We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 stars!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Yorkville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First off, the only thing keeping me from giving this a 5 star rating is the food, which is good, but not great!

The resort is beautiful - well-maintained, lush landscaping, gorgeous pool, wonderful views - and everything is very clean. The staff is mostly very friendly and extremely attentive, especially the bartenders and servers. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful. Our Apple rep was also very helpful. It's only about 30 minutes from the airport as well.

Pools: The pools are great. Big, cool, lots of shaded sunchairs. The only negative is a lot of people seem to go down early and put down towels to "reserve" chairs, but we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. There's no swim-up bar, but there are several bars right by the pool. One of the buffets is right by the pool, as well, which is nice for lunch.

Beach: Gorgeous! Lots of chairs with shaded coverings, soft sand, volleyball court...really relaxing and wonderful.

Entertainment: Always something going on, at the pool and beach, day and night. The entertainers are great and highly energetic. They put on shows every night in the theater by the lobby. We only saw one show, the Ideal Couple show where they brought up members from the audience and it was so funny! They have servers coming around getting drinks, so you don't miss any of the show.

Rooms: Our room was just a basic room, but it was nice. Clean, just big enough, nice water pressure and temp in the bathroom. The maids did a great job cleaning, and always left the towels in fun shapes with flowers, just a nice little touch.

Food: Like I said, good, not great. The breakfast buffet at the main restaurant is the best food. Lots of variety, really tasty. The lunch buffets (one at the main buffet and one at the restaurant by the beach) were ok. Just your basic buffet food -- pizza, burgers, rice, nachos, salad bar, etc. The buffet by the beach has a grill where they make porkchops, steak, pork belly, etc. That's very good. The rest is just ok. You need reservations for dinner at the main restaurants, and we ate at two, Marimba (seafood) and Maria Bonita (Mexican). Again, both were good, not great. You get a lot of food, though, which is nice. And really good service. The other night we ate dinner at the Star Rock Cafe, which is basically on par with like Applebees or Chilis.

Spa: We paid $100 for a 50 minute couples massage that was worth every minute.

Excursions: We booked one excursion, through Apple, to the Marinarium. It was $180 for the both of us and beyond worth it. You get to snorkel and swim with stingrays and nurse sharks, open bar on the boat, lunch (small sandwich, so bring a snack!), stop to swim in the ocean (with drinks!) and a very entertaining staff. It was really amazing!

Overall, the resort was pretty fantastic. Like I said, the only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is that the food is just good. Everything else was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana hotel for your vacations and for writing a comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read that you enjoyed an unforgettable experience as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts due to the excellent service of our staff and our entertainment options. Our staff will be happy to acknowledge that their work left you a remarkable impression.
On the other hand, we regret to read that our two nightly themed buffets and snack bars as well as our five a la carte dinner options were not satisfying enough. We have shared you feedback in this area with our executive Chef so he can evaluate his performance with our North American costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    1,038
    305
    98
    50
See reviews for
1,035
1,304
71
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Punta Cana for a spring break get away! We were greeted with fruity drinks, tropical music, and very friendly and helpful staff. We were looking for something affordable but nice and that is exactly what we found at Iberostar Dominicana!!! My boyfriend had booked a King room but they were out so they upgraded our room to a Junior Suit. This had a nice seating area, tv, full beds, patio, mini refrigerator, and it was really close to the beach. It was not a king room, so that was kind of a bummer but it was just us, so a full bed worked just fine! All of the staff was super helpful, we even locked ourselves out of the room and a staff member brought us a key so that we did not have to walk to the front again.

You get what you pay for in the food. It was all inclusive so it was buffet style and basically the same things every night. We ate at the sports bar a few nights, and it was american style food, and good, not great but what we expected. We had the mexican restaurant one night. It was cheap mexican, and nothing like what you get at the authentic mexican restaurants in the states. We ate at the steak house the other night, and it was SOOO good! If we went back, we would book this for reservation nights every night.
For breakfast, it was buffet style and we LOVED it! Everything was always fresh and the fruit was always so good.

We never had a problem getting lounge chairs either. We never had to go out early or go without. The only thing that I would suggest is if you want an umbrella then I would get out there early. We wanted the full sunshine! Although sometimes it was not exactly where we wanted, we always had a chair.

All in all this was one of the very best vacations that I have been on!

