We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bavaro Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bavaro
Dorado, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great vacation. This is my 4th stay at this hotel after a 3 year trial at other competitors within Punta Cana. Facilities are good, accomodations are perfect and layout to move within is helpful. Big difference is Public Relations...ask for Martín Pérez, very helpful; made our stay a special one with restaurant reservations, romantic dinner and room details. Best fries at the beach, Ramona and Mylvia are great at massages. Room for improvement on TV signal (variety and quality) and internet (higher broadband). Artistic shows are average. Proximity to RD traditional beach stores is value added.

Room Tip: Communicate your preferences; say, near beach, restaurants or close to shows.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to express how pleased we are to read that despite the issues related to the TV signal, the excellent service provided by our friendly staff (among them by Martin, Ramona and Milvia) made you feel as a “Star” once again as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resort and as you are getting used to.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,073
    1,314
    394
    164
    75
See reviews for
1,740
1,756
76
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from family vacation. First some of the positive points: when you first arrive the resort is very nice looking. It is a large open air lobby, very clean, with couches and chairs, souvenir shop. The grounds are well manicured, and lush. They keep the common areas nice and clean. The people that work in the hotel work long hours and are generally very friendly. Most speak some English, although there are quite a few that did not. The pool is a nice zero entry pool, very large with varying depths to accommodate all levels of swimmers. The children's pool was also very nice with its slides and fountains, etc.. The beach is a very nice white sand beach, with typical beautiful Caribbean waters. The food is abundant, and there are bars in various locations to accommodate everyone. The rooms are nice looking, the ones we had all came with king size beds, two sort of couches, and balcony. The bathrooms had a shower, and a bath tub. The Kids Club is very nice, and the lady that ran it while we were there was very nice. On a couple of the nights the kids got to do a little show before the main show began, it was very cute.

Now for some of the shortcomings, and there were a number of them, and quite frustrating at times.

Shower: there was no hot water. I asked for it to be repaired. I had to settle for luke warm with very little pressure...until our last day when for at least 90 minutes there was no running water in our room at all.

Air conditioning: our room was an upstairs room, and was quite warm when we arrived and very humid. We were told they don't turn the AC on until the room is occupied. Hours later the room was the same, so I finally found the AC control, it is a small knob next to the bed. It has 3 settings: #1, 2 and 3. It was on #1, so I switched it to #2, and then #3...that turned the AC completely off. Called for repair. The person that came did not speak English, but with my broken Spanish I could understand a little and his explanation was that the AC is working, and #1 is the highest setting, so don't worry about #'s 2 &3, but the room was not cool and extremely humid. Finally a day later I went to front desk to complain. The AC worked a little better, but still only on #1 after that.

Linens: We were 2 adults and 2 children in the room. We had 3 towels, and no extra sheets to make up the couches we would be using for a bed. They knew how many people we were, but it didn't seem to get communicated to housekeeping. Again after speaking to front desk the linen issue was resolved.

Ants/insects: there were a considerable number of ants outside the room, and I understand insects living outside...what I did not like was the ants inside our room. They are very small and they were on the walls, and on the end tables near the couches. Then they showed up in the bathroom and made it in to the toiletry bag. Spoke to front desk, they sent their exterminator. He sprayed outside our room, and inside the room. It did not resolve the problem completely, but I did not want more chemicals around my kids, and the rest of our group was downstairs from us so we did not want to move.

Pool: the floor of the pool has some rough spots and while we were there chunks of the floor actually broke off, making for some sharp edges. The floor around the pool is EXTREMELY slippery when wet. You have to use extreme caution and kids need to be reminded of this. Everyday I saw kids fall, none hurt bad, just scared. There is a hot tub located in the pool as well...although it has bubbles, the water was the same temperature as the pool water...maybe it is not a hot tub, but it certainly appeared that it was supposed to be one.

Food: while the food is varied and abundant, it is mostly average to below average in quality and taste. I am mostly speaking of the buffets. The omelets that are made fresh are good; the fresh fruit was good; the rostisserie chicken at the lunch buffet was good, but beyond that the other meats (hamburger, hot dog) were more like mystery meats.
We ate at the Steakhouse and the adult only French restaurant. They were both ok, not great, just ok.

