We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bavaro Suites to your Saves list
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
Leipsic, oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here at the Bavaro from Oct. 20 to Oct 27. You get there and right away get help with your bags. Took maybe 10 mins to check in. During that time we had a drink brought to me and my wife. Anything we needed helped with or had questions with the front desk was there to help at all times and all were very pleasant people. I've stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana next door so I had a idea of what to expect from this resort. The food is delicious and so are the drinks. What really makes your stay special is the workers. They are all so kind and willing to help you. We got to know Hector well as we would see him at the pool bar and the lobby bar at night. He was great to see everyday and always would make sure we were taken care of along with all of the other bartenders. The rooms were cozy. We stayed in room 2403 which is by the beach and by the food by the bar so it was a great location because we were by the beach, pool, and buffet. It was my third time( 1st for my wife who loved it) at a Iberostar and I havent been disapointed yet! Will definally return to this Iberostar and visit more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro to enjoy your honeymoon and for posting a comment about your experience on Tripadvisor. Once again congratulation for your wedding and we wish you a successful marriage!
We are very pleased to read acknowledge you and your wife had enjoyed an unforgettable experience in such as especial occasion due to the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved “stars”. Hector at the poll bar and the whole Front Desk team will be motivated by your nice lines referring their work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and celebrate your first anniversary. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,444
    1,501
    461
    183
    86
See reviews for
2,001
2,014
93
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Are you searching for white beaches, palm trees, long romantic walks and a real and affordable caribbean island the Punta Cana is the best choice. There a lot of hotel chains to choose from in Punta Cana. For the first time traveller search no further because Ibero Star Bavaro is the one! This place make me happy. The colours of the resort, the always smiling staff, the bachata music, the birds everything feels good. Sometimes the food is not star quality and the drinks are not from famous brands but hey you are all-inclusive basis in the Carribean. You can eat and drink to whole day! The whole resort is beautifully maintained and very romantic. Not to busy with people but just good. Try the a la Carte restaurants and you will be surprised! One thing... Just go!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holydays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read your motivating lines about our varied gastronomy, our beautiful premises; and the friendliness and excellent service from our staff members. Those aspects are part of our commitments in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We are very pleased to know that you valued them positively
We will be glad to welcome you back again. Please free to contact us before your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A fabulous beach, white sand, turquoise Caribbean, great food (really good!), average rooms (a little old but not a big deal), nice service! The only problem was the local tourists who arrived to the hotel for the weekend. You do not want to see people around with their white briefs( some with their boxers)and tank tops on in the pool. I suggest you to choose weekdays to go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday due to our excellent gastronomy and the beauty of our Bavaro Beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be happy to welcome you back. Feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We travelled in October in a group of 14 people. Some of our group had been several times before, so we knew it would be good, although it was our first visit. The hotel is very nice, the beach fabulous, but what makes it so special is the staff. They work really hard and are always cheerful. Eduardo and his animation team are fantastic, and create a really friendly atmosphere. We also met some great fellow guests from around the world. The AI does include everything, even sunbeds and drinks on the beach and the nightclub. Food choice was extensive, and there was always something for everyone, though we did have trouble getting slots in the specialist restaurants. We had a brilliant trip to Saona Island with the hotel Dive school. Tony the guide really looked after us, the food was great, and you can buy a video of the trip if you choose to. This was a fantastic holiday and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination. In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, hotel Manager, we also thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience.
We would like to express our satisfaction to hear that our hotel quality and services met your expectations based on your friends’ previous stays. As you experienced from a first hand, in Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable stays to our beloved “stars” on vacation. We will congratulate Eduardo and the Star Friends team for being part of your happy stay.
Please feel free to contact us before your next visit, we will be happy to welcome you back,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'll start with the cons.

Cons:

Food: While the buffet was very very GREAT, the hotel has a few other restaurants here which you have to get reservations for, including: Gourmet, Steakhouse, Japanese, Mediterranean. These restaurants were average to below average. You have limited choices at these restaurants in terms of what you can order and the food at these places was just "ok" and in some instances, The Mediterranean, the food was just bad.

