We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Room For Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bavaro Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Bavaro
Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good But Room For Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Iberostar Bavaro From March 31 to Apr.7. This was our first stay at Bavaro, but our 9th Iberostar experience at 6 different Iberostar resorts. We are a married couple in our mid 50's.
We arrived late. We were not greeted with the traditional welcome drink. We had asked in advance for a king bed on the 2nd floor. We got a king bed on the ground floor. We didn't have a problem with this, other than the room having a slight musty smell. The air conditioning only worked on 1speed, however it was a perfect temperature for us, so we did not ask for service. We appreciated the light duvet on the bed. The room was clean and adequate with twice a day maid service. We would leave a tip on the bed each day. We found it odd that the tips appeared to be collected before the rooms were cleaned. More then once we went back to the room to find the room not cleaned but the tip had been picked up, and no cleaning cart in sight??? The grounds are beautiful with constant attention from the gardening staff. I will not comment much on the food, as I feel that food taste is very subjective. We had no issues with the food.
The beach was clean and well cared for and we had no problems getting a palapa at the beach during the early to mid mornings, and appreciated the amount of palapas in place.
My major Complaint with this resort is the lack of shade at the pool,in combination with the blatant saving and hoarding of chairs in the shade. There just is not an adequate amount of palapas around the pool for the size of this resort. There are no palapas around the kids water area. There is plenty of open space to install many more palapas. In addition, the blatant misuse of "the towel game" must be addressed by management. On the two days only that we got up early enough ( 6:15 am) to get a palapa by the pool (and stayed there the majority of the day) we witnessed many chairs under palapas going completely unused,often until late morning, and even as late as 2:30 PM. This is not acceptable and unless this situation is rectified, for us
it's a deal breaker and we will not return.
My second complaint is the fee for Wi-Fi. For these times in a 4 1/2 star resort, we fully expect complimentary Wi-Fi, especially for the inconvenience of having to go to the lobby to use it. Get with the times Bavaro!
I hope Mr.Sanchez sends my two complaints to Mr. Grubanov. I would have spoken to him myself, if he had stayed at the "meet and greet" cocktail party long enough for me to get to talk to him.

Room Tip: Good Luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking time to post some comments about you stay at Iberostar Bavaro and for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination.
We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel despite not having fulfilled all your expectations regarding our hotel services. As you well know, in Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star” that is why every member of our staff is engaged to provide the best service. On the other hand, we thank you for your feedback regarding the maintenance of our rooms, the quantity of palapas at the beach and pool, and the breakdown in the Service from the Front Desk upon your arrival. We have sent your review to our Management team and the corresponding departmental heads to introduce the appropriated changes according to Iberostar Standards.
We will be happy to welcome you back again and show you our improvements. Please feel free to contact us to help you in your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,130
    1,353
    400
    167
    76
See reviews for
1,796
1,790
77
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here over the easter holidays (April 2013). We had perhaps 2 hours of rain rain on 1 day of our 2 week stay. The entire grounds are kept clean around the clock and the beach is fanstastic.

My daughters loved it. It is absolutely great for children and the customer care is impecable. The staff are wonderful and are available to you 24hrs of the day. The family rooms are large and cleaned twice daily. All the staff are there simply to ensure you have a great holiday.

The only negative is the VERY for from a 5 star hotel that you may find in some ratings. I would rate it as a 4 star at a very generous maximum. But again the warmth and friendliness of the service staff soon makes you forget minor detail.

