We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first visit to Iberostar and won't be my last,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bavaro Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bavaro
Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not my first visit to Iberostar and won't be my last,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Last year my husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel in Punta Cana (the adults only section of the Iberostar location), but this year decided to bring our daughter so we stayed in the Bavaro. We were sure to email and make dinner reservations in advance, about a week prior to arriving. Check in was a breeze and we were driven to our hotel room on a golf cart and assisted with our bags. Everyone was friendly and we were offered refreshing drinks upon arrival as well. Lived up to my expectations, everything from the food to the wait staff to the bartenders were tremendous. We loved the Star friends and the entertaining shows after dinner. We were particularly impressed with one cirque-du-solei inspired show with very impressive acrobatics etc. The location is scenic and beautiful and well maintained. Our favorite restaurant was the Cajun themed.
I noticed other travelers with young children chose to eat at the same buffet every night. What they may not have realized is that children are offered their own separate menu not necessarily listed outside of the restaurant. I had no problem pleasing her picky tastes and allowing my husband and I to enjoy not only variety in our meals, but the service as well.
We brushed our teeth in the sinks and experienced no problems with the water in the shower or sinks, just obviously don't fill your water bottle up with it and drink it. None of us had any illness drinking the water they offered us at the table that may or may not have been bottled, I am not sure.
One thing I wanted the point out is that although the resort is all inclusive, it is really nice to still bring tip money. For some travelers that complained they may not have received as much attention from the servers on the beach, a couple of dollars goes a long way and you should show your appreciation by taking care of all cocktail waitresses and bartenders at least. I even tipped the towel girl by the pool at the end of the week but that is just me.
Additionally the childcare/ 'Kids' Club' was great, my daughter only went one day during our stay but she had a blast and we had time to go to the gym and relax alone on the beach in quiet for a bit which was nice.
I also cannot recommend the photo shop staff enough. We scheduled family portraits with Nik and the pictures were absolutely beautiful, they really knew what they were doing. We were actually quite blown away as they were more than we were expecting in terms of quality and professionalism.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,073
    1,314
    394
    165
    75
See reviews for
1,740
1,756
76
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just returned from spending two weeks in PC. This resort has got to be the best around! Not only are the suites very spacious, the beaches are beautiful, the food is delicious but the most important feature of this resort is the friendliness of the entire staff! As a solo traveler, I never felt alone! The Star Friends do a fabulous job of making "everyone happy" throughout the day with all the activities going on. The shows in the evening are terrific too! A lot of hard work goes into pleasing the guests and it really shows.

Alexandra, who overseas all the food served in the resort," is just a petite woman "who shows up everywhere" to make sure that the food is just perfect. You always see her at lunch visiting with the guests, but then well into the evening, she is showing up at the different restaurants.
She really takes pride in the food preparation and wants to make sure that the guests are satisfied. My favorite was the Dominican soup, very simple but outstanding in taste!

The beach bar was the gathering spot for daily bingo with Tobias from Star Friends. His humor and energy kept me playing regularly. Met so many nice people as Leonardo and his crew kept us all supplied with drinks and comraderie. Jensy, Carlos, Luis, Amuari, and the entire Star Friends crew were wonderful in seeing that the guests "stayed happy." They put in long hours and their dedication to their work really shows!

The resort is kept immaculate from the grounds to the suites. Guest Services go out of their way to help you with dinner reservations and all your needs. Rebecca went out of her way to make sure that I had a wonderful time. The lobby bar was the gathering spot for pre-dinner cocktails. It was wonderful meeting so many people from all over the world.

