We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Dominicana Hotel to your Saves list
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bavaro
Taylor, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Iberostar Dominicana nov 2nd to nov 9th 2012. The room itself was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. The food was average. The tropical drinks were horrible. The bartenders at the pool bar were not friendly at all. Maria the server at the pool area was outstanding. Johnny the bartender at Lobby bar was excellent. Very disappointed with this resort. I would not recommend staying at his resort nor would I ever go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Dominicana for your vacations and for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
We regret to acknowledge that our gastronomy (our nightly themed buffet, our snack bars, five a la carte restaurants) could not meet your palate’s expectations and could not ensure you a pleasant holiday. A part of Iberostar philosophy is to offer the best quality of products in exquisite gastronomy. We regret that this was not your impression when you visited our hotel premises.
On the other hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the service provided by our friendly staff and about the beauty and cleanness of our premises. We will congratulate Maria and Johnny for providing you an excellent service.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance, in case you decide to visit us again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,838
    1,038
    305
    98
    50
See reviews for
1,035
1,304
71
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to the iberostar dominicana for our first wedding anniversary. Overall it was a good trip. The hotel was nice and the staff friendly. The beach is lovely and the pool is quite relaxing. We were there during some construction, but it was handled well and wasn't something we particularly noticed.

The biggest downside is the food. None of the al a carte restaurants serve nice food, and although they have tried to make them different themed, none of them are authentic and the food was very average. It was particularly difficult as a vegetarian as none of the restaurants have a standard vege offering on their menus, so you have to ask for something special. In the French restaurant I got 3 potatoes and a few pieces of broccoli served under a silver platter. Very underwhelming. The Asian restaurant did a simple veg stirfry, and the only other option, the steak restaurant shockingly didn't cater for my tastes. The buffet restaurants did have a nice selection, but the food was left out for long periods of time.

It would be nice if they made some upmarket restaurants available but with additional cost. So you have the option of feeling like you are going out for a meal, and not just receiving mediocre or worst food than the buffet.

I would still recommend the resort, but probably won't be returning myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana as your holiday’s destination and for the time spent on writing your feedback about your experience at our premises.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the wide gastronomical variety that we serve in our nightly themed buffet and snack bars, the service provided by our staff and the beauty and cleanness of our premises. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to offer a unique cuisine and we aim that our guests “enjoy being a Star” through a high qualified team.
On the other hand, we regret to read that the quality and variety of our a la carte restaurants could not meet your expectations as vegetarian. We have taken notes about your suggestions and we have shared it with our Executive Chef. As an Iberostar hotel, we aim to cater our gastronomy to our international clientele.
We hope to welcome you back in any of our more than 100 hotel worldwide. In case you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact us.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I just spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Iberostar Dominicana. The hotel is very clean, well taken care of with spacious rooms. Location is great with a clean beach and just enough bars to keep your thirst quenched. Only downside for the resort was the food and drinks were average. The drinks were served from a machine and not made with a blender as they were at the last Iberostar we stayed at (Iberostar Veradero which seemed to be a notch up from the Domincana). The food was also not up to the same standard. Food was rather plain.

Overall though it was a good location and a good resort that is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Dominicana.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises, the cleaning service and our value for money. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
Allow me to clarify that although Iberostar Dominicana and Iberostar varadero are part of Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, they are different within Iberostar hotel categories. In all of our categories we aim to offer an excellent culinary experience, the best value for money and to provide the best service so our guests “enjoy being a Star”. Iberostar Dominicana is a Premium hotel and Iberostar Varadero is a Premium Gold hotel; Premium hotels are more affordable than Premium Gold hotels and the family atmosphere might be less luxurious and more relaxed as well as some amenities and services offered in Varadero are not available in Dominicana.
We hope to welcome you back in any of our 100 worldwide hotels. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was very good, the food is ok and you can choose from many specialties.
The French and the Asian restaurants are delicious. Book your dinner!
The staff is friendly in general except for the staff in the beach bar who make the task of getting something to drink a hassle.
The room was great (we were in 4) and the room maid would always leave a towel scuplture for the kids... lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominican for your family holidays. In the name of the Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience.
We are very happy to know that you and your children have experienced an excellent holidays due to our family friendly premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure the most memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just came back from 10 days at Iberostar Dominicana from 31st Oct till 10 Nov.
My daughter and I had the best time.
We had room 4036, facing the small strip mall.3 doors down from the beach, pool, and beach buffet. The food was very good. Staff at the hotel were all so very friendly. The amimation team were great. You could join in the activities or not. If they saw you reading a book, they left you alone. We did join in some of the games and had a great time. The nightly shows were above average, usually we go to one, But we went to about 5 and had a great time.
There is also a casino and I believe a nightclub but we did not go to those. We went on a couple of side trips from Apple, Outback tour,, and Sunny Day snorkell trip both were very good. Highly recommend both. OUr Apple Rep, Cesar remembered us from a privious trip. We have been to Punta Cana 4 times, and cant wait to go back. Will be back at Iberostar Dominican hopefully next May.
Have to mention was very impressed with the service at the buffet. Food was good, and the staff were very quick and attentive. I would say staff has very good training and management. Was so impressed. Thank You