I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
It is a pleasure for the whole Iberostar Dominicana team to acknowledge that you and your boyfriend enjoyed an unforgettable experience due to the beauty of our facilities, our exquisite cuisine and the friendliness of our staff. These are very important aspects of our guiding principles in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. Likewise, we have shared your feedback with our Executive chef about our lunch options.
We look forward to welcoming you back; please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.
With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for an affordable but nice all inclusive destination for a spring break getaway. We went with Iberostar Dominicana and couldn't be happier.

First, we requested a King room but they were all out. So they upgraded us to one of the Junior Suites near the beach. It wasn't a king room, but it did have a sitting area/living room and a large patio. Loved the room and appreciated the staff taking care of us.

The pool area was nice and relaxing. I suggest getting there early and reserving some chairs if you want a prime spot under one of the huts, but don't sweat it if not.... we always were able to find chairs somewhere. There is a bar right beside the pool which was handy. Only improvement would be a swim up bar, but it wasn't an issue really. Speedy the towel guy was hilarious and made it a point to make you smile.

The beach was nice and we always could find chairs. The water was gorgeous. The staff was great about coming around and picking up drink classes and food plates from people at the beach. Very clean and comfortable.

The food was pretty good. It's an all inclusive on an island, so temper your expectations. The buffets were good and had something for everybody. The fruit was so good and fresh. My favorite buffet meal is hands down breakfast. So good. The rock n roll bar/restaurant was good. It's burgers, nachos, chicken, etc. We ate there a couple times. As for the places with reservations.... we ate Mexican and the Steakhouse. The mexican was good, but it's pretty cheap mexican food. Nothing special. The steak house was hands down the best meal of the trip. If I had it to do over again I would have ate there twice instead of the Mexican.

We really enjoyed our trip. The resort was clean, safe, and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment quite a bit. Very relaxing getaway. If going back to the DR I would definitely have no problem staying here again.

Tips:

At the end of the beach there are a lot of shops. The people are very pushy, but also friendly. They're just trying to make a living and will gladly make deals with you. We enjoyed it a lot even though some of them were a bit too pushy. On the resort one night they had several vendors selling paintings, sculptures, etc. We bought a very large painting. The guy asked $200. I offered $50. He kept coming down.... I held firm. He sold it to me for $50. My girlfriend bought a sculpture that the guy priced at $75. We got it for $20. These guys definitely start really high, so keep that in mind when negotiating.

If you want to do an excursion I STRONGLY suggest Punta Cana Mike. He can be found on tripadvisor or just google Punta Cana Mike. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. He's from Canada but has lived there for years. He knows the area well and took you off the beaten path. We went to a school which is funded strictly by donations and got to interact with the kids and teachers. Very cool experience. We visited a cigar factory, a chocolate factory, sugar cane fields, and a local street market. We also went to a car wash where he had beers and played dominos with some locals. So much fun and a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your spring break holiday and also thank you for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
We want to express you how glad we are to read that you had a memorable experience during your visit to our premises due to our value for money and the excellent service of our friendly staff. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved guests. We are satisfied to know your motivating words about our team’s work.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please feel free to contact us before coming.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got back after a 2 week stay.very nice hotel,clean,and comfortable.grounds and beach are lovely.on the downside,had to get up early for sun loungers around pool.!!! Thought this reserving of loungers was a European thing,but sadly not.!!!! .in main buffet area it was like a cattle market,with people, no air con was not a pleasant experience,staff worked so hard and were pleasant and cheerful.rooms comfortable and very clean.would we go back.? No.felt like buntlines in the sun.!!!!!hotel Dominicans and punts Cana are same,just two different sleeping blocks.the beach however is gorgeous but again very hard to get sun loungers unless you get up at 6 am.we enjoyed our stay but would not go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, and her team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana.
We want to express you how glad we are to read your positive lines referring our hotel services and facilities as well as our varied gastronomy and excellent service from our friendly staff despite the fact you did not feel comfortable at our open air nightly themed buffets. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We kindly invite you to visit our Hotels in Jamaica whose buffets and lobby areas are closed with air conditioning so you can enjoy a memorable holiday with a colder temperature. We remain at your disposition for any assistance if you decide to visit them.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our 4th visit to this great hotel,and once again we loved it.Can't say anything bad about the place,but a special mention to the wonderful staff,who put you first all the time.Thomas Cook however.......Check in at the airport,they try to get you to upgrade,at £90 per person.On board they try to charge you £21 for six small cans of beer!Then on the way back they ask you for charity donations!Not good,but Dominicana is fabulous,don't be put off by dodgy airlines!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for posting a review about your recent experience at Iberostar Dominicana and for your loyalty when choosing our premises as your holiday’s destination.
It is a reason to be motivated for the whole team to read that the friendliness of our staff and their excellent service has ensured you four unforgettable holidays as you are used to and as it is our goal in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are waiting for your next visit. Please do not forget to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my first time in the Dominican Republic. My family and I stayed at this hotel for 16 days. The service was great. The food was very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. They accommodated all our needs. The entertainment was amazing - Star Friends ROCK!!! Pantera and Alejandro - We love you!!!!!!!! These guys made the whole experience complete with their non-stop entertainment. Evey minute of every day they were up to something along with their crew. They made us laugh so much - SO MUCH! I can't describe it. you just have to see them in action to understand.