Timeliness: I'm from NY, so maybe I need to relax more, but punctuality is not one of the best traits of people working in the hotel. For example we had 6:30pm dinner reservations, but they did not unlock the door to the restaurant until 6:40pm. When calling for luggage pick up they told us some one on the way...not so...had to call again and finally some one came. Other repairs that were requested by other family members either took forever to get some one to respond, or were just never fulfilled.

Overall it is a nice looking resort, with hard working people who do try for the most part to accommodate you. They need to sharpen up their repair skills and efforts, and not make so many excuses. It is family friendly, and a fun trip if you can overlook some of the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Our room was located right near the pool which worked well for us. This location is also good since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our hotel and for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday destination.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our family friendly grounds, the wide options of our daily and nightly entertainment for all ages, the variety of our exquisite cuisine and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the breakdown in the hot water service, the air conditioning system and the room cleaning service. We have shared your feedback with the corresponding departments so they can evaluate their performance and deliver the level of service expected by our beloved guests. We would like to clarify though that we use human harmless products when fumigating our premises.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again and show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.I. NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay was from June 19th to June 25th. This was our first visit to Punta Cana and we wanted to be at an Iberostar Resort. We have been to Iberostar Toucan and Quetzel in Mexico many times and were always very pleased. When we started researching,the Bavaro was listed as #12 and now it is # 15 in a few short weeks. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the food was very good, but lunch at the beach needs improvement. Not too many choices and the same thing almost every day. The Cajun restaurant was fair, but we preferred dinner at the buffet as there was more of a variety. The pool needs resurfacing as it not only looks awful, but it feels awful. Our room was on the first floor near the pool and the beach which was ideal (#2385) The room was fine, but the TV reception is terrible. The service for the tv was a comedy of errors! Don't even bother turning it on. Hats off to Paulo at reception and Juan at the dinner buffet. Excellente!

Room Tip: If you are there with children try to be near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Bavaro.
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to express our happiness to read your positive comments about our grounds, our exquisite gastronomy, the excellent service of our friendly staff (among them from Juan and Paulo). Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar to ensure memorable stays to our beloved guest.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to the television signal and our pool. We welcome your valuable feedback and we assure you that it has been shared with the corresponding departments.
Please feel free to contact us before your next visit, we will be happy to welcome you back,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is my fourth visit to this hotel so I have a little past experience to go on. Traveled June 24-July 1st. As usual, check-in went smoothly as the staff is extremely helpful. You are greated with a small refreshing drink. They advise you to make reservations at the specialty resturants. Room was fantastic. They keep the room spotless and filled the min-bar every other day. Beds are comfortable and room is kept just cool enough for good sleeping. Plenty of places to get a drink and there is an abundance of food. Grounds are beautiful. They are constantly working to keep the place looking fantastic. Plenty for the kids to do as far as kids and teen clubs and my daughter loved the mini-disco. Staff is wonderful. Beach is amazing.
With all the positives you may be wondering why the slipping comment. Two things really bothered me on this vacation. The pool needs to be repaved badly. Large sections of the pool are coming up. It hurts when you are constantly stepping on pieces of pool. Second, the food selection needs to be updated. There is an abundance of food but they were serving the same things three days in a row. This is the first time that they had the same hot dish three nights is a row at the same station.
I pool must be refinished soon as it is a big part of the resort. This is a great family resort. I will consider going back but wil focus on future reviews to see if changes to the pool are made.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we want to thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at Iberostar Bavaro and also for your loyalty towards our hotel as your family holiday’s destination.
We want to express how satisfied we are to read that our exquisite gastronomy, the service provided by our friendly staff, the beauty of our clean premises and the wide options for daily and nightly entertainment for all ages ensured you and your family another memorable stay as you are used to. In Iberostar, as you well know, we aim to ensure unforgettable experiences to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences related to our gastronomy and the pool. We have shared your feedback to the corresponding departmental heads to ensure that those services are up to our Iberostar standards.
We look forward to welcome you again; please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Dominicana hotel last year, we decided to return again this year but to make it a bit different we booked our rooms in the Bávaro. Our rooms were excellent, travelling as a group of five the hotel staff placed us all together, close to pool, beach and eating areas. The grounds of the hotel are splendid, the gardening staff work very hard to ensure this. All the areas are kept very clean and the rooms are very clean, only have one slight negative comment is that the rooms can be a little dark.
There are various places to eat with a huge variety of choice, ensuring all tastes are catered for. We really enjoyed the a la carte steak restaurant the best, the steaks are not for the faint hearted, so best to pace yourself on the starters.

