We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Days in the Dominican Republic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“7 Days in the Dominican Republic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great trip. The room was average, but the customer service was excellent. Good entertainment. Every night there was a different show. The gym was very outdated, so if fitness is important to you as you vacation prepare to go off site or do something that does not require a gym. There are good quality aerobics classes at the hotel. Food was great, but you must make reservations a day ahead of time for any restaurant outside the buffet and the line for doing that is long. Also there was no need for me to exchange my money for pesos. Everyone uses dollars. Just take a bunch of ones for tipping.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    423
    215
    84
    66
See reviews for
303
424
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From all the negative reviews I was a bit worried but I was leaning to the reviews that were more positive!

This plave is beautiful. The grounds, gardens, wildlife & amazing birds singing.

I had the best massage I've ever had by Dominica. Best $ spent. Plan to have a few more before I go home.

The property is very wide which equals large area for sunning.

All areas are really clean including our room. We have a duplex unit. 2 floors sleeps 6. 2 queen beds up stairs and 2 singles on main floor. It's right beside the main pool but our room overlooks the gardens with a view of the beach!

We are really enjoying ourselves. Going to eat Mexican tonight. Italian tomorrow and Gourmet the next!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This truly was the worst vacation of my life (and I traveled extensively in my 50 years of age). We asked for an ocean view room... and we had it. But there is absolutely no warning that oceanview room meant three beachfront parties in a row that go from 10 pm until 2 am. The music played is very loud reggae with nonstop drum bass rhythm. Splittingly loud, gave me nonstop headache for days. To be fair, two of these three parties were at the adjacent property, but at least there should be a system of warnings that this nightmare is coming. We were refused to change room the first two nights. On the third night, we were grudgingly given an "upgrade," which did not help because that particular party took place at a different location (close to the upgraded room). I honestly think they gave it to us just to make fun, since surely they should have known that it will not help that particular night. In addition, the new room had A/C problems, so we were hot as well as unable to sleep due to the noise on the beach.
Customer service is nonexistent. We were told that there are two young women that are helpful (one is Russian, and the other is named Sarah), but we never saw them. The only people at the reception were young men, who treated us with total contempt - I guess, for being unable to enjoy that ear-splitting noise at 2 am.
I have requested a refund of the upgrade charge... let's see how that goes.

Room Tip: I think building 8 is the only one safe from noise (back buildings, while far from the beach parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow, one of the worst experiences of my life.
Paid for a swim up superior room, was moved to a third floor inferior room. Toilets leaked, shower leaked, ceiling was caved in due to a LEAK.
Was in DR for a friends wedding and their resort (now larimar) was sold out. read reviews, seemed alright....oh man were they horribly wrong.

From day 1 everything was terrible. The resort is old and dated, filthy, staff is unfriendly. We paid for a superior swim up room, what we got was a third floor INFERIOR room. As mentioned above; leaking everywhere, ohh and our fridge didn't work. Went to front desk, complained. Told us nothing could be done because resort was sold out and they would notify us the following day (which they never did by the way). Was advised to speak with sunwing rep, who was actually busy and more concerned with trying to flirt with the front desk staff.
He said nothing could be done and we had to file a complaint with our provider. So we contacted flightcentre (again this is on day 1). They said they were going to try and do something for us. Let me say nothing was done, and nothing has been done STILL.

ok now for the food: here's an obvious people love bacon!! Bacon for breakfast is a staple.. There was one tray of bacon every morning and guess what ...it was gone by 830 am (old people wake up early...fact). I felt really bad for the omelet guy, he just stood there for hours with no break or support with lineups around the corner making omelets for cheap euro tourists.

In all honesty- I don't see how this place is a 3.5 star...this should be a 2 star, we walked on the beach and saw some other resorts - i.e whalo bravo looks ever worse. They should be both 2 stars!
Now larimar was absolutely beautiful and well worth the 'day pass'.

Accommodation: 1/5
only because there was A/C, water had to be asked to be refilled and there were only the large 1.5 L bottles 9probably to save money), oh and we didn't get what we paid for in the swim up room...which isn't really a swim up either, it's just on the ground floor, with a pool in front of your room.

Food: 2/5
don't eat anything raw, or undercooked, or guess what you'll get sick. No options, long lineups. Booze is all generic crap, and people give you dirty looks when you don't tip...hey guess what it's an all inclusive, I'll tip every day ...not every drink!

Facilities 2/5
bc this is what this resort should be a 2*, old, dated facility, no gym, disco was terrible.

