We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Current review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bavaro
1 review
“Current review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The Vista Sol has its highs and its lows. The grounds are immaculate, the beach is amazing, staff is very friendly, and the service is ok.

Now the unexpected lows. The reservations for the restaurants is very limited. The line forms around 8:30am to reserve and takes about just an hour to get your reservation, if your lucky to get one. In the gormet restaurant, they only used 6 tables out of approx. 24 tables. I hate when resorts ration.

we upgraded to the oceanfront junior suite. Beautiful room and view, but the air conditioning is rationed. Blinds and shares closed for 4 days, temperature was never lower than 28 c, or approx 78 Fahrenheit. Walked to lobby to report on day one, and no one ever showed up the whole week. they refuse to drop the temp of the chilled water loop that feeds air handler unit. Simply rationing. Almost to hot for adult time. Thank goodness for the ceiling fan.

The free wifi is a joke. Tried four days before I ponied up 40 dollars for premium wifi. Also they want 40 dollars to use the safe. Which is more dang rationing. The safe is bolted to the room, it is a fixture of the room I paid for, and they want to charge extra?

The kids night is like all night, all week. The entertainment is all centered around kids. Hokie pokie, you name it. Just horrid

the sports bar beach area is nice. Just watch out for all the line jumping, rude people. Same for the bar, you respectively get in a line like a curteous human being, and you will be standing there all week. Why the staff serves people jumping in front of you, will straight get your temper flaring up. The food is average, you will find more of what you won't eat than what you will.

All in all, beautiful place, amazing views, but lacks plenty. My rating 2.9 out of 5.0

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    376
    198
    73
    58
See reviews for
264
384
41
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned and had a great time. Food was very good and very fresh. Red meats were a little overcooked, but that's just me. Beach was great, pools very clean and service was as expected - every thing is on island time. But what else did I have to do? The only complaint I had was the pools closed at 7:00 - way too early in my mind. I love to take evening swims after dinner to work off a little of the dessert (which were absolutely fabulous) and ocean is not an option after dark. Overall I would recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will start with most obvious beautiful grounds and beach food was very good lots of fresh fruit deserts wonderful and well displayed variety of meats lunch and supper . We stayed from April 6 to 13 There were 7 couples some had updated section of resort and some had the older version I had older version but was very clean beds hard but very comfortable no smells was near the pool buffet entertainment area 2100 section was quiet. beach area activities were very good. Now for the downs check in was slow I mean slow there were only 7 couples and took over 1 hr for all of us to get checked in and none of our rooms were ready was told to come back to front desk at 3 ummm it was 3 2 couples rooms were told ready and when they got there they were not cleaned they were given bottle of booze and or fruit basket for inconvenienced entertainment needs a lot of improvement and they definitely need entertainment in the lobby .... Overall we all gave this resort 3.5* with a little more improvement it can become a 4

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

went on spur of moment .. older resort. grounds are breathtaking. wild exotic gardens full of color
the resort and grounds open up..
beautiful walk ways. lush gardens
open buffet . huge peacocks everywhere.
an out door cafe / like a parisiene cafe..
beach is amazing. turquoise water.
lots of trees , if you prefer shade
the food is great ... lots of choice , new feature theme every day
best a la carte ever , the steak was amazing !!
and in my experience DR is not known for their "roast beast"
would go back --
three pools
the front part of the resort seemed to be full of local ... closer to the beach is quiter..
they also have a new section..
was so much Fun !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we first arrived, transfer left without us(Amstar). It took them 2 different vans before taking us to hotel. Hotel was overbooked. We were moved next door to Vista Sol. First thing we are shown is the handle comes off in shower. Dont pull too hard. Cold breakfast food, dry dinner food. The glasses in bathroom were never cleaned or changed, and the fridge was never restocked.Transfer people forgot about us. We complained to Cheap Caribbean, and were told That Presidential Suites would offer us a free 5 day stay($750.00value). I run a retail establishment, that free stay is not worth the paper to print it on. All we wanted was reimbursement for lack of service from Amstar and the difference in cost from one hotel to the other. Apparently not the problem of Cheap Caribbean.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cap-Pele, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I just returned from my vacation at Vista Sol and it was a very good vacation the staff was excellent my husband was sick the firth night propebly a virus and the doctor on the resort was very good there we very caring even the nurse they stay in our room most off the day . We had the swim up room excellent the food was good . The grounds were beautiful it was allways clean . The beach was beautiful allways clean to I love my stay the only complain I could said was are guide was unrespectable .

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent servise, excellent place, beautiful sea. Great service, I would llike to thank especially to Felicia Bavas, our favourite waitress, whom was very nice and helpful. Gracias Felicia!!! Kristína With Anna

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location and the lay-out of the hotel is such that it possesses an ample beach that offers one of the largest amount of square meters per guest in the vicinity. The existing beach vegetation has been re-distributed to ensure adequate space for those wishing to enjoy sun or shadow. Together with the pristine beach and the transparent blue sea water our clients will find the relaxed atmosphere they are looking for. The beach is also ideally suited for long walks. Vista Sol Punta Cana has 471 rooms, the right size to be able to provide a personal service to our guests. Together with the colorful mature tropical gardens it offers two unique selling points when a hotel selection is to be made. Vista Sol Punta Cana is the perfect option for couples of all ages, honeymoons, romantic getaways or just to get away from it all and relax in peaceful tropical setting. WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Free of charge only in and around the theater and at an additional charge everywhere else. Evening entertainment includes professional shows and a discotheque where the drinks (local brands) are on the house. For golf aficionados the nearest golf course in only five minutes away (green fees payable), for shopping aficionados the largest local shopping mall - Palma Real Shopping Center - is nearby. Vista Sol Punta Cana further offers 3 pools, kids pools, 2 jacuzzi, 3 tennis courts, mini golf. Mini club, 7 bars (including the beach bar and pool bars), a sportsbar, 1 bufet restaurant and 3 a la carte specialty restaurants ( Mexican, Italian and Gourmet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.