During our holiday we met with staff who remembered us from last year, greeting you like a member of the family, this is heart felt and they cannot do enough to ensure you have a great holiday. I would like to thank Rafael and Natalie, who helped us with all our requests and ensured two birthday celebrations were catered for including, balloons, cake, musicians and various renditions of "Happy Birthday" it was certainly a 50th never to forget.
Thanks to customer relations who looked after my husband after injuring his leg, supplying crutches and arranging for him to be collected in a buggy when needed,

Along with all of this the beach is picture perfect and we spent most of our days soaking up the sun and generally relaxing but there our trips a plenty for those who want to venture further a field.

I can only say that from start to finish we enjoyed the entire holiday experience once again and this can only be thanks to the whole team, who work tirelessly to ensure you have a holiday to remember, we will certainly return and look forward to doing so.
Thank you all and keep up the good work, you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Bavaro.
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that you and your husband had enjoyed another memorable holiday due to our varied gastronomy, our beautiful premises and the friendliness and excellent from our staff (among them Rafael and Nathalie whose service ensured you a nice birthday celebration). Those aspects are part of our commitments in Iberostar, as you have experience twice.
We will be glad to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I will go back every year if is posible!
It was just the perfect place for the perfect honneymoon..
I highly appreciate this hotel and the staff....weather perfect food awsome beach amazing ...just go and enjoy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience with us and also for having chosen Iberostar Bavaro as destination for your honeymoon. We wish you a successful marriage.
We really appreciate your motivating words regarding the friendliness of our team, the beauty of our premises and the variety of our gastronomy. In Iberostar we are committed to provide an excellent service to our beloved guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate your first wedding anniversary. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We travelled to the DR from the UK via our travel agent Thomas Cook for 2 weeks from the 11th June 2013. All in all we had a good holiday (family of 4 - 2 adults in the 30's, an 18 month old daughter and a 3 1/2 year old son).

Once we left the airport at Punta Cana, there was chaos at the airport with nobody seeming to want to help or tell us what to do. No real queues, people pushing round, a very uncomfortable experience. You need to pay 10 usd per person to get into the country. The transfer to the hotel from Punta Cana airport took around 25 minutes.


Check-in - Shambles. We queued for an age (with two crying babies) and it turned out that we should have been sat by the sofas to fill out forms (nobody bothered telling us!). Iberostar ARE aware of such issues when it comes to check-in, on previous reviews this had been mentioned but evidently nothing had been done about this.


Language - If you don't know Spanish you may struggle to communicate basic requests to some staff. This isn't a problem in general but we had quite a problem on one of the first few nights (which we spoke to Wanda about the following day and she sorted it out for us - Thank you!).


Service - Very mixed. On many occasions during dinner in particular, we were greeted with a big smile and the waiters / waitresses made the experience more enjoyable, particularly with our children. A lot of the staff would say "hola!" to us which was nice and we all loved that. There were occasions that when we went to lunch and sat down at the main buffet, a waiter would shout something over from across the dining room and wave his hand in another direction - not quite 5* customer service! Turned out they closed off some of the dining area for lunch but we didn't expect to be treated like that!

On one of the first days we got there I took my 3 year old son for a swim. He wasn't feeling very well and needed some water so we went to the swim-up bar. The two waiters there ignored us and played dumb. I asked to see their manager who I explained the problem to, he just stared back at me with a blank expression. This is the poor attitude that a handful of the staff here have shown us.

On one of the days we went to the sea and whilst we were out swimming someone had taken one of our towels. I went back to explain this to the woman at the towels to ask her for another one but all she said back was "Two" with a rather angry expression on her face (two being the number of towels we had left to share between us after the third was missing).

Our son, as children on occasions do, had left behind one of his favourite toys when we'd left dinner and we noticed this the following morning. Once we noticed we called up reception who told us to check with guest services at 8am. Checked there, but the answer we got was a "no" - and not an "I'm sorry we will keep an eye out for it" which would have been a little better. It was funny that we knew where he'd left it, we were one of the last to leave at dinner there and one of the first at breakfast at exactly the same place..... we'd even asked the same staff if they'd seen it and they too said "no".

