We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the big park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bavaro Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Bavaro
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hotel in the big park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the small buildings (8 rooms in one).It was our fourth time in Iberostar Hotel and we got a small gift .Surprise,very nice gesture. Restaurant was very big and there were a lot of different kind of food (japanese, italian,mexican,dominican etc.) In the evening we spent time in disco club or animation theatre. Program is interesting,especially Michael Jackson Show, I recommend it. The hotel organize very big paella on the beach with life dominican music once the week.You can dance on the sand and eat seafood,very tasty. There are a lot of umbrellas on the beach, but if you want to have one you have to reserve it at 8 am.Good idea are removable umbrellas. When we were in Iberostar in Playa del Carmen, they have them. Very useful.
The hotel in Punta Cana is exellent, I could come back. It's a pity that Punta Cana is only Zona hotelera without village with locals people. We couldn't see there normal life,local restaurants, small shops. We would like to dance bachata but it is imposible in hotels, even in disco Imagine play only few bachata and merengue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Bavaro. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we also thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your vacations.
We are pleased to acknowledge that you enjoyed another memorable stay as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts and we appreciate your positive valuation about the variety of our gastronomy and our nightly entertainment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance before your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,174
    1,383
    414
    167
    76
See reviews for
1,825
1,827
78
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided to travel abroad for our family reunion. Resort grounds were beautiful as were the pool and common areas. The food selections were great. We spent a lot of time at the pool as my kids prefer that to the beach. However, I will say that the beach is beautiful with powdery white sand! I locked myself out of the safe, and couldn't get the hair dryer to work. But when I called the front desk, I had someone there immediately to fix the issues! There were always activities going on - never a dull moment! We booked through tripguy.com - thanks Mitch!! He's always given us the best service, and got most of our group in 1 building which was very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your family reunion and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor online community.
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we would like to express you how satisfied we are to read that your family, especially your children, and you enjoyed a memorable holiday due the family friendliness of our premises and the variety of our gastronomy. In Iberostar our main goal is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance prior your return.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This resort is really designed with families in mind. The family suites are wonderful with a seperate sitting area and in room fully stocked fridge. The pools are zero entry and some of the finest I've seen anywhere. There is a seperate little water park area for small children to play that is relatively close to the main pool so that it's easy to traverse back and forth. There are two sections to the main pool, a shallow side and a deep side.

The sea is beautiful, but more often than not tends to be a little on the rough side or "angry" as my children would describe it. The good news is there are some rocks and coral not far from shore where there is plenty of marine life to look at if you enjoy snorkeling and know where to look. I would recommend good to strong swimmers snorkel out at the rocks simply because the water is over your head unless you try standing on the rocks themselves, which I would not suggest as they are home to plenty of sea urchins. On a side note, there are other places to snorkel/dive and those waters are crystal clear and flat.

The staff is very friendly for the most part, but knowing a little Spanish might help. The grounds are extremely beautiful and well maintained. There are walkway and ponds throughtout that are teeming with fish and wildlife (ducks, flamingos and other vaious birds). My children LOVED feeding the fish and birds. The best drink on the island is the coco loco, both the virgin and rum versions. You have to try it.

The food is good and plentiful with variety, but if you are accustomed to fancy cuisine then you may be disappointed. Reservations are required for all other on resort restaurants except the buffet, but you will be glad you went. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are actually three resorts combined, if you are looking for solitude and no children, go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience at our premises and for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your family vacation.
For our Iberostar Bavaro team is it a pleasure to acknowledge that you and especially your children enjoyed from a memorable experience due to our family friendly holidays, our exquisite gastronomy and the excellent service of our friendly staff. In Iberostar we aim that our guests “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us prior your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well I won't be long winded with my review. I just got back today and needless to say, it was an experience. Today was my 34th anniversary and I try to do something different and adventous. From the reviews I thought this place was going to be the one to top them all, but it was not. Upon arrival our room was clean and we was able to get in early. Our telephone in our room didn't work for us to call to the front desk to inquire about some things, no problem, we will just go and let them know. They seemed concerned but for the 4 days we were there no phone. So everytime we needed wash cloths (they kept forgetting to replace them when they came to clean our room), or when we found ants in the room (yes mini ants), we couldn't call. The ants were in the bed, on the nightstand, they were there hahahaha so we all had a vacation together. The food was not good and the presentation was not pleasant to the eyes. The one thing that was nice was there were shopping places on the premises which made it nice if you didn't get a chance to get off to go do anything - not too expensive but at least you could do some duty free shopping and also some small gifts for the grandchildren. I found that trying to get someone to help us with english was few and far between. I was at the pool and this lady spoke to me and spoke back and she said OH THANK GOD ANOTHER AMERICAN, ARE WE THE MINORITY HERE? One other thing that was a turn off, the very nice restaurants needed reservations. Had no problem with making reservations but you were limited on the number of reservations you could make. For example, we were there 4 days, 3 nights, we got ONE reservation to a restaurant. The longer you stayed the more restaurants you could stay at. I thought that was pretty unfair considering it was all inclusive, I paid my money but was limited to the reservations that were required so that left me and my husband with buffet.

