We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominicana hotel was just perfect .amazing place got to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dominicana hotel was just perfect .amazing place got to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Holiday was fabulous, food, room,pool can't fault anything also the entertainment people we're brilliant want to go back . Although the flight was eight hours long time just fly's past (no pun intended)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience on TripAdvisor.
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to express you our satisfaction when reading your positive valuation about our international cuisine, beautiful premises and excellent service of our staff. In Iberostar we want our valuable costumers to enjoy from unforgettable holidays.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any further assistance prior your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    1,037
    305
    98
    50
See reviews for
1,034
1,304
71
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived on Monday Oct 21, and from the time we arrived not a very welcoming hotel and resort. The gentleman at the front desk were not friendly and didn't understand any English. As we waited for our husbands to check in we went over to make dinner reservations. First we were limited to go to 3 restaurants in our 7 day stay, couldn't make a reservation until he had a room number, was rude also. Got to our room small and a very small bathtub. Proceeded to the bar to ask bartender what is drink of the day he said DIET COKE, once again language barrier!!!
That evening the show was totally spoken in Spanish, no English and once again no understand. The property is very pretty, by 10am the next morning we went to our Apple rep and asked if we could be transferred to our resort we stayed at the previous year, within an hour and a very small fee we were on our way to Now Larimar, upon arrival we were greeted with champagne and a welcome back family room was ready with banners on the door that read, WELCOME BACK. We later were told that this is a Spanish based hotel and does cater to the Europeans, that's fine, but unfortuntley we were never told this and was not happy with this resort. Thanks to Louisa at Iberostar to make things work and get us on another great vacation in the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear reviewer,
We have contacted you via Tripadvisor as we have serious doubts about the authenticity of your publication. We are waiting for your response.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I decided to take my mom to her first Caribbean/all-inclusive trip to PC, and wanted to pick a decent resort. We were both very impressed with this resort - the service, food, cleanliness were excellent! The gardens are very well maintained, and it's lovely to see flamingos/turtles/chickens/ducks on the grounds.

The rooms are very clean, and we did not have any bugs/pests issues. They cleaned our rooms daily, and restocked our fridge every second day with beer, soft drinks, and water. The washroom is a bit small, but given we only shower and sleep in our room it's not a huge issue. There is a safe in the room which we did not use, but note that you have to pay $2/day.

The buffets had a huge variety of food. The meats tend to be a little overcooked most times, but I'd rather them overcook them than us getting sick. Servers were extremely friendly, and some of them remembered us by the 2nd day. We preferred dining at La Hispaniola buffet over Higuey - both had the same food, just the latter was always busier and louder. One server at La Hispaniola always remembered us and what drinks we wanted (I forgot his name, but he always worked the left side of the restaurant), and it made our dining experience more enjoyable.

The a-la-carte restaurants were really good, but you have to make reservations early. We dined at La Cana, La Marimba, and La Sibilia. There is no dress code with the former two as they are beach restaurants, but the latter is a bit more strict. Service at La Cana is a bit slow, and servers not as friendly, but it didn't dampen our experience. Service at the latter two were very good, and they always made sure you were well taken care of.

There are several bars conveniently located throughout the resort. Our favourite one was the lobby bar (the cocktails were usually more slushie like, and they had the best coffee). Most of the time their cocktails are made too sweet, but a little rum always fixes the problem ;)

The Star Friends work very, very hard to make sure you have a good time. They are super friendly, hilarious, and make your vacation memorable. They organize so many activities daily, you will never be bored! I've stayed at other resorts before, but they've never put as much effort as this team to get you involved in their activities (although there's no pressure to do them). Emilio (Sexy Man ;)), Pablo Picasso, Evelyn, and best of all - Ignacio/Chocolate, are all exceptionally amazing people. The poolside entertainment is always a blast, the shows at night are fun to watch, and the live band/dancing is also very enjoyable.

The pools are very well maintained, and is not usually super busy unless during the entertainment where it becomes more lively. The beach is very clean, and the workers rake them in the mornings so it's softer to walk on. We usually head to the beach early to get a spot, and the palapas usually gets filled up by mid-morning. Something to note is that not all resorts have the palapas, so it's a nice touch if you want to lounge by the beach but hide in the shade.

Overall, this was an amazing experience and we hope to go back again soon!! Next time we may even get our vacation-phobe dad to join us!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,
First at all we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your first holidays in the Caribbean and for taking the time to post your comments about your stay.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos; we would like to express how glad we are to read that your holidays and especially the one of your mother were unforgettable due to the excellent service provided by our friendly staff, the variety of our gastronomy and entertainment options as well as the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises. In Iberostar our staff is our main strengths and we work with illusion to provide the best service so our valuable guests “enjoy being a Star”.
We will be glad to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for further assistance.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

All in all a really great time, staff is really friendly, the grounds are extremely well manicured. The only thing I can complain of would be the food. Rather than do an average job attempting to copy foreign cuisine they should offer more local fare which I know they cook with skill and passion. The buffet on Saguna island was a shining example of the indigenous food and I wish the resort offered more of this type of fare. The Snuba excursion was a+ great time as well. The people of DR are experts at showing their guests a good time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience among us.
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge that the beauty and cleanness of our grounds and the excellent service of our friendly staff ensured you a pleasant stay. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”. Likewise, we have forwarded your feedback to our Executive Chef who is thankful.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance prior your return.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After being rescued by Iberostar from the Riu, we immediately noticed a huge difference. Big pool, nice beach, nice clean resort grounds. Apple rep Louise Johnson was great, look her up if you vacation at this hotel. All staff were hardworking, and for the most part very polite and professional. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed at an Iberostar in playa del Carmen in Mexico, and it was great too. I love this hotel chain. No major complaints.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for sharing your experience at Iberostar Dominicana with the Tripadvisor community.
We are very glad to read that the friendliness and excellent service of our staff, our beautiful and clean premises as well as our varied gastronomy ensured you a memorable vacation despite our hotel was not your first election. Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar so our valuable costumers “enjoy being a Star”.
It would be a great to meet you in Iberostar Dominicana again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and beach are beautiful! We found the food and drinks to be a bit lower quality than we expected. We found the Mexican restaurant to have the best food but you must make reservations EARLY. The food at the daily breakfast and lunch buffet was below average. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. At no time while on the resort did we not feel safe. We stayed in a jr suite which was fairly clean and very spacious. This was our first time to the Dominican and although we probably wouldn't return to this resort it was a very nice as a first visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we thank you for your publication on Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel for your first holidays in the Dominican Republic.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our premises and the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we aim to ensure our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we regret to read that our nightly themed buffet and five a la carte restaurants could not meet your palate’s expectations as our Executive Chef and his team aims to cater our gastronomy to our largely international clientele.
We kindly invite you to visit Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro whose upper level of services and gastronomy will certainly satisfy your expectations and remain at your disposition for any assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB CANADA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Iberostar Dominicana -What an amazing Resort, it's big but you get around easily. Lots of little shops to buy souvenirs, and prices are reasonable. Vendors on the beach are very close to the resort. The beach is so beautiful, powdery sand. We had a junior suite near the pool. The buffet area and restaurant near the beach (breakfast and lunch served, lunch including BBQ chicken, ribs, steaks, paella) were excellent, lots of choices at the buffet as well. I am definately going back there in April 2013. The Star Friends are all amazing people, of course very friendly they make your vacation memorable. Say hi to Leo, the towel guy, so sweet and good looking like hell. See you soon Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to express you how pleased we are to acknowledge your motivating publication referring the beauty of premises, the friendliness of our staff and our exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on spring and we remain at your disposition for any assistance prior your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#2 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.