On one of our last nights we ordered ourselves some cocktails during a show from a waitress that came round to the tables. A while later the drinks arrived and when we tasted them they did not contain any alcohol (as described) in them. We thought we'd check this out by going directly to the bar and ordered the same drinks again. The second batch contained the right stuff so we questioned the waitress and told her about what had happened, but she became quite angry at us insisting there was rum in the cocktails. Maybe if we'd have been drinking all day we wouldn't have noticed but it was our first of the night and we definitely noticed the difference.

We needed to change some money, there was an exchange sign on the check-out desk showing currency rates but it turned out that this was just for show and the hotel did not provide an official service for this which was a real pain as we needed money to pay the departure tax! (20 usd per person)


Value - We paid quite a lot for the holiday but considering everything it was good to very good value.


Sleep Quality - There were four of us sharing a room with two small double beds (we put them together), a sofa (which we had to turn into a bed for our son but he loved it) and a cot (for our daughter). The "double" beds we found were simply too small for us and when you pushed them together created quite a gap between them. My son slept very well most nights which was a plus. The cot where my daughter slept in was on it's last legs and didn't feel safe although she slept ok most nights. We'd occasionally hear people walking round at night but all in all it was quiet.


Cleanliness - All in all things were kept clean, but there were times when plates were left outside all night long. The pool cleaning equipment I think may need an upgrade as the water wasn't that clean immediately after it had been cleaned. Other than that all communal areas were kept very clean.


Cleaning / Turn Down Service - Pretty good all in all. There was one occasion where we (stupidly) left our safe open when we left the room for the day. The cleaners had been in and nothing was touched in the safe - phew! Wanted to mention this as I think a lot of the staff here seem trustworthy.


Location - Hotel itself is located far enough from the airport so you don't get much aircraft noise, and perfectly right next to the beautiful beach. Lovely.


Rooms - If we didn't have children I'd rate the room higher however, the two steps between the living / sleeping area and the unforgiving hard floor meant we were always on edge with our 18 month old who's still not the best walker in the world. Pretty good all in all, starting to look a little tired. Not many English speaking tv channels (but then again I didn't expect any coming to a country where they don't speak it). TV reception was poor on many channels, there are cartoon channels for kids.


Food - Superb. Out of this world. Fantastic. Great. Supercalifragialisticexpialidocious. If I could I would poach the chefs from Iberostar and ask them to come and work for us permanently. I could not fault the food at all. All of us got a little "travellers tummy" on holiday but that's probably to do with just getting used to the different foods. One thing to bear in mind is that there's very little choice for vegetarians in many of the restaurants. If the rating was out of ten I would have to turn the rating up to eleven :)


Drinks - Disappointing cocktails. Most of the time the bars seemed to be out of ingredients to make mojitos. It was funny that one of the managers of the month was shown to be the beverage managers and yet he could not manage the supply and demand for this drink.
Wine was lovely. It was Spanish (this would usually put me off unless it was a good Rioja) but the red was very drinkable and one I would buy ahead of several other supermarket ones here in the UK. White wine too was good, and they call the Cava "champagne" there - that was very nice. It took the waiters a while to go off and top us up with Cava as I think they had the bottles stored elsewhere but all in all the wines were excellent (and included).
Soft drinks - A decent selection, could do with a few more sugar-free ones. Sadly if you asked for an orange juice at the bar it wasn't proper orange juice, it tasted very artificial and horrible.


Restaurants - Buffets were the best for us. Plenty of room, never felt overly crowded, and the food was lovely and a wide choice. Fruit selection was great, I think I've stocked up on my vitamins for the rest of the year now.
There is a major issue I think (that management are fully aware of) about the booking system for the restaurants. You need to queue to book (and the queuing can be exceedingly lengthy). Iberostar guarantee 4 visits to restaurants on your stay (2 weeks), we only got three and were made to feel like we were an inconvenience when we were booking them. A real shambles. And the sad thing is that the restaurants that we did go to were only 1/3 capacity much of the time. We felt this was very misleading from Iberostar - I understand that people don't turn up for meals but to see an almost empty restaurant in our situation when we couldn't get a 4th booking was very very sad.
"Hard Rock Cafe" - you don't need to book for this for the evenings - menu was quite limited and the drinks service very poor. Food itself I found was very nice but as my wife is a vegetarian she asked if they could make her some fajitas without meat. For some strange reason this was not possible which raised questions about how the food is prepared. A 5* restaurant (All inclusive or not) should be able to do this surely???? Dessert took too long to arrive and we left without it. If it wasn't for the fantastic food quality I would have given the Hard Rock Cafe 0/10.
Japanese - Fantastic food. Service for drinks could have been better (we had someone round from guest services during the meal and after they left the service magically improved). Not many vegetarian options. All in all I'd give the Japanese 8/10
Mexican - Again fab food. They had a mini buffet there and you could order from the menu. Drinks service poor again but I just want to re-iterate how great the food was. 8/10 overall.
Oriental - Super food. Like the Mexican it had a buffet. We weren't drinking wine there just water, but service was great. No real vegerarian options. As the service was good it gets a 10/10 from me.


