his head.
The hotel is clean, the food is good and the beach is beautiful and thats all you need if you are not to picky.

Room Tip: I was in building 23 and it was the perfect location. It was at the center of everything. I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back a week ago and I'm ready to return. This is a wonderful resort in many ways. Not perfect, but very nice. There is a lot to enjoy about this place, if you have an open mind and don't have 5 star expectations. First of all, the staff are very friendly and willing to assist you in any way. Be polite and expect to treat them as you would like to be treated. A few dollars here and there go a long way, but don't feel obligated ( but would you go anywhere where you are from and not tip? ). The resort is beautifully landscaped and the beach is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are fine, but not breathtaking, but who spends a lot of time in the room when you are in paradise? They are clean and the staff will get you what you need. We are First Club members as part of the Occidental Vacation Club, so we get some extra perks, but even without that, I would enjoy this resort. Restaurants are good, but not great. Keep in mind this is not a luxory resort where you pay out the nose. Buffet is good, but could have more variety. Theme restaurants are much nicer, but get your reservations in early, or you might miss out. There is an open air pizza and Mexican take out upstairs that is a very nice change of pace. We never missed a meal and never went hungary. They are going to pitch their vacation club membership, but be firm and say no if you are not interested. They will move on. They are not overbearing like some places. In summary, go here if you want a very nice relaxing vacation with wonderful weather, a great beach and a lot of relaxation. Entertainment is limited and activities are ok, but not great. If you expect more maybe you should search other places, but I really like this place and look forward to our third trip there next year.

Room Tip: If you want really good perks upgrade to the Royal Club for your stay. Private beach and bartender w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Gorgeous views and grounds! Good buffet food with a nice selection at each meal. Great food and service in the Mexican and Italian restaurants. The Steak House was closed during our stay and so I cannot review this. Eric was wonderful, charming and very accommodating. He made our Thanksgiving dinner special at the Italian restaurant! After dinner shows were also excellent. Dancers really were outstanding! We had a leaky air conditioner vent and it dripped during the last 2 days of our visit. No one really seemed too anxious to fix it, but not a huge problem as we were not in the room too much and just placed the ice bucket under it. Beach was nice but could have used a bit more ridding of the sea moss. Also, more beach/pool chairs are needed desperately!! By 8am, there was not a beach chair left in sight. Grounds were manicured very well and lovely! We have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this is one of the better ones. Check in and check out were very efficient and Lenni at the front desk was extra helpful. Only thing to be weary of....the staff trying to sell Occidental Vacation Club memberships. When I am vacationing, I do not want to spend more than one hour listening to their information and when I say "no". NO is what it is--a bit too much pressure in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is very good!! When we first arrived they gave us a room close to the lobby, I didnt like it so I went to guest services and that's where we met Francisco Ogando, we told him that we would like a room closer to the hotel an within a few hours we got moved to a room closer to the beach nicer/bigger room!... We had the best trip ever! Francisco Ogando is the person to see if you have any problems or questions he will answer/ fix your problem promptly and always with a smile!! We love him!!!..

As for the hotel it is definatly worth a visit!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Cathy and I just returned from the Punta Cana Occidental Grand. We were there for the week of November 17, 2012. We had a great time at this mega resort. The staff was gracious and professional.

This ia an all inclusive resort and it includes your meals and drinks including alcohol. Just walk right up to a bar and order.

We ate most all of our meals at the buffet. The chefs did a great job putting out great selections for every meal.

This resort is a melting pot for many nationalities. The ability to speak Spanish would be helpful. Cathy and I don't habla and we got along just fine as there were enough bilingual staff to communicate with.

I don't understand why so many people who have provided reviews here have been so critical. After reading all the negative comments we arrived thinking we made a bad choice. This is a beautiful resort and we had a great time.

I dove with SeaPro who have a hut on the property. I thought everyone was nice. Diving from this resort is not easy or convenient. The best diving is over an hours drive down to La Ramona. We took the Catalina Island trip. They provide a nice bar-be que on the beach. The return trip to the main land is a party boat with all the rum you can drink. They hold bottom time down to 45 min and keep their surface intervals to 30 minutes.
The reef in front of the hotel is about 200 yards out. Between the reef and the roped swimming area is the boat motor way. So it is best not to swim out of the roped off area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.