We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your vacation money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for your vacation money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family stayed at the Palace Deluxe arriving July 6 and leaving the 13. The resort is just a short bus trip from Punta Cana Airport. The grounds are amazing and the pools are awesome. Very family oriented with swimming pools dedicated to young children and a small water park for older kids ( for a fee ). We saw plenty of teenagers walking around at all hours with a teen disco for them to congregate at. The food was very good at the buffet style restaurants and pretty good at the restaurants that require reservations. You have to eat at the Japanese restaurant. The food was awesome and the show, a la Benihana, was also great. We had no problems reserving the catamarans and snorkel gear. The beach crew was entertaining ( led by Espaghetti ). They would pull you from your lounger and make you play games for booze. Did not see one drunk person in all my time there even though plenty of people were partaking of the spirits. Then why not great?

First we were a family of five with two rooms. At check in, they wanted to place us in far away rooms on different floors. Mind you, we had requested side by side rooms since we have a young one. I was mildly upset and was punished by not receiving a room till after 5:00 pm. (Same floor, different wings of the building). The waiters and waitresses were not great, either. During meals, they would get your first round of drinks alright, but then they would not come by the table any more. It got to the point that we would order two of everything. Lastly, do not leave the resort. We took a trip to the capital, Santo Domingo, and my daughter and I are still paying for it. We believe it is travelers diarrhea but are awaiting the lab's results.

Overall, you get a lot of bang for your buck. The bartenders are awesome and Dominicans are very friendly. Don't drink the water. :)

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 are closest to the main building, pools and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for share your positive experience in the TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you and your family had a delightful stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our facilities and grounds; it is thanks to the hard work of our gardening- as well as our maintenance-staff that we are able to maintain the landscaping this way. It is nice to know that you could enjoy most of the facilities created for families such as kids’ pools, Kid Club, Mini golf, Pirates Island among others.

Thank you for your preference and we hope to welcome you soon to our Caribbean paradise.



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,227
    1,930
    767
    410
    330
See reviews for
3,057
2,765
97
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This vacation was our 12th time in DR and our 6th time in Barcelo Bavaro Palace, but we were really happy and surprised with the renovation of the hotel. If you want to enjoy a beautiful place, clean with a great variety of food, do not hesitate, go to this hotel. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite, they are located right on the beach. We had a Deluxe room and we upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for let us know your positive impressions in regards to your last visit in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe. We really appreciated your positive feedback and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our new facilities and that the changes for improvement were of your liking. It’s nice to hear that we have met your expectations and that in general our hotel, staff and services was of your liking and satisfaction.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

You will be hard pressed to find a cleaner resort. Extremely hard working people. If i had a dollar for every "Ola" I'd heard my trip would have been free. The food was decent. The buffet was ok. The french restaurant was my favorite. I would highly advise to spend a little more for the Club Premium package, it was well worth the extra money. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff (especially Carla at Club Premium) gave us champagne, choclates and rose pedals through out our room. Nice Touch! The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and spotless. The beach was beautiful and the pools were awesome. We've been to many islands in the Carribean and this resort rates at the very top of the list. Language can be a problem at times but can usually be worked out. Your vacation dollar goes a long way in the D.R.. Enjoy- we certainly did!

Room Tip: Junior suite- great value and jacuzzi on the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe in the Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay celebrating your 25th anniversary. We will forward your comments to Carla at the Premium Club, she will be glad receiving such as positive feedback.

Thank you for having preferred us, we will be waiting for you next year!


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo bavaro palace resort after having a bad experience in puerto plata Barcelo resort we contact corp office they really had customer service as first priority they issue us a 7 day stay at the above location all included, from the point of arrival we had nothing but great service, at all the specialty restaurants , the large pool, to the housekeepers which always said hello, room are large with a breath taking view of the beach and a jacuzzi, food was outstanding which included lobster, steak, sea food and a choice for every culture, loved so much I booked my next year vacation already

Room Tip: All room choice are great but never hurts to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your valued time to share your kind review in TripAdvisor since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests' expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal with you.

Please, rest assured that we are analyzing your observations as improvement in our services.
We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's a great to place to just relax, enjoy the beach, the pool, the sun and the rum. You always have something to do, eat or watch. Just remember to always carry your sunscreen, or you'll get sunburned.

Room Tip: They have an "adult only part" where you won't see children running around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us and we are pleased that our facilities were to your liking.


We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe Hotel!



Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was a great resort with a lot to do on the property. There were kayaks, pools, games, dancing and lots more. It was a family trip and the room was great. My wife and I had our own room while the kids had theirs. I give the buffet a 3 out of 5, Santa Fe a 2 out of 5 and Kyoto and 1 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay with your family.


At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence.

Thank you for your kind note in the TripAdvisor and for share with other travellers your experience with us.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to this hotel two adults and 1 yr old child. Arriving, we had two separate beds and a crib ( for a 7 yrs old child?). The beginning was awfull, no one could do nothing to make us our say as we expected. The second day was my birthday ( at the reception was all this information send by the tour agency from our country). We asked for something to celebrate, and at the RP said they couldnt do nothing even a cake with candles. Our travel agent from Portugal had to call the hotel making his complaint for this case. So after that i had the cake in the french restaurant ( paid by us extra).
In resume:
service ( reception, RP, bars, and restaurants) bad.
rooms are good sized, but dirty. The pilows smell so bad....
good jacuzzi at the balcony
nice buffet options, and confortable sports bar.
no free wifi in the lobby
restaurants are dirty ( unfortunately got food poisoning)
the beach is fabulous.
pirates island ( $$$) dont deserve the price.

Overall not a bad hotel, but, not as i expected for the price we have paid for. There are better options on the area, like Paradisus, or even Bahia principe Esmeralda.
Not going back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your vacation in the Dominican Republic.


Your opinion is very important and assisting to us since it is the best way to know where we have to focus our attention to improve the quality of our services. We sincerely would like to apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are sad of your comment since is not our intention created the memory you have about your stay with us. The main objective of all the Team at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe is the entire satisfaction of our guests. We regret that we did not achieve this goal with you.


We hope despite of the uncommon circumstances you may have encountered during your stay, you could give us another possibility in the future to demonstrate you our commitment to excellent service.


Sincerely,

Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.