We were there on 4th of July this year - and let me tell you that Iberostar was gracious enough to host a 4th of July party for the Americanos of our resort. They sent invitations to our room, and when we arrived to the party (at the Rock and Roll Cafe) I was blown away. They went above and beyond to make sure that we celebrated the 4th in style! balloons... a band... Harley Davidson riders... special red/white/blue cakes and deserts, our own special buffet with American style yummy foods, they had characters like superman, batman, Michael Jackson, even a statue of liberty walking around for pictures! BRAVO!!! BRAVO!!! BRAVO Iberostar for making us feel at home and respecting our culture and tradition - that was very special.

I think that the only complaint that I would have was the fact that it was so crowded - not that we had to stand in line for anything! But to be able to reserve a chair by the pool or the beach, we had to wake up early and reserve them - by placing a towel on the chair! - otherwise you would be without a chair for the rest of the day. That's all.

We would definitely go back to this resort. Definitely!

Room Tip: When you ask for a roll-away bed... they will give you a real bed - with legs, a mattress box and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your first visit to the Dominican Republic and for the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that our value for money and the friendliness of our staff as well as our varied gastronomy ensured you a memorable experience. In Iberostar we want our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star” with the friendliness of our staff e.g. Pantera or Alejandro.
We are willing to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your return.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We are from Canada, stayed at this resort for 2 weeks from July 8 2013- July 21 2013, We had 2 rooms 3822 and 3828.
Check in - was long, we had to hang out for 2 hours before getting our suit. Felix was a person who constantly talked on the phone ignoring us.
THE SUIT - old, small bath no shower, the room was OK We didn't had enough bottled water and only 2 towels, no bathrobe or slippers were provided.
The Resort - Looks like it was a very nice resort 20 years ago... now days it is worn down place with cracks everywhere and dirty spots.
The food- just OK, Same food every day. Hotel staff eat in the same area were tourists ONLY supposed to eat.
The Service- TERRIBLE ! Especially guest service, so hard to get a la cart reservation. Never been to a place with worse service than this one. Looks loke a Spanis speaking guests have a priority to be served first. The only friendly people of the resort are the cleaning staff and gardeners, they are the only one saying "OLA" and smiling. The rest ignores you, especially management. The waiters are the worse one, seems like they making you a favor when they bring you a glass of water or coffee, the only nice services we got was at the Steak restaurant, and in Punta Cana buffet. The worse was in the La Sibilla restaurant, not only the air conditioner was not working well when we got it but the waiter was rude to us, when we asked a question about a dish on the menu he was almost screaming on us ...
Entertainment - just OK nothin special
Pools- old, worn down, not very clean.
Beach -nice, not the best one I have been to, but is ok m however it's a shame that my son had to get up at 6 am to catch almost last spot under a Palapasin shadow
Checkout: the guy at the front desk tried to scam us !!! As I was giving back the room cards he quietly said you need to pay for safe 2 $ per day -even thought I was in a suit where the safes are keyless ( on code) and it is included in the package. I told him i was not told that i need to pay when i check in but he insisted and we paid..
Conclusion - If you looking for a good vacation this is not the place. I will never go back to this resort. The quality doesn't match the price. One thing to mention, main buffet has no air conditioner, so it's not very pleasant to be there especially during a Lunch/dinner time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing some comments about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana. In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In Iberostar every single member of our staff is committed to provide the excellent service, to upkeep our beautiful premises and offer an exquisite international cuisine and wide options for daily and nightly entertainment to our valuable costumers in our more than one hundred hotels worldwide. We truly regret to acknowledge that you left our premises with an opposite idea in mind as thousands of satisfied costumers experience every day.
We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance especially in case you decide to come back.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#2 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.