We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel and resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been coming to Barcelo Bavaro Caribe, Beach,Palace Deluxe for 6 years and now is even better with all the renovation done and especially the staff at the hotel, all of them at the reception, restaurant, activities, bar, discotheque and the staff at the premium is so excellent how can you not come back. especially: Aracelis, Leidy, Miriam, Julio, Vianny, Amalfi, Adalgisa, Roxana and great thanks to seniora Caminito
Christian I will be back and recommend strongly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,517
    1,589
    598
    328
    293
See reviews for
2,478
2,317
85
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Panoramic Suite from Nov 26th-Dec 1st and LOVED every minute of it! GO CLUB PREMIUM! Check in was a breeze and Wimmany in the Club Premium lounge was so pleasant and wonderful during our stay!

The room had a jacuzzi on the balcony and in the bathroom. We had 2 bathrooms. The balcony was huge, the king size bed was comfy and our room was always cleaned with fresh new shower towels and beach towels. Hint: leave the housekeeper $5 tip a day and she will take care of you!

Grounds were beautiful, beach was beautful, weather was perfect and the drinks at the bar were always a good time! We didn't really hang out at the beach, we mainly hung out at the El Cielo bar since it was in front of our room! We would rent a cabana for $10 a day and relax, swim and drink! The bartenders Mayra, Victor and Ray at El Cielo were awesome! Mayra makes a delicious drink called "Sammy Sosa" and we highly recommend it! Hint: tip every few drinks, they appreciate it and just because it's "all inclusive" doesn't mean you shouldn't tip. Don't be a cheapskate.

The breakfast buffet at Miramar was amazing, didn't eat any where else for breakfast. They have everything so if you can't find something you're just a complainer and need to learn to relax a little. The fresh watermelon juice was amazing. For lunch, we never ate in the buffet we always ate at Hoyo 19, which was amazing. The gazpacho soup and El Pepito were wonderful! For dinner, we missed our reservation the first night at the French restaurant due to drinking too much "Mamajuan" the first day and oversleeping heehee (you'll understand when you drink it)! We ate at the Japaneese restaurant (pretty good), Santa Fe Steakhouse (enjoyed it), and La Fluente (the red snapper was superb!). We ordered a bottle of wine every night with dinner! You're on vacation, live a little.

Do go to the market down the left side of the beach. Just haggle with them and they will easily cut a ton of deals! We bought a box of cuban cigars and a huge bottle of Mamajuan for $60....trust me you can talk them down for a hour!

We golfed one day too! What a beautiful and challenging course! If we had stayed a few more days we would have golfed again!

As for no one speaking English at the resort, here are some helpful tips:
Hola = Hello
Come esta? = How are you?
Muy bien y tu = Very good and you?
Mucho gracias = Thank you every much
Uno, dos, tres = 1, 2, 3
Mucho gusto = Nice to meet you
Buenas dias = good day
Buenas tarde = good afternoon
Buenas noche = good night

Just try speaking those basic Spanish words and phrases and you will be fine. They appreciate it when you try and speak Spanish and smile doing it. I saw many Russian people VERY rude to the Dominican employees. The Domincan people we encountered were friendly, always greeted you with a smile, and made your stay at Barcelo Palace Deluxe a trip you will always remember! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at this resort for many years and always enjoyed ourselves. We haven't been there in 2 years so we decided to go and see the new renovations over Thanksgiving. It is absolutely fabulous. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The food was excellent with a large variety of choices. The resort even had a Thanksgiving celebration for us at the buffet. We really appreciated the recognition given to our American holiday. Thank you! Our favorite restaurant was the Kyoto, Japanese food. We had a show as well as good food. The beef was tender and seasoned to perfection. The theater for shows is wonderful and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment there. The only negative is the chair backs in the theater could use a cushion but this is minor. This has always been our favorite area because the beach is so beautiful. We are enjoying watching the resort grow. Our first visit was when the resort first opened as Bavaro Beach. We were sold right from the start. I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews. Our room was comfortable and if anything was missing that we needed the staff was very accomodating. We stayed in Room 3401. It has a great view! As for language difficulties, well, you are in the Dominican Republic where the language is Spanish. For the most part most of the employees had at least some English but like I said this is not their native language.

