We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had High expectations. Upon arrival we were told that restaurant reservations were limited and we could only book one night. The staff at the resort for the most part seemed indifferent to our needs and borderline rude. You have to pay for a decent wine....if you are a wine drinker! Food was terrible. Overall experience: AWFUL. I won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_BBPD, Director at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you took your time to share your opinion with us. We are compromised to give our guests the best experience in their vacation. Therefore, we are sorry that we didn’t fulfill your expectations concerning our gastronomic option.

Regarding the wine, we took the necessary measures to improve and we already offer a wine of a higher quality for the delight of our guests.

We recall that in our resort we offer a unique gourmet experience with 11 restaurants to choose from, 7 of them are specialty restaurant which require prior reservation.
Including Coral Sea Food, Santa Fe Steakhouse, Kyoto Japanese (Teppanyaki table and sushi bar), La Dolce Vita Italian, La Comedie French (Club Premium guests), La Fuente Spanish and México Lindo. Also, the impressive variety of our Miramar International buffet, the exquisite Bohío Dominican Buffet, the 19th Hole International à la carte restaurant. And, the convenient 24-hours American style restaurant Strikers Sport Bar.

Once more we thank you for your observation. We are taking in consideration all your points to keep improving our services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,773
    1,720
    667
    358
    307
See reviews for
2,702
2,467
89
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Barcelo Bavaro. It was great having Club Premium at our beck and call, like our own, personal concierge. All of the women were so friendly and helpful, especially Adalgisa Havier, who was always there for me. The whole resort was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed many restaurants and buffets. It was great to relax at the spa and swim in the endless pool, in addition to the many beachside pools and the clean soft sand and warm ocean. It was a wonderful week in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Impeccable rooms and decor. Very clean. Very few Americans. Food was horrible but maybe I'm too used to United States food? Was my only complaint. Beaches were smooth sand. Nice to walk on. Lots of pools. Great service at club premium!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enid, OK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had high expectations of Punta Cana. Everyone was pumped about going because we had booked it several weeks in advance with a local travel agent. We got a great rate and was promised free green fees for certain time stayed and $1000 credit to be used how you would like. The resort was beautiful and very clean upon arrival. At check-in we were given $1000 worth of coupons to be used at the resort. Useless. Every single one of them had a underlying condition which made it almost impossible to take advantage of. The casino was ridiculous and totally empty 99% of the time. They only paid out in pesos. Green fees were paid but the cart rental and club rental made up the difference. The staff at the resort for the most part seemed indifferent to our needs and borderline rude. We wanted to shop in town and the only place they would take us was to an affiliated shop (notice I said shop, not shops) which had absolute junk. All-in-all I would not recommend this resort to anyone. Although we had a lot of fun it was because we made it ourselves. This would be a wonderful place to vacation if the staff and resort management would take lessons from other, more established resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been coming to Barcelo Bavaro Caribe, Beach,Palace Deluxe for 6 years and now is even better with all the renovation done and especially the staff at the hotel, all of them at the reception, restaurant, activities, bar, discotheque and the staff at the premium is so excellent how can you not come back. especially: Aracelis, Leidy, Miriam, Julio, Vianny, Amalfi, Adalgisa, Roxana and great thanks to seniora Caminito
Christian I will be back and recommend strongly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Panoramic Suite from Nov 26th-Dec 1st and LOVED every minute of it! GO CLUB PREMIUM! Check in was a breeze and Wimmany in the Club Premium lounge was so pleasant and wonderful during our stay!

The room had a jacuzzi on the balcony and in the bathroom. We had 2 bathrooms. The balcony was huge, the king size bed was comfy and our room was always cleaned with fresh new shower towels and beach towels. Hint: leave the housekeeper $5 tip a day and she will take care of you!

Grounds were beautiful, beach was beautful, weather was perfect and the drinks at the bar were always a good time! We didn't really hang out at the beach, we mainly hung out at the El Cielo bar since it was in front of our room! We would rent a cabana for $10 a day and relax, swim and drink! The bartenders Mayra, Victor and Ray at El Cielo were awesome! Mayra makes a delicious drink called "Sammy Sosa" and we highly recommend it! Hint: tip every few drinks, they appreciate it and just because it's "all inclusive" doesn't mean you shouldn't tip. Don't be a cheapskate.

The breakfast buffet at Miramar was amazing, didn't eat any where else for breakfast. They have everything so if you can't find something you're just a complainer and need to learn to relax a little. The fresh watermelon juice was amazing. For lunch, we never ate in the buffet we always ate at Hoyo 19, which was amazing. The gazpacho soup and El Pepito were wonderful! For dinner, we missed our reservation the first night at the French restaurant due to drinking too much "Mamajuan" the first day and oversleeping heehee (you'll understand when you drink it)! We ate at the Japaneese restaurant (pretty good), Santa Fe Steakhouse (enjoyed it), and La Fluente (the red snapper was superb!). We ordered a bottle of wine every night with dinner! You're on vacation, live a little.

Do go to the market down the left side of the beach. Just haggle with them and they will easily cut a ton of deals! We bought a box of cuban cigars and a huge bottle of Mamajuan for $60....trust me you can talk them down for a hour!

We golfed one day too! What a beautiful and challenging course! If we had stayed a few more days we would have golfed again!

As for no one speaking English at the resort, here are some helpful tips:
Hola = Hello
Come esta? = How are you?
Muy bien y tu = Very good and you?
Mucho gracias = Thank you every much
Uno, dos, tres = 1, 2, 3
Mucho gusto = Nice to meet you
Buenas dias = good day
Buenas tarde = good afternoon
Buenas noche = good night

Just try speaking those basic Spanish words and phrases and you will be fine. They appreciate it when you try and speak Spanish and smile doing it. I saw many Russian people VERY rude to the Dominican employees. The Domincan people we encountered were friendly, always greeted you with a smile, and made your stay at Barcelo Palace Deluxe a trip you will always remember! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at this resort for many years and always enjoyed ourselves. We haven't been there in 2 years so we decided to go and see the new renovations over Thanksgiving. It is absolutely fabulous. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The food was excellent with a large variety of choices. The resort even had a Thanksgiving celebration for us at the buffet. We really appreciated the recognition given to our American holiday. Thank you! Our favorite restaurant was the Kyoto, Japanese food. We had a show as well as good food. The beef was tender and seasoned to perfection. The theater for shows is wonderful and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment there. The only negative is the chair backs in the theater could use a cushion but this is minor. This has always been our favorite area because the beach is so beautiful. We are enjoying watching the resort grow. Our first visit was when the resort first opened as Bavaro Beach. We were sold right from the start. I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews. Our room was comfortable and if anything was missing that we needed the staff was very accomodating. We stayed in Room 3401. It has a great view! As for language difficulties, well, you are in the Dominican Republic where the language is Spanish. For the most part most of the employees had at least some English but like I said this is not their native language.

Room Tip: Next time we are going to request ocean front. The view is so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Family Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.