So if you don't mind small ants in your bed or all around your head, don't mind luke warm food and people that don't speak english very well, this is the resort for you. I know this was my first time but it was my last.

GOD BLESS THE USA!

Room Tip: We were in a room pool side so that meant after dark it was quieter on that side as opposed to the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at Iberostar Bavaro. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We regret to acknowledge that the breakdown of the service of our Maintenance crew prevent you from enjoy a pleasant stay. We extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences you might have encountered while staying at our premises. We have shared your feedback with the corresponding department not to have a reoccurrence of the situation mentioned.
We would like to clarify that we have a scheduled program of fumigation of all premises including rooms with human harmless products. However, being surrounded by gardens and the mangroves in Punta Cana, it is possible to encountered insects such as ants.
When you decide to visit us once again; we will be there waiting for your contact to assist you.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went on this trip with over 40 family and friends to support a friend for there wedding. They stole from 4 people in our party totaling over 1000 dollars, what they get is a gift card they have to use at the hotel. The food is so REPETITIVE!! Only one day was there lobster, oysters, etc..The hotel it self is beautiful, good beach, good location. The men were friendlier than the woman. The casino people were so NICE especially this lady named Santa. And if you try to make a reservation at the restaurants they are rude!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to clarify some aspects of your publication: firstly the use of safe in the room represents no cost for our valuable costumers at Iberostar Bavaro and we invite our customers to use it to prevent uncomfortable situations as we do not take responsibility when safe is not being used. Secondly, when hiring our staff members, we carry an investigation which includes police records. Thirdly, our security team also carries an investigation when a personal belonging from our customers is reported missing. Being said this and as we had explained you personally, our Security team found that no members from our crew had entered to your rooms during the period you reported the uncommon situation to have happened and moreover which we truly regret, you had not used your safes. As a gesture from our Management team, to mitigate the bitterness of your issue, we offer you some gift cards which does not mean we take responsibility.
We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We travelled here with our 4-year old daughter for our first “real” vacation in 15-years! Many others have reviewed this resort so I won’t submit another long one. Suffice it to say that I did a lot of research prior to booking our trip and we were not at all disappointed! The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the beaches were picture-postcard perfect! We had a wonderful vacation and would highly recommend Iberostar and this resort to families with young kids (as well as West Jet Vacations and Marlin Travel). In fact, we’ve already booked our next vacation with Iberostar (again, through West Jet Vacations and Marlin Travel) – this time in the Mayan Riviera for this coming January! It almost makes me look forward to winter… almost ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your experience at the Iberostar Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your family holidays.
In the name Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we want to express our satisfaction to read that you and your whole family enjoyed from a memorable holiday as we aim in Iberostar and we appreciate your positive valuation about the cleanness and maintenance of our hotel facilities and our varied gastronomy. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our hotel landscape and grounds.
We wish you an excellent holiday in Iberostar in Mexico and remain at your disposition for any assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just returned from a 1-week stay at this fabulous and beautiful resort. We are a family of 4 and travelled with another family of 4 so total of 8. Kids are 15 and 16.

First, the resort and beach are wonderful as is the food. So, here is my review:

Reservation process

We used expedia to book our trip and I followed up with some room requests via email to Wanda. Let me tell you, Wanda was terrific. Not only did we get the rooms situated as we wanted, but Wanda also booked us in a ala carte restaurant almost every evening. We didn't take advantage of it in all cases as we wanted to be a little lazy at the beach but it was a great jesture on her part and we all appreciated it.

Rooms

Very clean and very nice. We had some problems with the AC when we checked in and later on my daughters room had a bit of a flood one morning due to AC leaking but they were very responsive and addressed both problems almost immediately.

Pool and Beach

Not much to say about this other then fantastic! Beach is beautiful and frankly, we rarely left it during our stay, other than to take a dip in the pool. The teens had a good time playing volleyball and water polo in the pool and never once complained or whined ! (Rare for teens)

Food

Excellent! Great quality at all the buffets and the ala cartes were terrific. One of our favorite things was the buffet at the pool. It was great to be able to just stroll in and grab a bite, whether it was a few chix nuggets or even a small steak or fish. Also, be sure to find the beach bar. They serve great grilled sandwiches and fries and have a great view! We ate at the steak house twice, the japanese, and the fish restaurant and were never disappointed.

Entertainment

Good, not great. We've been to other Iberostars and found the entertainment crew here a little less engaging. It could have been that the place was much larger and spread out then some of the others.

Service

EXcellent everywhere we went. A little slow in the steak restaurant but they were always smiling and attentive.

All was good and it was a great trip with one exception. Several of us came down with some stomach issues. It didn't really hamper our trip, but we did need to stay close to bathrooms during our stay. I don't know what it was from as all of us ate different things. We didn't drink the water as they supplied us with enough in our room and we just bought the bottles with us to dinner.

On a more positive note, the casino in the Dominican was excellent. It was small but given that none of us are anything more than casual gamblers, it worked out fine.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bávaro to enjoy your holidays and for taking time to write some comments about your visit.
We are very glad to read that you and your whole group enjoyed a memorable stay due to the friendliness of our staff members from the first moment you contacted Wanda, who has been congratulated for making your holidays especial. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are waiting for your next visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.