Room Tip: Next time we are going to request ocean front. The view is so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, lovely people and amenities. Beach is absolutely to die for, went on some amazing excursions including zip lining, swimming on caves and off road buggy racing!
Literally the only fault I have with this place is that when you do excursions you're the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off so can be a little lengthy, however it does mean you're first to be dropped off from the airport and last to be picked up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in Punta Cana from Nov. 16-24. 4 nights at Melia & 4 nights at Barcelo Bavaro Beach.

Melia – Check-in took a long time! We got there at 3:30pm and didn't get into a room until almost 7pm. We paid an extra 60/night to upgrade to Royal Service. It was worth the extra $$ because the Gabi had really good food and you don’t need to make any reservations. The hotel is massive. It’s a long walk to get from one place to another. You always had to take a trolly if you wanted to go somewhere. The hotel has beautiful landscape but hardly anyone speak English! It was really frustrating to communicate with anyone. I’ve been all over Mexico and Jamaica and I feel that customer service at those places are allot better than here. Although I would still recommend this hotel, I myself, will not go back again. Also….during the time we were there, the hotel was dead!! Only had about 10 people in their Disco.

Barcelo Bavaro Beach – This hotel was not as big as the Melia so it was easier to get around. Also, during the time we were there, the hotel was almost at capacity, so there were allot of people. The casino was always dead but the Disco was always full of people.

The Dominican Republic was very beautiful and food was pretty good but they really need to work on customer service. I still would recommend going at least once but I, myself will not go back again. I would rather go back to Jamaica or Mexico where it’s just as nice but customer service is much better and hotel employees speak “some” English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe in December with a group of 4 friends. Our primary goal was to play golf and enjoy the sunny and warm beach of the carabean.

The resort, the food, the service is excellent. The beach is clean and there are lots of chairs. The golf is one of the best I have been to in the carabean. The course is very challenging so bring many balls if your game is not at its best. Note that you can buy used balls from employees who work on the course.

The only downside to the golf is that you wait a lot if you play between 8 am and 10 am. I suggest reserving early tee times to enjoy the resort after.

Note that to play golf is free but you do have to pay for carts 40$ per person. When you check into the hotel you get a bunch of coupons and one of them gives you a discount on the price of the cart if you buy 4 carts during your stay. If you come for golf be sure to check for the coupons. You also get coupons for the restaurants, massages, etc.

The employees at the hotel are very nice and will gladly help you if you need anything. Always carry a few dollars in your pocket to ensure you always get the best of them. The employees speak all the languages. English and Spanish mostly but also French and a little Russian.

The resort has people from everywhere. Canada, Russia, Italy , Germany and South America are the ones we encountered the most.

The rooms are spacious and mostly renovated. They are cleaned twice every day. You can find specific sections for families, adults and if you want to stay by golf or by the beach the resort can accommodate your choices. Some rooms have jacuzzis on the balcony.

One final thing, there are a lot of mosquitos everywhere on the golf course and around the rooms. Bring good mosquito repellent if you don't want to have bug bites during your stay or if you are allergic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort for a destination wedding. The staff did a wonderful job with regards to the wedding detail and we had a private room for the dinner and must say again the service and food was excellent.

The resort itself is beautiful and as I said before we found the service to be excellent
wherever we went. But I have to say we could not find fault with the resort - there were so many places to eat, they even had a sports bar if you want to grab some wings and sit and relax, The al le cartes, buffett and in particular we enjoyed the restaurant by the golf course (basically called 9th hole) - you could eat on the patio or indoors and no reservations were required. There was plenty of food and so many varities there is no way a person could not find something to enjoy.
Never needed to worry about getting a chair by the pool - there were plenty and on the beach as well.

There is a coffee bar (cafe) where you could enjoy specialty coffees, tea or other beverages.

Would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: As the building are in a U shape you a view of the beach from any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#8 Family Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.