.

I

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear iona7,
On behalf of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Dominicana for your family vacation and for posting a review in Tripadvisor about your experience.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you and your daughter enjoyed “the best time”, as you stated in the review, due to the kindness and excellent service of our team, among other reasons. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your arrival,
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Iberostar Dominica in Punta Cana was a terrific place. The Star Friends was very entertaining. The food was fantastic.Very clean place to stay. Weather was great. I enjoyed myself and will be going back again. Can't wait. The Beach was great. The best of all that I have been to. The staff was fantastic all around. I taught myself some spanish and it helped alot, but there is alot of the workers there that do speak English enough to get by. Great trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we want thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Iberostar Dominicana and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very glad to acknowledge that you had a memorable holiday among us. We appreciate your motivating words about our varied gastronomy, the entertainment options, the friendliness of our staff members and the beauty of our premises, especially the Bavaro beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First off let me say the Date is not correct because it would not go back to December of 2010. Trip Advisor needs to correct this.This was our first trip to Punta Cana in December of 2010.We have stayed at other Iberostars in Play del Carmen so we guessed it would be nice. We were told that some of it was still under renovation but should be done by our arrival. The casino and a couple of the shops were still under renovation, on the Bavaro side however that was not important to us. Rooms were very nice and clean.The grounds were beautiful and the beaches are beautiful there. You can walk for miles without seaweed all over the beach and they are natural beaches not man made like in the Mayan Riviera in Mexico. The food as with any all inclusive is good but gets a little repetitive after a few days.( we stayed for 7 days) and the drinks are ok.
It rained several days off and on which they told us was unusual for that time of year,just our luck). One afternoon just before the dinner hour there was a torrential rain like we had never experienced before. It rained so hard it flooded some of the ground level rooms and the main dining area. I can't say enough good about the staff and the excellent job they did in moving the dinner items out to the main lobby and trying to get everyone served. They did the best they could considering the situation.
The nightly shows were fun and we enjoyed ourselves. Our only complaint was that some of the male staff. Two in particular, who were also in the shows(and we know it's their job to be friendly and courteous to make you feel comfortable) were a little too hands on touchy feely friendly with the female guests and noticed they were actually propositioning some at their tables. We felt this was not professional and offensive.
Other than that is was a great time. We did have trouble getting in contact with our Funjet rep for setting up our snorkle trip and one of the other reps was very good to help us contact them.

I would recommend if you are going to eat in the onsite restaurants that you book your reservations as soon as you get your rooms and get situated.

We did have trouble with the lock on our door and found it did not stay locked. We informed the front desk and they immediately sent somone to fix it.

I think we would like to make the trip back again sometime.

Room Tip: If you are there in the rainy season I would not recommend the ground level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for writing a review in Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Dominicana on December 2010. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos and her team, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed an unforgettable vacation at our hotel premises and facilities, taking into account that your stay took place two years ago. In Iberostar our main goal is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday. The kindness of our staff is one of our strengths and we work daily to remain so.
On the other hand, we would have loved to have heard from your suggestion about our Star Friends when you were among us. We have shared your lines about them with our star Friend Manager for his consideration.
We hope to welcome you back soon; we are waiting for your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Dominicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Dominicana Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#2 Business Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Dominicana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Colourful Caribbean flair. Water sports galore. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Dominicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Iberostar
Iberostar Dominicana Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
Dominicana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Dominicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.