Service 1/5
a 1 for the cleaning services, and the omelet guy!, because I feel bad for giving them a 0...the omelet guy deserves a 10! to endure the patience is alot.
Front desk staff were useless, thanks for ruining my vacation, for placing is in a terrible, inferior, damaged room. 0 for sunwing...I will NEVER EVER purchase anything from flightcentre, and/or sunwing. My complaint has been in for almost 2 months and sunwing hasn't even responded...I guess they have ALOT of complaints to sift through.

So overall this place is a lonesome 1...don't bother going...Choose wisely, for management reading this; you need to revamp your services from the ground up. There's no easy fix...ok maybe one..don't put people in rooms that have damage, leaks etc...

AVOID VISTA SOL!!!

Room Tip: Don't get the swim up...waste of money, bc you probably won't get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have travelled extensively and this was our worst resort experience. First, it was a slow process to check in. When we finally got to our room, it was smelly and moldy, the a/c was broken with water dripping all over the floor and the toilet did not work. Hence, we had to change room, which took over an hour.

Secondly, the food was nothing to write home about. On our third day, we got our biggest surprise at dinner.....OMG!!!! MICE RUNNING OVER THE FRUIT, CAKE AND PASTRIES COUNTER....especially on the cakes. We immediately advised the front desk and the management staff, but nothing was done about it. On the fourth day of our stay, we decided to have dinner a la carte at the 'GOURMET' restaurant, but our surprise continued there as well......OMG!!! MICE RUNNING ALONG THE FLOORS. This is surely a HEALTH HAZZARD, which is NOT being taken seriously by Vista Sol hotel management.

Thirdly, many times we were given dirty beach towels and when asked why the clean towels are so damp, we were then given dry ones with no explanation.
It seemed cleanliness is not top priority for this hotel.......THEY ARE JUST DIRTY..... We did not see any cleaning crew in dining room, on a nightly basis, as seen in other hotels that we've stayed at. Why were there peacocks in dining room? We could not grasp that concept.

Last but not least, it would be really nice if the staff spoke better English.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Concern Traveller

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my second time staying in this all inclusive hotel in Punta Cana. Last year, it was OK but this year, I am so glad to choose again this Facility because of an excellent Good Value for the price, I could not be more happy because of an excellent customer service from a professional and dedicated front guest employee ( Mrs. Lara Molinari)
She is real credit to your facility. She speaks many languages dealing with all different cultures and handling all needs with such respect and dedication. She is very attentive, polite and proactive. She satisfied me and many other customers dealing with all our concerns from rooms issues to food or even activities that were not even in her job description . Everyone was well attended to by all your staff and especially Mrs. Lara Molinari.
I would especially like to thank all your staff and especially Mrs. Lara Molinari.
I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family, and I’m sure I’ll be back on vacation. I hope to get the same quality of service when I return. Thanks again, see you soon.

Room Tip: Rooms by the back pools are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort met all my expettations for the value amount. I enjoyed my superior room,the cleanliness,the restaurants and bars and surroundings.Staff is friendly and helpfull. The shows r the same as everywhere, but I enjoy them every time. The animation was was pleasent funny and intrattaining, they made the day, including MANAURI TAVERAS, i though he made every guest stay, pleasent and enjoyable, a fun person to b aroun all true the day and at night at disco...the life of the party. Good job MANAURI TAVERAS

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location and the lay-out of the hotel is such that it possesses an ample beach that offers one of the largest amount of square meters per guest in the vicinity. The existing beach vegetation has been re-distributed to ensure adequate space for those wishing to enjoy sun or shadow. Together with the pristine beach and the transparent blue sea water our clients will find the relaxed atmosphere they are looking for. The beach is also ideally suited for long walks. Vista Sol Punta Cana has 471 rooms, the right size to be able to provide a personal service to our guests. Together with the colorful mature tropical gardens it offers two unique selling points when a hotel selection is to be made. Vista Sol Punta Cana is the perfect option for couples of all ages, honeymoons, romantic getaways or just to get away from it all and relax in peaceful tropical setting. WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Free of charge only in and around the theater and at an additional charge everywhere else. Evening entertainment includes professional shows and a discotheque where the drinks (local brands) are on the house. For golf aficionados the nearest golf course in only five minutes away (green fees payable), for shopping aficionados the largest local shopping mall - Palma Real Shopping Center - is nearby. Vista Sol Punta Cana further offers 3 pools, kids pools, 2 jacuzzi, 3 tennis courts, mini golf. Mini club, 7 bars (including the beach bar and pool bars), a sportsbar, 1 bufet restaurant and 3 a la carte specialty restaurants ( Mexican, Italian and Gourmet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.