Kids Activities - You're best checking the schedule before going there as they do things in the pool / archery area at different times. We'd often go there in the hope that the nice air conditioned playroom would be open but they were usually elsewhere. They mainly speak Spanish there, and very little English. Our son loved having his face painted as a dog on one of the days and there are lego / vehicles / table football there too. On one of the days I was going into the Kids Club with my daughter in the pram and the lady who was there said something (angrily) in Spanish (I think it was go away or something) which seemed out of character.


Excursions - We took 2 - a snorkeling one for my son and wife which I'm sure they would rate 10/10 (via dive shop) and also a Pirate excursion booked via the company that Iberostar approve to sell excursions that's located by the beach. This was a disaster.
My wife had asked the excursion staff a number of times whether the Pirate trip was a family friendly one, and on several times they said it was. But it wasn't. There was a transfer from the hotel to another beach which took about 20 minutes. We had to get out of the minibus and onto the beach (having to push a pram on sand which was quite a tiring task - no staff to help us!). There were beggars hassling the tourists and the "guides" did nothing to discourage them. Then we were all crammed onto a boat (with limited life jackets) where we had to swap boats again (quite unsafely particularly with a pram and young children) onto a pirate ship. There was no real shade there, nowhere to sit, my children were crying most of the time as it was full of adults getting drunk and very noisy music and some un-family friendly pirate shows. This was a waste of our time and money. We went to complain to Guest Services who had a word with the travel company and asked us to go and see them directly to sort out the issue. We did so, but they kept stalling (as they knew we were flying off soon) and only offered us a tiny refund which we are still not happy about and we explained this to them. Iberostar management need to take more responsibility for such issues if companies are selling trips on their hotel using their name and we await a suitable response and resolution to this from Iberostar.


Weather - Fantastic. Must have got up to about 30 degrees most days we were there. Too hot? Go by the beach, there's a constant breeze blowing there which has a real cooling effect.


General state of the buildings - Seem to be solidly built but some parts are looking a little tired / weathered and could do with a lick of paint. All in all good.


Beach & sea - Beach is generally kept very clean by Iberostar staff. The sea is quite rough but ok if you're a fair to strong swimmer.


Smoking - The culture and attitude of the hotel & some of the guests differs very much to mine. I did not find it acceptable that people were allowed to smoke in the beach restaurant during lunch on the table next to ours. Nor did I appreciate it when in an empty bar when I had my children with me a couple sat right next to us and filled our lungs with smoke so we had to move. Nor did I like it that when we were on the loungers right next to the pool that some guests lit up next to us forcing us to move. Just something I thought worth mentioning, perhaps having some more no-smoking areas would encourage more guests from Europe and North America to visit the hotel.


Reserving loungers - Every morning after we'd finish breakfast almost all the loungers were "reserved" with people's towels. There were times when we'd visit the pool for hours and not see anyone use them. I realize that Iberostar have a tricky task on this but I think something needs changing here.

All in all this really was a good family holiday but wanted to highlight some of the areas for improvement for the management who do seem to read these reviews. It may seem like I'm nit-picking but I think it's fair for readers to know about our experience. Thanks for having us, but unless we read reviews about the customer service improving and a resolution to our refund on the trip we won't be returning.

Tip - Rum is expensive at the airport (UK prices!) - try and get some elsewhere!

Room Tip: If you have children chose the block that has room 1315 in it (our room) - this was on the block nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your recent vacations among us.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you our gratitude to acknowledge your feedback about your recent visit to our hotel premises. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We have forwarded the aforementioned comments to all relevant department heads as to ensure that service is up to Iberostar standards. We would like to extend apologies for any and all inconveniences that you experiences during your vacation here at the Iberostar Bavaro and reassure you that it is not a true depiction in the way we operate and give our best service to our valuable costumers as thousands of satisfied repeating guests can certify with their visits year after year.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and show you our improvement. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Business Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.