So have a great Holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach, they are sunny and can be noisy due to entertainment crew activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to acknowledge that the excellent service provided by our friendly staff made you and especially your children feel as “Stars” during your holidays despite the fact that our amenities did not meet your expectations. In Iberostar we want to ensure our guests to enjoy “being a star” before, during and after our guests’ visits to our premises and facilities.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our son's Spring Break from school. He's 15. We like all inclusive hotels for our teenage kids because they can have some freedom on secure grounds. But this one ruined our streak of good experience at all inclusives. We waited hours for our room. During that time we were not allowed to make dinner reservations because we did not yet have a room number. When we got our room number at 6 PM, we were told that all restaurants were booked for the next two days. We got to our room, which was across from the service entry to a restaurant, ( we heard the sound of trays crashing starting at 6 AM and smelled the aroma of food and grease all day), only to find that the water in the shower was only scalding hot, no cold. So we could not shower. We asked for this to be corrected, and the next day we only had cold, no hot. So now we cannot shower, nor have coffee, because the coffee maker didn't work. By 6:30 AM all beach chairs are reserved by other guests. I tested this for 3 mornings getting out there a little earlier each day, and know that beach chairs are taken by 6 AM.
WI Fi is only available in the main reception area at a charge of $7-8 per hour, or $15 for 24 hours. In room ethernet connection is available for the same charges. My son had never seen ethernet, ha ha.
Generally I found that the front desk staff will tell you any bogus answer to a question or concern just to get you to go away.
Restaurants were ok, especially the buffet. If you order from the menu, you might get some variation of what is described, e.g., I ordered grilled grouper on a bed of coconut shrimp, and got broiled grouper with a drizzle of creme sauce on top. No coconut shrimp, no shrimp of any kind.
The list of ridiculous lack of service could go on and on. Just suffice to say that if you're o.k. with crowded, mediocre cruise ship cuisine, this place is o.k. If you have small children it would probably be a good place to have a vacation.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your first visit to the Dominican Republic and for posting a feedback about your experience.
In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our valuable costumers the best experience during their holidays with beautiful grounds, exquisite international cuisine and the excellent service of our friendly staff. We regret to know that we could not accomplish our goal with you during your visit. We will forward the aforementioned comments to all relevant department heads as to ensure that service is up to Iberostar standards. We would like to extend apologies for any and all inconveniences that you experiences during your vacation here at the Iberostar Bavaro. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our Hotel. We will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify the not so positive evaluation. Once this is done, we will do our best not to have a reoccurrence of the situations mentioned.
We hope you give us the opportunity to show you the way we do care about our beloved guests. We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let me start by saying the grounds at this resort are phenomenal. Very clean and everything was organized. The pool was nice and the beach was beautiful. Booking a restaurant was very annoying. Waiting in line to be told it was all booked. Funny how everynight there was only about 10 people eating. The next morning they told me again that it was full for the evening. Now i was very upset and told her that the restaurants are empty only a few people. She had the guts to tell me that people don't show up. Wow they had a few restaurants that had about 30 tables in each but only 7 table were full. The remaining 23 tables they didn't show up. LIARS!!!!!!! The buffet was okay. The drinks were horrible to sweet. The entertainment was at times very boring. Won't go back. The maids were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,
On the behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Iberostar Bavaro and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the cleanness and beauty of our grounds. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds.
On the other hand, we apologize for any and all inconveniences related to our A la Carte restaurant booking system. Allow us to clarify though that our booking system is based on restaurant sittings for our 4 specialty restaurants at different hours. We want our guests to enjoy a nice dinner that is why we do not reserve all tables in each sitting. If we book all tables in one sitting, our guests might be forced to eat faster than pleasant. Booking every table in the 4 sittings also leads guests to wait for completion of previous guests enjoy their evening, which eventually causes a whole delayed reservation system and affected many guests. Sittings from 19:00 until 20:30 are the most popular between our guests, therefore the most difficult to please when requested. We thank you for your understating regarding this situation. Our Management team personally extends their apologies and regrets to hear that this area of our services prevent you from enjoying an unforgettable holiday as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband, my 11 month old, and my 3 and 1/2 old stayed at this resort march 27 to April 6. We had an amazing time despite the weather not being great. I guess it is rare for this time of year. Anyhow we found the place to he great for us. The food was really good at the buffets. There is so much food it is impossible not to find things you like. We did not try any of the restaurants as we found the buffet easy with the kids and liked the selection so we figured why chane something good. They had on a few nights all you can eat lobster tails, shrimp, crab claws etc every morning there was fresh fruit and fruit juices. Amazing cheese selections. And so on. The staff all worked really hard. There were only a few that did not seem as friendly. We did not send our kids to the kids club but every night there was a kids show and my three and half year old loved it! The shows after for the adults were not the best but we were so tired we didn't even stay for most of them. The beach is beautiful! Could walk forever. Ocean was great. Yes you do need to wake up early and reserve cabana and pool seats. Yes it's annoying but it is the game you must play. The sun is super strong so be careful w sunscreen application. We saw a lot of kids and adults w bad sunburns because of the overcast they didn't think they were getting too much sun. Rooms were a bit outdated. Would have been nice to be larger. And they are not infant/toddler friendly at all but we didn't spend much time in room so was ok. We washed our teeth with bottled water. We had a first floor room which was good in terms of it having to lug the stroller up the stairs etc but you do lack privacy because people can see into room of your drapes are not shut. We had a room next to pool which was great and central. They let us checkout late of our room for $20 per hour but was worth it for us with the kids. Overall we had a great time and met some great people. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as the destination for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that you enjoyed an “amazing time” at our facilities and premises. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our varied gastronomy, the friendliness and excellent service of our staff, and the variety of our daily and nightly entertainment activities. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved guests.
On the other hand, we have taken notes from your experience in our beach. Our Management team has been notified to prevent this kind of situation in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience that you might have encountered.
We kindly invite to welcome you back again, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best parts of the resort are the open air lobby and restaurants and the wide sandy beach. The staff fit a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde profile. You never know what to expect when approaching the front desk, concierge, or wait staff. This game of roulette also includes the food, both buffet and a la carte. Some of it was quite good, and some awful. The activities staff's demeanor were about the only predictable thing here as they were always extremely friendly, outgoing, and inclusive. I would have felt I'd gotten a better value had the resort not been so highly rated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hotels and Resorts for your vacations. In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we also thank you for taking time to write some comments about your stay at Iberostar Bavaro.
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts is the leading hotel chain for vacation hotels with more than 100 hotels at the disposition for our beloved guests. In each of our hotels Iberostar our basic principles are to provide the best service and to offer the best quality of products in exquisite gastronomy. We regret that this was not your impression when you visited Iberostar Bavaro. We have shared your feedback with the corresponding departmental heads to evaluate our performance and deliver the level of service expected by our valuable costumers. We would like to reassure you however that this is not a true depiction of our standards of operation here at the Iberostar Bavaro.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit; please contact us to help you enjoy your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this resort July of 2012 as a family of four (2 adults, a 15-year old and an 11 year old) and this was our first all-inclusive vacation. I must say this resort was amazing! The overall environment of this resort was very relaxing and never disappointed.