Rooms: The rooms aren't that great. Don't expect a lavish 5 star quality room. First off there is no thermostat in the room, so if you enjoy sleeping in a comfortably chilly room like I do, you don't really get that. The beds are pretty stiff & cheap and they don't change the sheets every day. Yes you heard me right. Also because it's a tropical environment, it's hard to keep the humidity out of the room, so your room feels almost as muggy as it does outside. The television in the room had limited options, no on-demand movie options at all, the tv reception was poor (there was a lot of static) and the channel selection was poor.

Room Service: The room service is from 11am-11pm from an extremely limited menu of about 8 or so items, none of which are very appetizing, except maybe the hamburger? Either way, chances are if you're ordering from the room service menu, you're desperately hungry.

Pros: Beautiful location, obviously. The food here (at the buffet) was shockingly good. My expectations were very low since it's an all inclusive but the buffet here was OUTSTANDING. Every single day they have a different theme for the food including: Italian, Dominican, Spanish, etc. Excursions? Lots of options! Sailing, scuba diving, snorkeling, zip-lining, swimming with dolphins, fishing, 4-wheeler driving, you name it! I highly recommend you do some of these because they will really enhance your trip!

It's a great place to get away and despite the cons, I'd definitely come back.

I would stay at the Iberostar Grand instead of the Bavaro next time though. I took a tour of that place and WOW it's nice! For an extra $180 a night what you get is dramatically different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guests,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Iberostar Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very to read that you enjoyed a memorable holidays thanks to the beauty of premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff members. Those are part of our philosophy in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
On the other hand, we have shared your suggestion with our housekeeping Manager.
Our team in Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro will be more than happy to assist you. We stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a week here - Nov 11 to 11/18. Loved the junior suite as it had a nice sitting area which was appreciated! Our maid, Margarita was fabulous and really took care of us. We were close to the beach and pool areas except it was a walk to the ala carte restaurants from our room but the hotel furnishes rides to and from which was great for us older folks. We were always able to get a palapa which is our favorite place to spend the day.

The only problem we had with our experience here was the quality of food even in the ala carte restaurants. Several months prior to this I was at an AI in Ixtapa and guess I got spoiled by the fantastic food choices we had there. There was always plenty to eat but very average. We did have some great ceviche several one night. As expected there was a nice variety of fish each night. Of course, my husband loved the dessert assortment each meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Bavaro. In the name of Mr. Dejan Grubanov, Hotel Manager, and his team, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are very satisfied to know that your experience at our hotel was nice although our varied gastronomy could not meet all your gastronomical expectations. Your nice comments about the excellent service of our staff members motivate us, and especially to Margarita, to keep doing our best to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests, as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit in June,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our entire week here was extremely fun. The beach is beautiful with plenty of palapas to go around. The food was very good, and plentiful! Every day the lunch buffet was so good and fresh. The dinner buffet is good, the Chinese restaurant could be skipped in my opinion. The beach side massage was totally worth it. We went scuba diving to the wreck just off the beach, it was fine for us because we didn't want to spend all day but the diving at that spot wasn't spectacular. I would definitely go back

Room Tip: It was worth it to get an upstairs room closer to the beach to get the most out of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jan M,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Dejan Grubanov, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We are very glad to read that you had a memorable and relaxing stay among us due to our varied gastronomy and the beauty of Bavaro beach. In Iberostar we are on the best beaches worldwide.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us before your next visit,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Bavaro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bavaro Suites

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda - Playa, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#6 Business Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bavaro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, kilometre-long beach of Bavaro. Tropical gardens. Elegant Caribbean flair. Top 5-star luxury. 11 restaurants. First–Class international shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and VISIT US, INC. so you can book your Iberostar Bavaro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Bavaro Punta Cana
Bavaro Punta Cana
Dominican Republic Bavaro
Bavaro Cana Punta
Iberostar Bavaro Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Bavaro
Iberostar Hotel Punta Cana
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bavaro Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.