We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, rude employees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bavaro
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, rude employees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful resorts I have been to. The beach is great, but we found 90% of the employees here to be very rude and generally unhappy.

We found one person in Club Premium to be excellent and the rest appeared to be upset that we came in as with other people seeking help.

The buffet staff was the worst I have ever experienced. How hard is it to put some napkins and forks on the tables? Some meals we couldn't get water or coffee. There was one waitress in the buffet that was absolutely great and we would seek out her section when available.

Casino cashier staff, total B#@ches! Talk about hating your job or just people in general. All I wanted was change for my $1,000 peso bill, you know tip money.

Our cleaning lady for the first 5 days, was terrible. If I am out of shampoo, nuts, coffee, water and beer at the same time, please replace them. Daily tips did not seem to make up for the lack of customer service. We paid good money for an ocean front room, club premium for a reason, 20 year anniversary. Buzz kill.

Fortunately, we got a different cleaning lady for the last five days and she was much better. Not the best, but did remember to replace most of the used items in the room. Attention to detail is lacking here by the cleaning staff.

If you want very good service, go to Sticker's bar. They are great and the food is really good. Don't get your hopes up for quality liquor even with club premium. Absolut is not quality vodka.

All in all, my wife and I never go back to Barcelo in Punta Cana. If you want an excellent Barcelo experience, go to Cabo San Lucas. The entire staff there is excellent. Everyone is friendly and greets you with a smile.

Don't be surprised when you travel outside the resort of how dirty the country is. Trash everywhere. Even up in the mountain region on an excursion there was trash all along the road.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean front room. Not worth the price due to lack of service. Room 1201 is on a corner w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the situations that affected you while vacationing with us and we extend you our most sincere apologies for the lack of customer service perceived from some of our staff members. We further regret that you felt your requests were not attended properly or in a timely manner. It was never our intention to make you feel uncomfortable since your satisfaction is our top priority.

Thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe for your anniversary, as well as for letting us known about your recent experience. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

We hope to have a second chance to show you our commitment to excellence customer service during a next visit to our hotel.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,287
    1,491
    570
    313
    285
See reviews for
2,360
2,171
82
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Delux for a week in early February with a friend. The hotel was really lovely but we were even more impressed with the staff, they were incredibly friendly and warm. In particular Tommy Lora (pool/beach activities coordinator). He was just a blast to watch and interact with. Whatever they pay him is not enough. I will come back to this hotel because of Tommy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay.

We will gladly pass your compliments to our Staff members, since we know that is due to their friendliness that we are able to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.

We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic resort. Amazing food. Amazing people. Club premium management wen above and beyond to make this the best trip ever. We have a few more days left here, and are very excited for the rest of them.Thanks so much again to Rosie and her lovely staff!!!!!

Room Tip: Book with Club Premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed our Premium Services. We are glad to know that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff because we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal, the continuous improvement of our services and our guests’ satisfaction.

Thank you again and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.


Sincerely,



Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Barcelo...the facility and amenities were top notch. I especially appreciated the Club Premium services which really were the icing on the cake. Having access to extra amenities (the Spa was fantastic!) made the stay very special. I want to give a special shout to Adalgisa who was extremely friendly, polite and courteous. The manager of the Club Premium services, Aralelis, was exceptionally accommodating and took very good care of us! We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground level Junior Suite which had excellent views and access to the beach and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General Manager we thank you for your note in TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us. We are very satisfied to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and really appreciate your compliments to our Staff at the Club Premium. We are sure they will happy reading your feedback about your stay with us.

We look forward to host you in our property in the near future, always your second home in the Dominican Republic.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From arrival the resort met our expectations. The rooms were clean and very nice. The buffet restaurants were a little bit better than other all inclusive resorts we have been to. The main buffet in the palace is very big and the staff did struggle a little to meet the demands of the crowds over meal times, a little patience was required sometimes but the staff were generally doing their best. The buffet at the adults area at the other end of the beach was much better, more relaxed and right on the beach. We really enjoyed a walk down there in the morning for breakfast or lunch. The selection of ala carte restaurants was great (9), we really enjoyed the French and the Janapese restaurants in particular. The overall service in the resort was perfect for me, very positive and responsive whenever you asked for or needed anything. The beach is nothing short of fantasic and there were plenty of beach loungers to go around. All five of us had a great week and we all agreed that this was a place we would be happy to return to again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valued time in share your impressions and positive feedback in TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you have a delightful stay and that you could enjoy most of or services as well as our facilities.

It is a real pleasure to know that your experience during your last vacation makes you thinking in coming back to the Dominican Republic chossing us again to repeat your experience with us in the Caribbean paradise.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next vacation! We will be waiting for your news!


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Let me start off by saying that the resort itself is very very nice. I have never been to a resort like this before. But then comes the buffet food and the people that work inside the buffet restaurants.
There was nothing there that really drew my attention. I think I lost 10lbs from not really eating.
We found our own seating which was fine but once we sat down it took a waitress 10 minutes to actually come and ask if we wanted something to drink. That was only when we were lucky. Most of the time we didnt even get asked if we wanted something to drink. They have miserable looks on their faces. Very rude at times. I definitly do not recommend the buffet food.
The steak house was good. But again the service was awful. The waiter was very rude and did not have a smile on his face. Maybe if these people smiled and were friendly they would get a better tip.
The japanese place was good. Very friendly and fun. The mexican place was good. Very friendly and fun as well and excellent service.
I would definitly not be back to this hotel. If the people were a bit more nicer it would be a different story. We came to the hotel for a vacation, not to be treated poorly. We spent alot of money coming there and I would think that people would be pleasant. I guess not.
The rooms were nice. The only thing is that the bed sheets smelled. But I think that is basically anywhere you go out of the country. speaking of the room...the cleaning lady was in our room cleaning one day and my husband tipped her and she just looked at him with no smile and took the money. I mean come on people!!!!! This is your job why dont you pretend to like it. Dont you think they need the money?
The bars...it seems if you dont have $$$ in your hands they look at you and walk away and do something else while you stand there for ever to get served. I was in the sports bar and wanted to get something to drink and the guy behind the bar looked at me and turned his head and walked away and then looked at me again and went in the back. I think these people that work here need some serious training. Are they forgetting that this is an all inclusive resort????? I payed for my drinks and food in advance so if i feel the need to tip i will if i dont then I really dont have too.
So maybe if they would serve their customers with a little respect they would get the tip they deserve.
Maybe we should have upgraded to the premium to get treated like a king and queen? whatever...we went, we saw, and never again will i be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the observations concerning the service and the staff, and we are sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future. Even though I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality of our services, I also have to say that in general our guests perceive the Dominicans to have a friendly, cheerful and sympathetic nature.

I would like to thank you for your constructive observations. In Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
Director Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

everything was great from the food the treatment and the entertianers on the beach pedro and his whole group where very nice aand friendly the hotel was very clean the privacy of your room was very good the food oh lord love it wish i was there now

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

At Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence. We will gladly pass your compliments to our staff members, especially to our entertainment team.

We hope to welcome you soon to our Caribbean paradise, always your second home in the Dominican Republic.


Sincerely,


Javier Cordero Gilsanz
General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.