I would definitely recommend this property to everyone, couples and family alike. Having stayed in other PC resorts in the past, this is my ONLY resort now!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Personally I prefer near the beach and the gym. But some guests like being ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Iberostar resort complex was beautifully maintained. Check in was quick and we were even upgraded to an ocean view room. Our housekeeper Ruth kept our room immaculate ~ with an assortment of different towel art everyday. The staff was friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived (they greeted us with yummy beverage) to the moment we boarded our shuttle for the airport. The food offerings were ok, not a lot of vegetarian options in the buffet. The Mexican ala carte being the best meal we had at the resort.
The pool and beach areas at the Iberostar Beach Resort are beautiful, well-maintained and clean. Security is excellent and there are no hassles on the beach. The beach is fabulous for families. The pool / beach never felt over crowded 'no towel game' we were always able to find a palapa / chair

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri, usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great vacation, there were 16 of us in our group, our travel agent had requested our rooms be close to each other, and close to pool and beach, we had a great location. Cannot brag enough about the staff, they went out of their way to make our stay great. Rissa, Tobias, and the whole entertainment team are awsome, everyone including bartenders remember names, it is unreal considering the amount of people that come and go. The grounds are beautiful and so well taken care of, as were our rooms. The beach if beautiful, and our bartender on the beach was like a member of our group, he was awsome. The only thing we did not like was one excursion the Marinarium, most in our group were first time snorkeling, they did not explain what was about to happen, the water was deeper than we were told, needless to say it was not a good experience, if there were sharks in that pen I did not see any. the boat ride was beautiful and fun, but the snorkeling was a nightmare and the swim up bar was a tray sitting on a life jacket? but that was the ONLY drawback of the whole trip. The Outback Safari is awsome, some in our group went ziplining and they said it was Awsome, some chartered a deep sea fishing boat and caught 16 fish, they had an awsome time. Needless to say a great time was had by all.

Room Tip: room 2412 was awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've heard a lot about Iberostar chain before, and it was the 1st time I got to try it. I must say this was probably my best all-inclusive Carribean hotel experience ever. Our rooms were close to the lobby but on the very edge of the property - so it was really quiet. The rooms were big, compared to other hotels I've been to. Modern design bathroom, good beds and furniture, nice balcony, even on the ground floor. The food was excellent, we even tried caviar, and every dinner we got to taste something new. The a la carte restaurants were very good. Great beach, large pools. Staff is friendly and very professional.
Overall, definitely recommend it, would love to come back one day

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First, it's important to understand the Iberostar complex. The names of the hotels will drive you crazy. The most luxurious is the Grand, and from everything we could see, it was a decent step up from that to the other three. The Bavaro is next to the Grand and also the next most exclusive. The other two, the Dominicana and the confusingly named Punta Cana despite its location on Bavaro Beach, are mirror images of each other and share a lot of facilities. If you stay at the Bavaro, you can use the facilities at the Dominicana and the Punta Cana - you can't use the Grand's facilities.

There is a lot to like about this place. The staff is warm and friendly, probably as good as anywhere we've been. Just can't say enough about them. Tip people a dollar or two and they are you friends for life. Don't tip them and they are still wonderful and nice. Almost everybody is cheerful, and many of the staff spontaneously dance as they work. The people at the bar and restaurant near the pool are particularly nice (the restaurant becomes a steak house at night), and we made good friends of them. Tip: have breakfast at this place rather than the main buffet - it's quiet and pretty for breakfast. Also, there is a nice burger bar but it's hidden.

The beach is excellent - it's part of a huge stretch that goes on for miles - and there are unique shady huts with chaises lounge underneath. Although we are a family of 5 adults, we didn't have a problem finding space there Christmas week no matter what time of day we arrived. We spent our days moving in and out of the shade - delightful. The beach is not super wide but certainly wide enough to accommodate the foot traffic. The water is a beautiful turquoise. Although you can borrow snorkel equipment from the hut next to the Iberostar Punta Cana at the other end of the complex, don't expect to see much as the water is pretty churned up. We did have a fun experience of wading through a whole school of fish our last day, so it's possible to see fish from time to time. Others have mentioned seaweed, but we barely saw a strand - the Riviera Maya is way worse. Also, just up the beach is a tourist market, which is diverting and has souvenirs, though noticeably lacking in local crafts. We did buy some cheap jewelry made from larimar, a unique light blue pectolite found only in the D.R. My son bought a box of probably fake Dominican cigars, but he figures they're a good deal even if they're fake.

Families with small children will enjoy the zero entry pool and squirty slide with fun things to see and do. Try to get a room near the pool and you will be all set.