Rooms: The rooms were pretty large compared to some other hotels. Also the rooms were always cleaned up so well and the maids make very adorable towel animals which is always a pleasure to see. They would also leave chocolates on the beds which was a treat. The mini-fridge was restocked almost everyday and you could always request specific sodas and drinks so that service was great.

Food: Overall the food was amazing! There was a great variety in all of the buffets and restaurants. We all the restaurants but the Japanese restaurant and they all had high quality meals. Personally preferred the buffet foods better in some aspects but overall the food was great. During dinner at the main buffet one night, we made a comment about the lack of seasoned shrimps and within 10 minutes one of the chefs Rafael personally brought out a plate of cooked sautéed shrimps for my family. Amazing service and food!

Entertainment and Activities: The entertainment staff at the Iberostar (Star Friends) really go above and beyond to make sure everybody enjoys their vacation. This goes from the sports games by the pool to the "Crazy Show" all the way to the nightly entertainment of singing and dancing. I cannot say enough about people like Eduardo who was the main person in charge of all this entertainment. What I loved most was that after a couple of days at the resort the Star Friends begin to greet you like you were old pals. If there is truly any reason to stay at this resort know that you will be treated with the utmost respect and friendliness and it will be like a home away from home.

This resort exceeded so many expectations, the staff treats you like family, and the food and beach are amazing. Really what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro Hotel for your first all-inclusive experience and for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we are glad to hear that youyou’re your family enjoyed from an unforgettable stay, and as you stated our hotel exceeded your expectations regarding our exquisite gastronomy, the beauty and cleanness of our premises including the beach and the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar two of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds and to offer a unique culinary experience. We appreciate your nice comments about those aspects. We have congratulated Eduardo and the Star Friends for making your holidays special.
We kindly invite you to give us a second visit; please contact us before your arrival.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Business Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., VISIT US, INC. , Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.