We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Sol Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Sol Punta Cana to your Saves list
Vista Sol Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 5 days, and I think we lost weigh the food in all restaurants was very unhealthy, I dunno if the staff isn't get paid cuz they work is just lame, there isn't a smoke free environment at all even tough is a lot of families, the cleanliness of the swimming pools was very doubtful, the cocktail at the bar had no taste and the worst was like the customer service at the hotel looks like they don't even make an effort to give an answer, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    529
    262
    108
    90
See reviews for
401
513
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Junior Suites are beachfront with jacuzzi, fridge stocked with beer and pop, and good rum provided. You also get a nice balcony, upgraded beach chairs in a separate area with beach beds, and dedicated towel service with ice and pop. Security also keep the non-hotel vendors away. The people are excellent, except for the blond reserving the a la carte's, who serves Russians before anyone else in line. The food is good. The wine is awful, but you can get good wine at the supermarket in town for a reasonable price, and the a la carte restaurants will let you bring your own wine. The mixed drinks are very sweet (not great), but the Presidente beer is good and cold. There are many Russians and many are boorish at the buffet and bars. You must pay $US45 for a lesson in the catamaran before you can take it out on your own, but that is a good thing, even if you are an experienced sailor. We had a lot of trouble with our door lock (dead batteries, corroded contacts). The rooms could have been cleaner (mould in the shower, cockroaches under the jacuzzi). The beach is beautiful with lots of trees for shade and full sun near the water.

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Carabela for one week. The food was from average to very good, depending on the day. The place is beautiful and, although the beach was heaven, we realized it was one of the "worst" beaches compared to neighboring hotels, since ours had too many palm trees and finding a spot with continuous sunlight was difficult. Besides, the light in the room or in the lobby was really dim, which made reading after sunset almost impossible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I took my daughter(25) and son(28) for an eight day vacation (over Thanksgiving) and stayed at the Carabela. We had a wonderful time!! The room was good. We thought we would have two queen beds, but they ended up putting an extra double bed in as well. We were comfortable. Room 211. The food was good, the people just beautiful. The staff was always helpful, friendly, singing, smiling.
Relaxing, wonderful beach, Alejandro at the pool hut was so great. Would be happy to discuss any questions anyone had. Took all US $ and never needed anything else, other than a credit card. Took LOTS of $1's for tipping. Also went to dollar store and bought a bag of stuff for the housekeeper each day which she was thrilled over! Never saw any bugs of any kind. Very clean facility, grounds, etc.
Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: 211 is on second floor overlooking pool. Great location. If you want quieter then avoid facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

nice and clean place, it is all inclusive resort. Food is very good, drinks not strong.
My stay would be lovely if i would not have been constantly mistaken or taken for a Russian woman. The men working there keep on bothering especially women by trying to talk to them in Russian. Honestly it was driving me nuts!

Room Tip: if you want to have early night do not take a room close to theatre, there is musing till late night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about the hotel having read the reviews, but chose it to start our holiday in the DR since we found a good deal. The room was spacious enough for the two of us, shower ok albeit the bathroom a bit run down. Yes there are bugs but when in tropical weather that's to be expected - bring the repellant with you. Since we needed some downtime to unwind from work, the couple of days here were fine. Any longer and we would have been bored as there really is not a lot to do in Bavaro (and the resident hotel club whilst playing good music doesn't have many people). The food was just ok and the drinks in the pool bar good fun (though the staff do take a bit of time to warm to admittedly). So passable but nothing to rave home about...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
4.5 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Dominican Beach
Barcelo Dominican Beach
#61 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 4,719 reviews
4.8 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.4 mi away
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
#63 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 5,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Sol Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Sol Punta Cana

Address: Av Alemania s/n | El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Sol Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location and the lay-out of the hotel is such that it possesses an ample beach that offers one of the largest amount of square meters per guest in the vicinity. The existing beach vegetation has been re-distributed to ensure adequate space for those wishing to enjoy sun or shadow. Together with the pristine beach and the transparent blue sea water our clients will find the relaxed atmosphere they are looking for. The beach is also ideally suited for long walks. Vista Sol Punta Cana has 471 rooms, the right size to be able to provide a personal service to our guests. Together with the colorful mature tropical gardens it offers two unique selling points when a hotel selection is to be made. Vista Sol Punta Cana is the perfect option for couples of all ages, honeymoons, romantic getaways or just to get away from it all and relax in peaceful tropical setting. WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Free of charge only in and around the theater and at an additional charge everywhere else. Evening entertainment includes professional shows and a discotheque where the drinks (local brands) are on the house. For golf aficionados the nearest golf course in only five minutes away (green fees payable), for shopping aficionados the largest local shopping mall - Palma Real Shopping Center - is nearby. Vista Sol Punta Cana further offers 3 pools, kids pools, 2 jacuzzi, 3 tennis courts, mini golf. Mini club, 7 bars (including the beach bar and pool bars), a sportsbar, 1 bufet restaurant and 3 a la carte specialty restaurants ( Mexican, Italian and Gourmet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Vista Sol Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carabela Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Carabela Beach Resort And Casino
Carabela Bavaro Hotel
Carabela Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Sol Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.