The set-up of the hotel is open, breezy and understated. Rather than a huge monolith, it is an assemblage of about 30-40 square buildings of two stories each with 8 units per building. The grounds are immaculate and well laid out. Walking is not hard, but if you want to take a ride, there are plenty of carts with people who will cheerfully drive you.

Just a couple of negatives that prevent us from giving this five stars:

1. The food is rarely more than just OK. It's plentiful but not amazing. As is true of many locations, the buffet is wearying, but even the specialty restaurants are really just average. The Japanese was probably our favorite. None of the restaurants would compare favorably with any one of the dozens of decent restaurants in our native Philadelphia that we like.

2. We were puzzled by the designation of the hotel rooms as "suites." They are really just OK sized rooms with a love seat (not even a couch) and porch or balcony. This was disappointing to us, especially as we were 5 adults in 2 rooms.

3. The internet costs money. $40 for 5 days wasn't a big deal, but honestly with prices like this you can throw in free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Small kids should stay near the pool. We stayed in connecting rooms near the lobby, which was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this resort as we had been to an Iberostar property (RoseHall Suites) in Montego Bay, Jamaica and loved it. The Iberostar Bavaro was quite nice. Check in went quickly, however our room was not actually available until 3pm...so we had to walk around with our passports and money for a few hours. Not a big deal. Unfortunately although we had requested 2 beds vs. 1 king bed and a room on the second floor, at the time when we booked, we were given a room with only 1 bed on the first floor. That being said, Alexandra at the reception desk was very pleasant and worked to get our room changed for the second day.
The beach was beautiful, much nicer than the one in Jamaica but on the flip side the pool was just ok in comparison to the infinity pool in Jamaica. The chairs by the pool were mainly spoken for early in the day by people leaving towels on them but as we preferred to be on the beach anyway, this was not a problem. The property is on the Atlantic coast and it was fun to play in the waves in the ocean. A couple of times it was rough and the undertow was strong. I did not see any lifeguards on the beach though there was a lifeguard chair. For the most part, there were not a lot of people flogging their wares on the beach. I think the Iberostar staff must have kept them moving along. At one end of the beach, past the higher end Grand Bavaro resort, there is a strip of stalls where locals sell jewellery, rum, paintings etc. We were told by our Air Transat rep to start at at a quarter of their asking price, when bargaining, and to pay no more than half the original asking price. Of course you can buy most of the same things in the shop on the resort but it was fun to visit the stalls.
The resort was very clean and had security guards posted throughout in white uniforms and pith helmets. The buffet was actually pretty good for an all inclusive. The bars had the standard alcohol, daquiris, pina coladas, etc. Wildon at the lobby bar makes a mean mojito. I recommend hanging out at the lobby bar at least once as the bartenders seem like they have a lot of fun dancing and singing. The a la carte restaurants were only so-so. We liked Jambalaya a lot & one of the chefs, Ramon, came over to check on our food. The steakhouse was also quite good and the waiters were hilarious so we ended up going there twice. Avoid the Oriental restaurant at the Dominicana (or Punta Cana, I can't remember which).
The entertainment was quite cheesy, lots of men dressing up as women, etc, but two of the shows "Boogie Nights" and the "Circus Show" were excellent. Not sure what the deal was with the dry ice shooting down from the ceiling obscuring the bass player during many of the shows but hey, it made us laugh. The Star Friends seemed nice except for one guy whose schtick was to walk up to people and make faces then walk away. They certainly work long hours, 14 hour days we were told. Compared to the Iberostar in Jamaica, the entertainment was just ok.
We took one day trip, Bavarro Runners, arranged through Air Transat that was definitely worthwhile. We visited a local school, one of 2 supported by the Bavarro Runners company, as well as a farm where they grow and prepare their own coconut oil, coffee, chocolate, vanilla, etc.. We also went to a sugar cane farm and had a demonstration of cigar rolling; went swimming at Macau beach and rode horses on a different farm.
All in all a good vacation. If you are going to the Dominican Republic, I recommend this resort. If not, go to the Iberostar Rosehall Suites in Jamaica :). Two good options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bavaro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#5 Business Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.