We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pure trip to paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bavaro
1 review
“A pure trip to paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, lovely people and amenities. Beach is absolutely to die for, went on some amazing excursions including zip lining, swimming on caves and off road buggy racing!
Literally the only fault I have with this place is that when you do excursions you're the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off so can be a little lengthy, however it does mean you're first to be dropped off from the airport and last to be picked up!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,239
    1,481
    569
    313
    282
See reviews for
2344
2147
82
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in Punta Cana from Nov. 16-24. 4 nights at Melia & 4 nights at Barcelo Bavaro Beach.

Melia – Check-in took a long time! We got there at 3:30pm and didn't get into a room until almost 7pm. We paid an extra 60/night to upgrade to Royal Service. It was worth the extra $$ because the Gabi had really good food and you don’t need to make any reservations. The hotel is massive. It’s a long walk to get from one place to another. You always had to take a trolly if you wanted to go somewhere. The hotel has beautiful landscape but hardly anyone speak English! It was really frustrating to communicate with anyone. I’ve been all over Mexico and Jamaica and I feel that customer service at those places are allot better than here. Although I would still recommend this hotel, I myself, will not go back again. Also….during the time we were there, the hotel was dead!! Only had about 10 people in their Disco.

Barcelo Bavaro Beach – This hotel was not as big as the Melia so it was easier to get around. Also, during the time we were there, the hotel was almost at capacity, so there were allot of people. The casino was always dead but the Disco was always full of people.

The Dominican Republic was very beautiful and food was pretty good but they really need to work on customer service. I still would recommend going at least once but I, myself will not go back again. I would rather go back to Jamaica or Mexico where it’s just as nice but customer service is much better and hotel employees speak “some” English.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe in December with a group of 4 friends. Our primary goal was to play golf and enjoy the sunny and warm beach of the carabean.

The resort, the food, the service is excellent. The beach is clean and there are lots of chairs. The golf is one of the best I have been to in the carabean. The course is very challenging so bring many balls if your game is not at its best. Note that you can buy used balls from employees who work on the course.

The only downside to the golf is that you wait a lot if you play between 8 am and 10 am. I suggest reserving early tee times to enjoy the resort after.

Note that to play golf is free but you do have to pay for carts 40$ per person. When you check into the hotel you get a bunch of coupons and one of them gives you a discount on the price of the cart if you buy 4 carts during your stay. If you come for golf be sure to check for the coupons. You also get coupons for the restaurants, massages, etc.

The employees at the hotel are very nice and will gladly help you if you need anything. Always carry a few dollars in your pocket to ensure you always get the best of them. The employees speak all the languages. English and Spanish mostly but also French and a little Russian.

The resort has people from everywhere. Canada, Russia, Italy , Germany and South America are the ones we encountered the most.

The rooms are spacious and mostly renovated. They are cleaned twice every day. You can find specific sections for families, adults and if you want to stay by golf or by the beach the resort can accommodate your choices. Some rooms have jacuzzis on the balcony.

One final thing, there are a lot of mosquitos everywhere on the golf course and around the rooms. Bring good mosquito repellent if you don't want to have bug bites during your stay or if you are allergic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort for a destination wedding. The staff did a wonderful job with regards to the wedding detail and we had a private room for the dinner and must say again the service and food was excellent.

The resort itself is beautiful and as I said before we found the service to be excellent
wherever we went. But I have to say we could not find fault with the resort - there were so many places to eat, they even had a sports bar if you want to grab some wings and sit and relax, The al le cartes, buffett and in particular we enjoyed the restaurant by the golf course (basically called 9th hole) - you could eat on the patio or indoors and no reservations were required. There was plenty of food and so many varities there is no way a person could not find something to enjoy.
Never needed to worry about getting a chair by the pool - there were plenty and on the beach as well.

There is a coffee bar (cafe) where you could enjoy specialty coffees, tea or other beverages.

Would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: As the building are in a U shape you a view of the beach from any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe with only wonderful memories. We have stayed at this hotel for over 8 years and have enjoyed every moment.

Let me begin by telling you how courteous the staff was when we arrived. We were upgraded to the Club Premium so we went directly to their private check in area and were treated with open arms. Julio Encarnacion, Roxanna Gonzalez and others bent backward to make our experience easy, friendly and quick. Our room was ready and within 15 minutes we were in our room. We booked one of the suites that faces the ocean. Everything in the room was perfect and my wife and I felt like a king and queen.

Since we had been at this property before, I must tell you that since we vacationed last in 2011, the Barcelo Group has done an even better job at upgrading this property. After an extensive rebuild and remodel of the entire property back in 2010/2011, it is better than ever. The grounds have matured and the landscaping is lush and beautiful. The new Pirates Island (which we didn't have time to visit) looks fantastic with the wave pool. That section of the property is great for families and larger groups.

The restaurants and service are top notch. Since we love steak, seafood, and italian, we ate at those restaurants most of the time. We had some quick bites at Strikers, the 24 hours sports bar. Lots of fun. Daniele of the Italian Restaurant and Manuel at the Steak House treated us like royalty each time we visited. The house wines were fantastic wherever we ate.

The Buffets were something to be seen. The food was always fresh, the meats kept refrigerated before cooking and the deserts were to die for. Out thanks goes out to Maria and Otis who were always willing to find us a table and attended to us throughout our meals.

Omar, Brian and Carlos from the pool bar were always there to greet us and prepare the best drinks. The pool bar area was always clean and neat and the service was quick and courteous.

The beaches are the best in the world. Although we had some stormy weather which brought in a lot of sea weed, you can't find anything that matches the beauty of the Bavaro Beach. They added life guards at the beach and around the pool which gave us a great sense of security. You won't find this at many hotels in the Dominican Republic. The beach chairs are all matching and in perfect condition. The sand is white and there is no evidence of trash anywhere on the beach.

The room services were great as well. Our room was cleaned timely each day and we always had a clean supply of SOFT towels. The mini bar was always stocked. The patio with it's jacuzzi was always cleaned and neat as well.

Over all, Mr. Simon Barcelo and his staff have done a splendid job of taking an out dated 5 hotel property and transforming it into a wonderful mega resort with a very personal feel. My wife and I just can't believe how beautiful this property has become. We will definitely visit again next year, or even before if possible.

Unfortunately, we had to leave on December 1 while they were preparing to decorate the entire property. I will be tuned into TripAdvisor to see if anyone takes photos of the decorations and Christmas Tree.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel. One of the best All Inclusive hotels I've been too. Great staff, especially Jhoneidy our butler as well as Aracelis, Mirian and everyone at the Premium Club. Would recommend thus holiday without any reservation. Great work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is really beautiful. The Barcelo Group really did this hotel up nice to compete against the Iberostar Group on Bavaro Beach. Hotel rooms are big, very nice appointments, butler service if you want it. The food is great, and the specialty restaurants are really nice.

If you are looking for a great place and a great beach then this is the place. Sun all the time and lots to do.

Room Tip: get the adult ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Bavaro, km. 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe*****, a unique and unrepeatable location on the best beach of Punta Cana, protected by a coral reef that converts the sea into a natural swimming pool. This an all-inclusive luxury gastronomic hotel is a new concept in luxury on the best beach in Punta Cana. All the rooms have terrace and sea views (front or partial) and jacuzzi for two persons with hydrotherapy, Well-being of the latest generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Barcelo, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.